RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

246 Users Online (134 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Rendering with no sky.

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sun, Apr 8, 2007 at 10:53:38 AM | Rendering with no sky.

Thread Post Kudo! #1

chrisd2


active

Joined: Sun, Jul 24, 2005
25 Posts
No Rating


 How can I render a model with absolutely no sky?

I build my backgrounds in photoshop and would like to be able to place my model with no sky.

 

chris d


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 9, 2007 at 2:58:58 PM | Rendering with no sky.

#2

seltied


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 20, 2006
5 Posts
No Rating


Check the box for "Alpha Channel" in the Rendering sidebar >> Settings... for your scene.  If you do a single-color sky (black) then you'll get an output similar to a 3ds max model.  Be sure to save that as a TIF or TGA (I prefer TGA) file format, not JPG, as JPGs do not support an alpha channel.

 

Take that file into Photoshop and use the embedded alpha channel to mask out the black (or whatever) color background to add your own sky. 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 9, 2007 at 3:02:13 PM | Rendering with no sky.

#3

seltied


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 20, 2006
5 Posts
No Rating


Sorry if that location was vague.  Click "Rendering", then click "Settings..." in that sidebar.  Specific exterior scene, then click "Environment..." in the Render Scene Settings dialog.  In this new Environment dialog, select "Solid Color" under Background Color (it will automatically choose black), and check on the "Alpha Channel" box.  Hit OK on all these windows and then render.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 9, 2007 at 5:35:03 PM | Rendering with no sky.

#4

chrisd2


active

Joined: Sun, Jul 24, 2005
25 Posts
No Rating


Thanks. that was really helpful. I had not got as far as using the alpha channel as but did not know how to finish the process.

The result is far better than I have been achieving otherways.

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 19, 2009 at 9:52:32 PM | Rendering with no sky.

#5

fixybopixy


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 9, 2009
39 Posts
No Rating


hello. i have decided to stop working on my actual model and to focus on rendering instead, so i can be sure it looks nice. how do u add a sky? i do not see rendering > settings. in the free student version of revit 2009 (which is the one i have) it just says "modify" and "rendering dialog" as the 2 options under the rendering tab. and when u click "rendering dialogue" i dont see an option in which you can put your own sky image, just an option in which you can change the background color of the sky.

 how can i add a sky?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Mar 20, 2009 at 5:14:06 PM | Rendering with no sky.

#6

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


You can't add your own sky to the actual rendering, but as suggested by seltied, you can export it as a tif or tga which makes the sky into an alpha channel.  Import it back into revit and you can insert your sky behind your rendering in a drafting or sheet view.

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Mar 20, 2009 at 6:55:32 PM | Rendering with no sky.

#7

fixybopixy


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 9, 2009
39 Posts
No Rating


thanks for the reply. i do not see a settings bar under the rendering tab on the left of my screen. how can i change the environment? i have student version of revit 2009

This user is offline

 

Fri, Mar 20, 2009 at 7:08:40 PM | Rendering with no sky.

#8

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


You don't need to do this.  Just render it, export it as a TIF or TGA and re-import it.  Insert your image behind it.

BTW, you can change the sky to a colour under Background, Style.


This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Mar 21, 2009 at 12:57:10 PM | Rendering with no sky.

#9

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 91 Votes


Yes these are old posts.

Since Mental Ray was implemented.  Just render with any sky option and then export as either TIF or PNG (not TGA).  Both these formats support alpha channels and the background will automatically be placed on this.

 

HTH.


-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Mar 21, 2009 at 3:30:14 PM | Rendering with no sky.

#10

erland73


active
erland73 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 7, 2007
738 Posts
4.5 Stars: 85 Votes


Hi fixybopixy, for more reference watch this video...http://www.cadclips.com/Revit-2009-CadClips.htm.

-----------------------------------

 “Learning never exhausts the mind.” Leonardo Da Vinci 

 

This user is offline

 

Sat, Mar 21, 2009 at 7:04:56 PM | Rendering with no sky.

#11

fixybopixy


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 9, 2009
39 Posts
No Rating


that video was fabulous, thanks. i didnt realize that i could do the whole thing (rendering on top of imported background) in revit (the video explained the drafting view feature in the project browser which i didnt know about). i had thought i would have to export the image as a tiff, with no background, and then do the whole thing in photoshop.

 


This user is offline

 

Sat, Mar 21, 2009 at 7:49:59 PM | Rendering with no sky.

#12

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 196 Votes


You can do that in the several ways, export in PNG or TIFF and use photoshop OR import to Revit and put the image in background... You choose the best way you want... 

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Trouble with sky for rendering

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 21, 2010 at 2:10:26 PM

4

Rendering Questions re Sky

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 19, 2006 at 9:34:00 PM

2

Rendering in Revit 2009 [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Dec 31, 2009 at 4:41:31 PM

19

Revit 2010 rendering & sky options

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Thu, Dec 8, 2011 at 7:08:33 PM

6

No sky in rendering! HELP

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Apr 29, 2011 at 3:18:29 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1443226

Objects:

20770

Forum Posts:

150861

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2944

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights