RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

354 Users Online (181 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Changing Level Heights

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Jan 10, 2007 at 8:23:42 PM | Changing Level Heights

#1

MrBob


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 19, 2006
63 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


I am trying to lower a level by one foot but keep getting the following message, "Cannot extend layer(s) of the highlighted vertically compound wall.".  Does any one know how I can fix this?

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 10, 2007 at 9:13:17 PM | Changing Level Heights

#2

derxaj


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 13, 2005
91 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Well...whenever you have an error like that, the first thing you want to do is see what object is giving you the error.  So click the "Show" button and find the wall that's giving you problems.  There are usually alot of join errors and other problems when changing Level heights on a project that is far along.  Its  hard to say exactly what causes the error you're getting without knowing what your wall is, what its made up of, if there are any sweeps or anything like that in the wall, etc.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 18, 2012 at 1:55:05 PM | Changing Level Heights

#3

mccoolj


active

Joined: Wed, Dec 29, 2010
58 Posts
No Rating


I realize this is an old thread, but has anyone learned a "best practice" for changing level heights late in a model? Most of the jobs we work on involve the architects changing the level heights by anywhere from a fraction of an inch to several feet after 99% of the building is modeled. I always get a million errors trying to raise or lower a level after there's any significant modeling done. Is there any way to do this without disjoining everything, deleting elelments, unconstraining elements, and all the other stuff Revit Structure 2012 wants to do when I try to edit a level height? I have one project where I need to raise the high roof 1/2" and another where I need to A) drop the 2nd floor 2'-0", and B) drop the high roof 4'-0". Any help would be greatly appreciated.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 18, 2012 at 1:59:28 PM | Changing Level Heights

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


We typically have no problems. 

 

We will go to a section or elevation view and dimension level to level.  We lock all dimensions except the level dimension we want to change, then click on the level above if this dimension is to be increase and this unlocked dimension is then available for editing.  (Level below for a reduced dimension.)


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 18, 2012 at 3:36:23 PM | Changing Level Heights

#5

mccoolj


active

Joined: Wed, Dec 29, 2010
58 Posts
No Rating


I'll have to try that on the 2nd model. I've already typed in a revised level elevation in a section view and gone through redoing stuff throughout the model on the first model I had to revise. One other thing Revit did was "unissue" revisions to the level that I moved up 1/2". It looks like nothing was lost, and all I had to do was recheck the Issued control in the Revisions dialog box. Modeled connections don't seem to move up with a change in level, nor do any 2D objects in the sections. I'm assuming you still have to move your 2D stuff like annotations and detail components manually, correct?


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jun 18, 2012 at 3:55:28 PM | Changing Level Heights

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


Model elements associated with the level or dimensioned and locked from it will move.  You are right, 2D elements in elevations or sections will not move unless the are aligned and locked to model elements.  <<< Something I don't recommend because excessive locks will cause havoc with your model.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

changing multiple level heights

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Oct 31, 2012 at 2:54:11 PM

1

Topo Height vs Level Heights

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, May 13, 2005 at 8:25:34 PM

1

Changing Level Heights and having corresponding objects move

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 29, 2006 at 11:03:12 PM

3

Wall heights - change all heights simultaneously

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 7, 2011 at 12:43:24 PM

2

Changing level height values while keeping building in place? [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 13, 2015 at 6:47:48 AM

18

Site Stats

Members:

1651178

Objects:

22098

Forum Posts:

151692

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4833

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights