RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

343 Users Online (160 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Wall Sweeps

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Oct 22, 2007 at 12:04:40 AM | Wall Sweeps

#1

NKramer


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 10, 2007
285 Posts
4 Stars: 9 Votes


How do you edit the profile for wall sweeps?

How are most people dealing with tile in restrooms that goes up to the ceiling? I was thinking about useing a wall sweep rathr than stacking wall types....


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Oct 22, 2007 at 10:03:46 AM | Wall Sweeps

#2

KingRevit


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 15, 2007
321 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


hi you don't change the profile in the sweeps tool, you load up a new profile family or edit an existing profile family that you have loaded into your project. then just choose this profile under the properties for the sweep.

 

for tiles that dont go the whole hight of a wall i use the vertical compound wall.

hope this helps.

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 22, 2007 at 5:30:44 PM | Wall Sweeps

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 374 Votes


Are you looking for quantities in your model or just something that will show in elevation?   I think you are probably looking just for how it looks.  In that case, just edit the face of your wall and pour in your finish.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 22, 2007 at 5:43:08 PM | Wall Sweeps

#4

NKramer


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 10, 2007
285 Posts
4 Stars: 9 Votes


A little of both. We are just starting the switch to Revit. Our estimating department would like to be able to link all of Revit's quatities to a database at some point. That said I wuld like to figure out the correct (or best) way to model so that it all works for him in the future.

Right now I am thinking that we will use stacked walls. When I have the time to look at compound walls we might end up going that direction. I just cant figure out how to have the finish stop at 9' and then just have a blank wall above that..?

As a side note is there a way to connect the finish height (in compound or stacked walls) to the ceiling height or is that just something that I need to do manually? And why doesnt firefox's spell check work in the posting box?


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jul 9, 2009 at 12:24:37 AM | Wall Sweeps

#5

Capricorn1


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 9, 2009
4 Posts
No Rating


I'm trying to add a stone wainscot to a wood exterior residential wall with stucco above.  Do I have to use wall sweeps to do this or is there some other method to create a wall type instead?  If I have to use a wall sweep, how do you create a custom wall sweep?  Thanks!

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 9, 2009 at 7:11:50 AM | Wall Sweeps

#6

Pavan


active
Pavan Avatar

Joined: Sat, Mar 19, 2005
157 Posts
4.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Click modify in Edit wall structure and select the top of finish, you will find a lock. just unlock it. Then in the Element Properties of wall just give required value for Top Extension Distance. Check the attachments. The solution is in Revit 2010, if you are using lower version then you have to drag the finish manually. Hope this helps.

Attached Images

62449_1.JPG62449_2.JPG62449_3.JPG

-----------------------------------

Pavan Reddy

Revit Manager

Intelligence is not always knowing the answers, it's always asking the questions.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 9, 2009 at 6:00:56 PM | Wall Sweeps

#7

Capricorn1


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 9, 2009
4 Posts
No Rating


Thanks, but it's still  not working.  When I go to Instance Properties dialog box, the "Top Extention Distance" is faded out and won't let me put a value to it.  I'm I missing something else?

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 9, 2009 at 6:10:27 PM | Wall Sweeps

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 374 Votes


Actually, it would be better to do this as a stacked wall or just place two walls, one above the other then join them so that the stgructure and inside elements join.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 9, 2009 at 6:57:54 PM | Wall Sweeps

#9

erin


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 18, 2005
45 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


The low tech way is to make a second wall type that is only tile, and place that within the restrooms to the appropriate height. make sure you lock the touching faces of the walls together to account for future moving...

We just did this with extensive and variable wainscoting, and it was much easier to deal with that many different compound walls would have been...


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 9, 2009 at 8:23:31 PM | Wall Sweeps

#10

Capricorn1


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 9, 2009
4 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the help, I will try two stacked walls.  I hope that they don't look weird in section view.  Thanks again!

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 10, 2009 at 5:04:32 AM | Wall Sweeps

#11

Pavan


active
Pavan Avatar

Joined: Sat, Mar 19, 2005
157 Posts
4.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Hey First you have to unlock the top of finish layer, Check the attachments of my previous post, in the first image, click on modify then select the top of finish, you will find a lock. just unlock it. Then go to Instance Properties dialog box, the "Top Extention Distance" is now highlighted. Enter the desired value.

-----------------------------------

Pavan Reddy

Revit Manager

Intelligence is not always knowing the answers, it's always asking the questions.

This user is offline

 

Sun, Jul 12, 2009 at 9:50:41 AM | Wall Sweeps

#12

Erik


active

Joined: Sat, Oct 9, 2004
69 Posts
No Rating


For restroom wall finishes, we use the paint command with whatever tile pattern we like.  

I believe 2010 do quantities on 'painted' walls althoug have not gone there yet.  

We have tried adding a thin wall type for tileing, but with several tiles patterns and border tiles, it became too complicatied.  Keep in mind that the finishes are added after we have done the layout with wall based closets, basins and powerpoints and switches

I would think using stacked wall will also be complicated considering the wall has two sided with different wall finishes 


This user is offline

 

Sun, Jul 12, 2009 at 6:22:34 PM | Wall Sweeps

#13

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 374 Votes


Although the original poster could have used a thin wall in front of his wall, I don't think it would have been appropriate because it would not work for sections.

 

As far a thin tile walls, they will work even when you have hosted items on the base wall.  Just join your walls.


This user is offline

 

Sun, Jul 12, 2009 at 6:54:07 PM | Wall Sweeps

#14

lunchtrayrider


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 25, 2007
592 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


i like erin's idea. because thats what i do too.

-----------------------------------
I like scooters. and motorcycles.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Angling Wall Sweeps

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Aug 15, 2011 at 6:26:41 PM

8

Walls with automatic wall sweeps

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 31, 2012 at 8:58:55 AM

3

Outlets and Wall Sweeps

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Feb 29, 2012 at 3:39:46 PM

3

Wall sweeps line weight

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 30, 2008 at 3:59:05 PM

0

Vertical Wall Sweeps

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 13, 2012 at 12:52:24 PM

12

Site Stats

Members:

1708543

Objects:

22272

Forum Posts:

151787

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.1704

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights