RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

174 Users Online (57 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> exporting to autocad

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jan 17, 2008 at 3:09:38 PM | exporting to autocad

#1

ddaukas


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 17, 2008
1 Posts
No Rating


i have a revit central file with three linked autocad files in it.  when i export the central file revit gives a file name that shows up in autocad's xref manager as L1 for file one, L2 for file two and L3 for file three. It is creating xref files for autocad for each linked file. i have exported and created additional contract documents using this naming, i thought this naming would be the default for all future exporting.  Now today revit has choose to make file three L2 and file two L3 which destroys all the autocad made sheets that is using revit exports with the old L1, L2 and L3 file naming.  any help on how revit names and makes xrefs when you export?  and is there a way to reorder you linked imports in revit to force the exporting back to the orginal way it exported the first times for me.  Thanks

This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 19, 2008 at 11:14:11 AM | exporting to autocad

#2

sidman


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 24, 2007
21 Posts
No Rating


I am creating a template for my office. I want to save standard cad layers used in our firm so that whenever I export revit file to autocad it gets converted to the associated layer. How to do it?


This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 19, 2008 at 11:38:40 AM | exporting to autocad

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 362 Votes


Read your help. It is very clear on your export options and how to set up export options.

 

To answer the first post .... when exporting with linked files, you need to do a little file maintenance in CAD afterwards.  Just go in and rename the linked files and reset the paths. 



Edited on: Tue, Aug 19, 2008 at 6:40:40 AM

This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 19, 2008 at 12:42:23 PM | exporting to autocad

#4

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


Alternatively let Revit export them as bound DWGs without xrefs.

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Aug 31, 2012 at 12:35:41 PM | exporting to autocad

#5

Lochnesska


active
Lochnesska Avatar

Joined: Thu, Jul 28, 2011
25 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Same for me... I don't want to go to the cad file every time I export it from Revit... Starts to annoy me... Any way how to tell Revit to keep the name of original XREF?

Using RAC 2011


-----------------------------------

Nessie

Revit 2013

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Trouble w/ exporting to AutoCad

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 20, 2011 at 5:18:07 PM

8

exporting to AutoCad

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 20, 2013 at 6:24:08 PM

3

Exporting Layouts in to AutoCAD / piping issue...

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 4, 2008 at 9:12:10 PM

9

exporting to autocad

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Tue, Jan 30, 2007 at 5:32:22 PM

0

Exporting into AutoCad via e-mail

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Oct 2, 2004 at 5:44:57 AM

9

Site Stats

Members:

1551509

Objects:

21383

Forum Posts:

151403

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.7633

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights