RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

170 Users Online (79 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Technical Support >> File won't load, causes Revit to shut down.

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Dec 20, 2006 at 3:25:00 AM | File won't load, causes Revit to shut down.

#1

pnorman


active

Joined: Mon, Jul 31, 2006
2 Posts
No Rating


Hi Hope no one is having the same problem I am experiencing, but I'm needing help in a bad way. Twice now I have spen a lot of hours in two projects only to get very close on compleating them (near a dead line) and have Revit refuse to open the file, telling me not to worry as the file had recently been saved. Auto desk can only tell me the file is corrupt, but they can not help with any soluton as to how I can get my file back or how to prevent what is happening. I have back up files for both projects, however the back up files refuse to load as well. I have tried the "Audit" approach, but the files still won't open and Revit leaves me with only one option and that is to shut down with no other explaination. When working with the projects, there was no indication of anything wrong and the files saved each time with no warnings or problems.

I'm totally at a loss. 

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 26, 2006 at 10:26:05 PM | File won't load, causes Revit to shut down.

#2

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 93 Votes


What is the exact error message you are receiving?

 

Have you sent the file to Autodesk for repair?  They can usually repair any file... I'm yet to come across a file that is beyond repair.

 

Have you tried opening the file with specifying a view?  Are worksets enabled?  If so, try only opening selected worksets.

 

HTH.

 

 


-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Dec 27, 2006 at 1:52:29 PM | File won't load, causes Revit to shut down.

#3

pnorman


active

Joined: Mon, Jul 31, 2006
2 Posts
No Rating


The error message tells me that "An unrecoverable error has occured. The program will now be terminated. All of your data has been recently saved, so there is no need to create recovery files."

I sent the file to Autodesk. They told me the file was corrupted and the could not tell me what had caused it and they were sorry, but the file was unrecoverable. They told me they knew that wasn't what I wanted to hear, but there was nothing they could do with it.

I am working on a single station. No work groups involved. I backup all files at the end of the day to my server. Both the files on my station and the server for this project are corrupted.

Opening the file with a specifying a view doesn't work. I've even located the journal and tried opening it by dropping

it on the Revit icon and that ends in the same message and results.

I can deal with losing a file if I know what caused it, but haveing now lost two files, I 'm on shaky ground and very supprised Auto desk can not offer any soultions.

Paul - Thanks for your help and responce.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 1, 2007 at 10:07:58 PM | File won't load, causes Revit to shut down.

#4

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 93 Votes


Paul,

 

That would be disappointing to hear from Autodesk...  You aren't losing any more than a days work are you?  If so can you obtain a previous working version of the file using your backup system?

 

Just to prevent similar issues happening in the future:

Ensure you are using the latest build of Revit.

Make sure you work on the file on a local hard drive rather than over a network, then copy the file back onto the network when you are finished.  Just prevents any issues being caused by a poor network connectivity.

 

HTH.


-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Oct 1, 2007 at 9:22:25 PM | File won't load, causes Revit to shut down.

#5

bhaas


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 14, 2007
1 Posts
No Rating


I saw that this discussion took place almost a year ago, but I am now having the exact same problem. My file isn't back from AutoDesk yet, but I need to keep working. I was wondering if there was any new insight to this type of problem. I am using 2008. 

Beth


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 11, 2011 at 7:49:51 AM | File won't load, causes Revit to shut down.

#6

Revin


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 15, 2009
26 Posts
No Rating


Hi guys,

I've been having the exact same problem, and had it solved by creating more hard-drive space and adding more RAM. My hard drive had only 6,2Gb left open, and my Revit file was considerably large (about 1,2Gb). Even though my file was being saved on a remote server, and not on my hard drive, it seems that the pc requires a lot of free hard-drive space to do the saving process. I upgraded my RAM from 6Gb to 24Gb, and cleared up about 20Gb of hard drive space. All went well, until I added movies to my hard-drive, thereby using up a lot of space again, and the problem returned.Removed movies, cl;eared up some hard-drive space, and the problem vanished...

That's my 2 cents!


This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 11, 2011 at 12:29:33 PM | File won't load, causes Revit to shut down.

#7

Dafpfy


active

Joined: Sat, Dec 29, 2007
286 Posts
3.5 Stars: 11 Votes


Heh? 24GB of ram? is that even usefull?

i have 6gb ram on a 64bit pc and everything runs fine, whould i benefit from adding ram ?


-----------------------------------

"There is no path to peace,

peace is the path."

Mahatma Gandhi.

 

This user is offline

 

Mon, Apr 11, 2011 at 3:28:02 PM | Dafpfy

#8

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


Quoting Dafpfy from 2011-04-11 07:29:33

"

Heh? 24GB of ram? is that even usefull?

i have 6gb ram on a 64bit pc and everything runs fine, whould i benefit from adding ram ?

"

you can never have to much RAM! and there should be some benefit.


-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 19, 2011 at 7:25:16 AM | File won't load, causes Revit to shut down.

#9

Revin


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 15, 2009
26 Posts
No Rating


It depends on the size of your project, I guess. Before I upgraded my RAM, my pc worked fine, until I got a massive factory/office complex dumped on my desk. With the central file being 1,2Gb in size, having multiple views open, rendering, etc. the added RAM made a huge difference. My rendering time went from 3hrs on average down to 1hr, for example.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Family Won't Load

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 11, 2011 at 11:34:13 PM

4

2011 revit arch won't load families out of the imperial library

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, May 9, 2011 at 2:22:28 PM

2

Families won't load?

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 2, 2008 at 6:17:06 PM

5

'Door' Won't Load into Project

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Sep 29, 2010 at 12:11:37 AM

1

Family Won't Load

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 28, 2017 at 2:50:38 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1779163

Objects:

22479

Forum Posts:

151939

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.7745

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights