RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

257 Users Online (104 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Curtain Wall and Curtian Doors

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Oct 20, 2006 at 5:37:25 PM | Curtain Wall and Curtian Doors

#1

JimIII


active

Joined: Fri, Sep 15, 2006
18 Posts
No Rating


I am having problems inserting a store front door into a Curtian Wall. Revit does not aknowledge the door at all. Please Help! Thanks in advance, Jim Coffey

This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 20, 2006 at 6:57:17 PM | RE: Curtain Wall and Curtian Doors

#2

architurk


active
architurk Avatar

Joined: Mon, Oct 9, 2006
58 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


hi as far as i know first u need to load curtain wall-door family. select "door" from basics. click "load", and load any curtain wall doors under "doors" folder. then turn to the drawing. clean the unwanted mullions of your curtain wall if needed. u might need to use tab key to select the mullion and after selecting dont forget to unpin the selection. then select the glazed panel, dont forget to unpin it either. then simply roll down the "system panel:glazed" thing on top left and select what u like it to be replace. hope it answers ur question good luck

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 25, 2006 at 12:24:05 PM | RE: Curtain Wall and Curtian Doors

#3

JimIII


active

Joined: Fri, Sep 15, 2006
18 Posts
No Rating


I would try that but Revit will not load the door at all. I thought it might be the computer but after trying on 10 diffrent computers it appers that the problem is a little bit deeper. Has anyone else had this type of problem or is it just me? Thanks, Jim Coffey Post edited on 2006-10-25 07:30:06

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 25, 2006 at 1:49:38 PM | RE: Curtain Wall and Curtian Doors

#4

winnwg


active

Joined: Sun, Feb 20, 2005
8 Posts
No Rating


Hi Jim The problem that you face with curtain doors in curtain panels is faced by everyone i think. I just went through the help menu and tried it out .. it works.. i have attached the excerpt below.. hope it helps.. else lets get to work again... The following procedure is a general procedure for creating a curtain wall door or family. Your steps may differ based on design intent. On the File menu, click New Family. From the Open dialog box, choose Door - Curtain Wall.rft for a curtain wall door or Window - Curtain Wall.rft for a curtain wall window and click Open. Be sure to sketch lines to the four reference planes in the template: top, bottom, left, and right. Do not dimension to the overall width or height of the door or window. Save the family. In a project view, create a curtain wall with panels. Size the curtain wall grid cells to the size of the curtain wall door or window you created. Load the curtain wall door or window family. Select a panel in the current wall. From the Type Selector, choose the family type you created to swap in the family. Regards Winn

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Oct 25, 2006 at 6:37:17 PM | RE: Curtain Wall and Curtian Doors

#5

pwiklund


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 30, 2006
10 Posts
No Rating


Curtian wall doors do not load into the Door menu. You have to highlight the glass panel and then in the selection pulldown you should see (possibily at the bottom) your curtian wall doors available to you.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 25, 2006 at 8:34:22 PM | RE: Curtain Wall and Curtian Doors

#6

Xane


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 15, 2005
90 Posts
No Rating


or when highlight glass panel where you want to insert door change to 'wall' and then you can insert any door.

This user is offline

 

Sat, Apr 24, 2010 at 5:16:57 PM | Curtain Wall and Curtian Doors

#7

csass


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 17, 2008
1 Posts
No Rating


I had the same problem and it was driving me crazy because everyone was just like "just select the panel and scroll down in the type selector what you want to change the panel too".  Like I'm not clever enough to think of that.  It turns out that you have to unpin the panel before you can change it.  I don't know why it doesn't tell you that in the Revit help files because the default when you create the curtain wall is for all the elements to be pinned.  There are not circumstances where you will not have to unpin the curse panel.  All you do is select the panel, go to EDIT and down to unpin.  This will unpin the panel and you will be free to change it into any wall type or curtain wall door that you choose.

This user is offline

 

Sat, Apr 24, 2010 at 6:00:48 PM | Curtain Wall and Curtian Doors

#8

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 196 Votes


"There are not circumstances where you will not have to unpin the curse panel." - Not true, you ONLY need to UNPIN the panel if you create a "Curtain Wall - STOREFRONT"

 



Attached Images

75824_CW.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Sat, May 29, 2010 at 12:59:24 AM | Curtain Wall and Curtian Doors

#9

Bijayini


active

Joined: Sat, May 29, 2010
1 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the Single Panel Doors. Really worked. 

Process: First zoom in on the curtain wall......where u want the door. select mullions that you want replaced by door. you will see a small lock sign on each member. Go to modify and then click unpin. This unpins all the highlighted members. Delete the mullion you want to remove. Now select the mullion next to it and drag. Move it such that the space that opened up by deleting the previous mullion is exactly the size of door you want. De-select all members now.

Now go to insert........load family............load the curtain wall door u want from library or some other location. It will load the door now.

Now if you select the member that you want to replace with door,the curtain wall door will appear on left toolbar. just select that and the door will be inserted!!! :-) 


This user is offline

 

Sat, Nov 6, 2010 at 3:19:17 AM | Curtain Wall and Curtian Doors

#10

dcad79


active

Joined: Wed, Aug 12, 2009
6 Posts
No Rating


All your questions about inserting a door into curtainwall is here!

 

 

 

http://therevitkid.blogspot.com/2009/03/tutorial-curtain-wall-doors.html


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Curtian wall within another curtain wall

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 21, 2009 at 10:30:03 PM

0

Curtain wall doors

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, May 4, 2009 at 7:05:34 AM

3

Curtain wall doors wont center up

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Oct 12, 2009 at 9:28:48 PM

2

No curtain wall doors on curtain walls!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 23, 2009 at 1:10:58 AM

1

Curtian Walls in Window Schedules

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 28, 2007 at 8:12:57 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1469417

Objects:

20536

Forum Posts:

150619

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.7265

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights