RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

37 Users Online (37 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> 3 run stair case w/ 2 landings

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Aug 27, 2007 at 1:11:49 PM | 3 run stair case w/ 2 landings

Thread Post Kudo! #1

TyMad


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 22, 2007
19 Posts
No Rating


I need to put in a stair case that has 2 landings between each floor. There is 4ft inbetween each landing. Whenever I try to make the third run of stairs it says they cannot overlap. Is there a way to do this in elevation view or any way I can get around this without making seperate pieces for the stairs? Thank you

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Aug 27, 2007 at 2:18:16 PM | 3 run stair case w/ 2 landings

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


No .

 

REVIT will do 3 run stairs but only if the runs are not above another run in the same stair.  You will have to do two stairs.  One with 2 runs and one with one run. 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 21, 2009 at 8:33:46 AM | 3 run stair case w/ 2 landings

#3

AEckerson


active
AEckerson Avatar

Joined: Thu, Jan 11, 2007
31 Posts
3.5 Stars: 5 Votes


Yes you can.  See similar post called "Stairs and Landings"

http://www.revitcity.com/forums.php?action=viewthread&thread_id=6371


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Aug 21, 2009 at 8:42:04 AM | 3 run stair case w/ 2 landings

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


AEckerson,

 

Your stair is a two run stair... not three.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Aug 21, 2009 at 10:47:13 AM | 3 run stair case w/ 2 landings

#5

AEckerson


active
AEckerson Avatar

Joined: Thu, Jan 11, 2007
31 Posts
3.5 Stars: 5 Votes


Oops.  The principle is the same, however: You sketch the parts you want "all over the place" so that The Revit doesn't get mad at you for having overlaping/intersecting lines, etc.  Then you adjust the sketch to be how you want it and HOPEFULLY you can trick The Revit into compliance.

 

If I understand the request, we are trying to make a 3-run stair where the last run doubles back on top of the first run, right?  If so, I think I got it.  See images.



Attached Images

64896_STEP1.jpg64896_STEP2.jpg64896_STEP3.jpg64896_STEP4.jpg64896_STEP5.jpg

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Aug 21, 2009 at 10:47:51 AM | 3 run stair case w/ 2 landings

#6

AEckerson


active
AEckerson Avatar

Joined: Thu, Jan 11, 2007
31 Posts
3.5 Stars: 5 Votes


More images

Attached Images

64897_STEP6.jpg64897_STEP7.jpg64897_STEP8.jpg

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Aug 21, 2009 at 11:01:43 AM | 3 run stair case w/ 2 landings

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


I will have to try that out ... hope you never have to edit....

This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 28, 2011 at 9:01:26 AM | 3 run stair case w/ 2 landings

#8

albertiglesia


active
albertiglesia Avatar

Joined: Sat, Aug 29, 2009
45 Posts
No Rating


/// i will have to try that out ... hope you never have to edit....///

 

this trick is good, very good... but pray that that stair will not be edit in the future


-----------------------------------

"Pleasure in the job puts perfection in the work"
 - Aristotle

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Sep 29, 2011 at 9:25:08 AM | 3 run stair case w/ 2 landings

#9

emgeeo


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 12, 2008
322 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


So you just model the landings as an over-sized step, right?  I guess this works well when your risers are exactly the same heights between all landings...


This user is offline

 

Sat, Jan 21, 2012 at 5:35:26 PM | 3 run stair case w/ 2 landings

#10

iamian33


active
iamian33 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Nov 17, 2009
148 Posts
No Rating


this is an older thread but I found it helpful.  The only exception was I had to offset the 3rd run at least 5mm (to the left or right) so that the stringer lines weren't directly ontop of each other.

Has anyone else had better success with a 3-run stair?


-----------------------------------

Ian Shafer

Principal Consultant

True North S&F Consultants´╗┐

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Apr 3, 2012 at 12:24:02 PM | 3 run stair case w/ 2 landings

#11

talarocafella


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 3, 2012
2 Posts
No Rating


I have tried this solution and i have not had any luck.  when i try to move the third (top) run back toward the first (bottom) run, the stirngers from the first run jump back and what should be the bottoms go to the second floor.  I have tried leaving up to a half inch between the run line and offsetting the riser lines but nothing has worked for me.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 3, 2012 at 12:30:49 PM | 3 run stair case w/ 2 landings

#12

talarocafella


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 3, 2012
2 Posts
No Rating


Its like as soon as the top run over laps the bottom the overlapped stringer 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 3, 2012 at 12:34:18 PM | 3 run stair case w/ 2 landings

#13

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 391 Votes


This has always been an issue but it has been solved in the 2013 rekease,

 

For pre 2013 - when you move the sketch back - don't move it to exactly overlap the lower landing .... keep it off something - try 1/256".


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 3, 2012 at 2:44:18 PM | 3 run stair case w/ 2 landings

#14

teafoe5


site moderator|||
teafoe5 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 12, 2010
1749 Posts
4 Stars: 47 Votes


The stairs in 2013 are leagues ahead of 2012 and earlier versions, its about time they took care of this problem.


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Assembled Stairs - Joining stringers from one set to the landings of another

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Mar 13, 2014 at 3:13:48 AM

9

How can I create a split stair without multiple and separate stair components?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 5, 2016 at 5:32:53 AM

5

Can the New 2013 Railing System be Discontinued At Landings

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 12, 2012 at 6:07:13 AM

2

dual entry stair

Community >> Newbies

Sun, May 29, 2011 at 11:05:33 AM

2

monolithic stair join at floor slab

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 24, 2014 at 11:30:35 AM

5

Site Stats

Members:

2018030

Objects:

22948

Forum Posts:

152221

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 25.5702

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights