RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

224 Users Online (84 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks >> 2010 Ribbon Customization...What are you doing?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Mon, May 4, 2009 at 1:51:20 PM | 2010 Ribbon Customization...What are you doing?

#1

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


So Alabaster on another thread suggested we start a thread to share how we are customizing ribbons and the quick access tool bar int 2010.  I just got started so the only thing I have customized is adding 'Switch Windows' command to the quick access toolbar.

 

So, what have you set up?

 

Lorne


-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Mon, May 4, 2009 at 2:08:15 PM | 2010 Ribbon Customization...What are you doing?

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


As I posted in another thread....  Because knowing what workset you are in is important and is no longer always shown, I ripped the current workset off the ribbon and pasted it to the right of the ribbon amd almost off the work area.  If you try to go too high, it just re-attaches to the ribbon.

This user is offline

 

Fri, May 8, 2009 at 12:44:54 PM | 2010 Ribbon Customization...What are you doing?

#3

MARS1276


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 24, 2008
193 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Coule you please explain how it is you customized your ribbon tool bar?  I read you're post and it's nice that you can do that, but for those like myself who don't know how; can you please explain what you did to customize it in that way?

 

I like to read into these forums first thing in the morning to start my day.  I like to gleam bits of knowledge when I can to implement into my daily use of Revit.  This seems like a pretty interesting concept.

 

No doubt I'll be checking back in on this thread.

 

Thanks!


This user is offline

 

Fri, May 8, 2009 at 1:03:29 PM | 2010 Ribbon Customization...What are you doing?

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


Sure !

 

  1. Click on the manage tab on the ribbon 
  2. Left click & hold on the bottom bar of the Design Options section and drag that down into your drawing window.
  3. Now you can experiment with how far you can drag that back up before it jumps back onto the ribbon.
  4. Once you have this placed, it will remain there no matter what you are doing and it will be in the same place the next time you start Revit.
Now you share something you have discovered.

This user is offline

 

Fri, May 8, 2009 at 2:25:59 PM | 2010 Ribbon Customization...What are you doing?

#5

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Well I haven't done too much to mine, but I have right clicked on switch windows(under view tab) and put that on my quick access toolbar.

 

I have more customized my keyboard shortcuts.  I have that .txt file open all the time and whenever I run into a shortcut I want I add it.  My shortcuts in 2009 were pretty extensive and I lost them all Sad  Oh well, now they will be better than before.

 

I am bummed you can't customize the ribbons as extensively as AutoCAD.  Create custom ribbon panels, etc.  Maybe int 2011.

 

 

 


-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Fri, May 8, 2009 at 4:30:53 PM | 2010 Ribbon Customization...What are you doing?

#6

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes




Attached Images

58767_Revit2010customUI.png

This user is offline

View Website

Sun, May 10, 2009 at 7:09:27 AM | 2010 Ribbon Customization...What are you doing?

#7

Jaybo


active

Joined: Mon, Apr 10, 2006
59 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


I would suggest using shortcuts. It is much easier and faster. Lorne17 had a very good suggestion to leave the txt file open. When I was at my last job I was twice as fast because I used shortcuts in 2009. I am sure this would be the same for 2010 or any software you use. I introduced a friend at work to revit shortcuts with the txt file and we really did notice the improved speed. It really depends on what you are working on but one example was using cut and paste aligned to the floor. Rather than using the tabs Just changed the txt file to PP. So all we were doing was CNTRL + C then PP. I think Trim is a great shortcut to start with rather than watching others I work with dragging the wall or line Smile If you use other software I think it is great to try and make the shortcuts similar so you dont forget.

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, May 11, 2009 at 12:28:43 PM | 2010 Ribbon Customization...What are you doing?

#8

MARS1276


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 24, 2008
193 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Well, one thing I have done is tried to keep my keyboard shortcuts narrowed down to the side of the keyboard I use most with my left-hand (mouse with my right).  And example is, oridinarily 'DL' will start another Detail Line.  I have changed this so I can just type 'DD' and it is quicker than tapping 'D' and looking over to see where the 'L' key is and moving my hand over to there.  I have also made it a point to print out two columns of my shortcut keys on a heavy paper/card-stock and taped them to either sides of my monitor.  This way I don't have to rack my brain trying to figure out what that keyboard shortcut was.

 

Hey, while we are talking about shortcut keys; has anyone been able to make any shortcut keys using 'SHIFT', 'CTRL', or the 'ALT' key with them?  I don't think you could with 2009, but I have not explored that possibility with 2010 as of yet.

 

And I do like the idea of having the .TXT file open all the time to add others as you think of them.


This user is offline

 

Mon, May 11, 2009 at 2:02:32 PM | 2010 Ribbon Customization...What are you doing?

#9

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Jaybo - I agree keyboard shortcuts cause the use of Revit to speed up.  It has been so helpful for me.  I learn keyboard shortcuts in almost every program I use.  I would much rather use the shortcuts than the mouse.  My colleagues give me a hard time and say it's a drug, and I'm always craving to learn more, haha.  

As for leaving the shortcut menu open it comes in handy while working in a project (especially cuz 2010 is all new with shortcuts).  Jaybo, I am confused on what shortcut you're using?  for me 'PP' is Pin Position and 'CTRL + C' is copy.  What I do when I want to paste something into the same position I use 'PC'.  Correct me if I'm wrong but is this the command you're referring too?

 Mars - I also have to agree with you that I try to set up my shortcuts so I use my left hand without moving across the keyboard.  For example.  Align is no longer 'AL' it's 'AA'.  Detail lines is 'DT', Reference Plane is 'RR', etc. etc.  Obviously there are times you need to using the entire keyboard, if you want the shortcuts to somewhat resemble the name of the command you're referring to.

 

In all, I agree with keyboard shortcuts, it increases productivity so much.

I have put together an excel sheet for 2009 of all shortcuts that I have added and were existing if anyone wants it.  I am planning on doing the same for 2010, but since I keep adding shortcuts, I am going to wait to create until I'm almost done with updating most of the shortcuts I use.  Does anyone have anything similar or shortcuts they want to share that they use with 2010?  I can post my 2010 file now to give you an idea of what I've been doing with them if you'd like.

 

Thanks,

Lorne


-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Tue, May 12, 2009 at 12:03:28 PM | 2010 Ribbon Customization...What are you doing?

#10

MARS1276


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 24, 2008
193 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


I would love to see that excel spreadsheet.  Is there some way to have Revit look at the excel spreadsheet or is it a simple matter of cut and paste?

This user is offline

 

Tue, May 12, 2009 at 1:42:06 PM | 2010 Ribbon Customization...What are you doing?

#11

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


It's more of just printing it and using it for reference.  I had to manually put the shortcuts in there.

 

Let me know if this helps?  Like I said, I don't have one set for 2010 as of yet.

 

Thanks,

Lorne

 



-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Wed, May 13, 2009 at 11:13:33 AM | 2010 Ribbon Customization...What are you doing?

#12

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


I've always been a big keyboard shortcut user.  There are ways to open the keyboardshortcuts.txt file directly with excel too...

OO - Orient to Other View

OP - Orient to Plane

PA - Paste Aligned Current View

PS - Paste Aligned Same Place

LF - Load Family

LG - Load Group

TM - Tape Measure

ETC, ETC...

Regarding the QAT so far I've added:

Show Mass, Active Workset, Switch Windows, Thin Lines, and a couple of others that I can't remember off the top of my head.


-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, May 13, 2009 at 2:25:33 PM | Mr Spot

#13

need4mospd


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 23, 2008
14 Posts
No Rating


Quoting Mr Spot from 2009-05-13 06:13:33

"

OO - Orient to Other View

OP - Orient to Plane

"

 

Can you show how you did that? For some reason I can't figure that one out.

 

My few shortcuts...

"`"    ribbon:"View-Windows-User Interface-Project Browser"

"FF"    ribbon:"ContextualTab-Filter-Filter"

"MP"    ribbon:"ContextualTab-Modify-Mirror-Pick Mirror Axis"

"MI"    ribbon:"ContextualTab-Modify-Mirror-Draw Mirror Axis"

 

I've also thrown the worksets into the QAT. Almost everything else I use shortcuts for.

 

If anyone knows how to shortcut Edit Boundary or Edit Profile let me know please!



Edited on: Wed, May 13, 2009 at 9:56:23 AM

This user is offline

 

Thu, May 14, 2009 at 12:12:27 PM | 2010 Ribbon Customization...What are you doing?

#14

MARS1276


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 24, 2008
193 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Is there a way to reload your workset as you are working in Revit?  The only way I know is to close out and restart.

This user is offline

 

Thu, May 21, 2009 at 12:37:29 PM | 2010 Ribbon Customization...What are you doing?

#15

gprakash


active

Joined: Fri, Apr 24, 2009
49 Posts
No Rating


Eventhough it is meant to be shortcut keys, you can also use three keys if you wish. For example, if "CS" is already assigned for CREATE SIMILAR, you can use "CSM" for CHECK MEMBER SUPPORT. 

If you run out of alphabets in Keyboard shortcuts, numbers can also be used. (I am sure all of you know!!) 

I prefer using keboard shortcuts as much as possible.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Ribbon for Revit

Community >> The Studio

Sat, Aug 29, 2009 at 7:09:53 AM

6

Revit 2009/2010 Autostart shortcuts (Revit Ribbon)

General Discussion >> Revit ROI

Sun, Aug 9, 2009 at 5:21:31 PM

2

Revit 2010 UI Problem

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 13, 2010 at 7:45:49 PM

5

Missing Element Properties Ribbon

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Fri, Aug 20, 2010 at 7:43:20 PM

2

Easy Way to Edit Shortcut Keys for 2010

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Tue, Aug 18, 2009 at 5:37:10 AM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1668288

Objects:

22121

Forum Posts:

151721

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2601

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights