RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

49 Users Online (47 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> What is the best way to hatch a CMU Wall?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Nov 4, 2009 at 1:45:56 PM | What is the best way to hatch a CMU Wall?

#1

HGL5


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 13, 2009
54 Posts
No Rating


I have a randomized pattern on a CMU wall, and I'm not sure the best way to do this.  I have attached a picture to show the pattern I am trying to accomplish. To create the pattern so far I have just used filled regions. Is there a better way?  If not, is their a way so that my light fixtures and model text will not be covered. Even when I send the filled region to the back it still covers those models.  Thanks for any help.



Attached Images

68375_Restroom.jpg

This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 4, 2009 at 2:15:01 PM | What is the best way to hatch a CMU Wall?

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


You are doing it the only way I can think of except I would use a transparent hatch.

 

Hatches are 2D so they over-ride all model elements.

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 4, 2009 at 2:54:17 PM | What is the best way to hatch a CMU Wall?

#3

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4 Stars: 19 Votes


You might also consider using the split face function and create three different blockwork finishes.  If you do this it will also render correctly.

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Nov 4, 2009 at 3:31:53 PM | What is the best way to hatch a CMU Wall?

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


Good one tim....but a PITA if you don't need to render

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Nov 4, 2009 at 3:50:42 PM | What is the best way to hatch a CMU Wall?

#5

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4 Stars: 19 Votes


Yes, WW, if you don't need to render transparent hatches would be faster if you only need to see it in one view.  Another advantage of the split face is that it would also display in unrendered 3D views.


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Nov 4, 2009 at 7:00:29 PM | What is the best way to hatch a CMU Wall?

#6

HGL5


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 13, 2009
54 Posts
No Rating


I see the split face function on the modify tab, but not sure how to use it well enough to generate what I am looking for.  Good idea though, No real need to render at this point.... Not sure how long that would take me either.  Doing the regions took me about 2 hours to do all elevations.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

CMU Hatch Patern

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Jan 31, 2009 at 4:00:05 AM

4

CMU Wall

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, May 7, 2015 at 12:15:47 PM

4

CMU wall - hatch pattern not showing in plan view

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 27, 2014 at 2:57:54 PM

8

CMU wall reinforcement and detailing

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 22, 2010 at 1:32:03 PM

9

CMU hatch origin

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Jan 4, 2009 at 12:16:22 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

2016957

Objects:

22944

Forum Posts:

152208

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.8318

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights