RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

181 Users Online (84 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> reloading updated template....?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Jul 13, 2007 at 6:19:53 AM | reloading updated template....?

#1

coske


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 11, 2007
25 Posts
No Rating


hey guys

im quite new to revit, probabbly about a week, and im stuck on one thing that i just cannot work out.

preety much, i got old template, which i have updated (added new legend sheet, and saved it over then current template...meaning i opened old template, edited it, saved the changes)...

problem that is rather pissin me off is that i cannot work out how to reload new template over the old drawings...new drawings with new templates are ok...old drawings with old templates cannot be updated....

if someone can help, or has a solution, pls let me know

kind regards me


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 13, 2007 at 1:31:04 PM | reloading updated template....?

#2

JAMESHGRIMES


site moderator|||
JAMESHGRIMES Avatar

Joined: Fri, Apr 14, 2006
584 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


With your current drawing open, Open your new template and click File-->Transfer Project Standards. This will allow you to transfer most of the stuff from your template to the current project.

This user is offline

 

Sun, Jul 15, 2007 at 2:10:26 AM | reloading updated template....?

#3

coske


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 11, 2007
25 Posts
No Rating


i have tried that, and it does transfer all the things...appart from that new created sheet...

This user is offline

 

Sun, Jul 15, 2007 at 4:48:34 AM | reloading updated template....?

#4

ale02


active
ale02 Avatar

Joined: Mon, Sep 20, 2004
202 Posts
3 Stars: 3 Votes


maybe u can try to export or link your old revit project to your brand new blank revit project (reload using new templete).. hope that helps

 


-----------------------------------
Life is never easy but nor it should be complex. Just stay simple Smile

This user is offline

 

Sun, Jul 15, 2007 at 8:49:02 PM | reloading updated template....?

#5

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


There is no way to apply a template file to an already existing project in an automated way.  Basically whatever template you start with is what your stuck with for the duration of that project.

 

That said you can:

Use transfer project standards to get the bulk of the settings across.

And Use Load Family to load any new content you want in your project...

 

HTH.


-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Dec 15, 2008 at 8:37:26 PM | reloading updated template....?

#6

MDAdave1999


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 14, 2008
6 Posts
No Rating


Since you have to start a new project in order to get your updated template file loaded.....is it okay to start a new project, then copy and paste my old project into it?

Do you foresee any issues with that?

Or should I link in my Old Revit project to a new project?


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Dec 16, 2008 at 12:40:23 PM | reloading updated template....?

#7

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


Open the sheet and your project.  Go to the sheet and 'Load into Project'.  This should overwrite your current sheet.

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Dec 16, 2008 at 2:11:31 PM | reloading updated template....?

#8

MDAdave1999


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 14, 2008
6 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for getting back to me.  But it didn't take.

I opened both projects and while I was in the existing project, I "loaded in Projects" and acted like it was doing something then nothing happened.


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Dec 16, 2008 at 6:07:45 PM | reloading updated template....?

#9

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


When you are in your project are you able to edit your sheet family, change something and reload it into your project?

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Tranfer Families between projects

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Apr 22, 2010 at 2:43:55 PM

1

Template Update

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Sat, Jun 25, 2016 at 11:01:29 PM

2

"can't find solutions for formulas" error

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Aug 3, 2016 at 10:46:21 PM

1

Transfer Project Standards not working

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Jan 7, 2014 at 11:14:44 PM

0

Saving/unlinking a Workset Without Updating

Workflow & Implementation >> Worksets

Wed, Oct 1, 2008 at 4:05:31 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1551077

Objects:

21383

Forum Posts:

151400

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1810

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights