RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

212 Users Online (115 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks >> Photo quality renderings

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Wed, Jun 14, 2006 at 8:05:58 PM | Photo quality renderings

#1

jmiller


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 31, 2004
21 Posts
No Rating


Newer user to Revit and love the program , but bosses are wanting more Phot real type rendering not so cartooninsh if you know what i mean. they compare my revit drawing to a AE firm and say can we get your like that! How can I do this, is it just in the way you render or are they useing another program besides Revit!

Attached Images

2Rendering.jpg

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 14, 2006 at 9:27:30 PM | RE: Photo quality renderings

#2

hjacobs


admin
hjacobs Avatar

Joined: Sun, Jan 19, 2003
568 Posts
3.5 Stars: 16 Votes


You are never going to get a photo-realistic rendering out of Revit and its default rendering engine, Accurender. The power of the software isn't its rendering capabilities, its in its database capabilities. Accurender is just a bonus for doing "ok" renderings. However you can use third party software like Autodesk Viz to render models created in Revit - it will take some research, but people do it all the time.

-----------------------------------

Hiroshi Jacobs

The Catholic University of America

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jun 14, 2006 at 9:52:41 PM | RE: Photo quality renderings

#3

hisdirt


active

Joined: Sun, Nov 6, 2005
123 Posts
5 Stars: 5 Votes


Hey jmiller, There are alot of tricks you can use but bear in mind that many lives are spent trying to capture reality. While hjacobs is right that Accurender is more than a little behind Viz, Max and other leading rendering programs, I think it still has potential. In regards to your image, could you post the raytracing settings you used to get that image? Its a great start, and good on you for being so willing to ask for help - I hope this does just that! Some points: Try and hide that horizon line. So seldom do you see such a straight line in photos, experiment with background photos and trees placed back from the building. Those clouds seem a little grey, again you could try making them white or using a background image. And the sky could be a little less green... Download some cars from this site, they render out real nice - and its a good idea to balance compositions with background and foreground information. At the moment your whole picture seems to exist at a similiar distance from teh camera. You could try having some massive trees on the left (off camera, out of sight) and have their shadows casting over that massive area of pavement. Email me with more questions if you like, you're on the way! Post edited on 2006-06-14 17:06:06

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jun 15, 2006 at 1:13:54 AM | RE: Photo quality renderings

#4

freestyle250


active

Joined: Sat, Mar 11, 2006
24 Posts
No Rating


after you have finished the rendering, use the adjust image tool to change the brightness and contrast. then take it in to photoshop and do what has been suggested. put in a good background that blends well with your biew, then make some layer changes. for example, most of the time, you can apply and overlay layer to your image and that tends to make things look quite a bit better. but like its been said, unfortunately revits rendering engine is not quite as powerful as the others that are available.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 15, 2006 at 12:54:51 PM | RE: Photo quality renderings

#5

jmiller


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 31, 2004
21 Posts
No Rating


Thanks everyone for the replys. I have a coupld more question! what is the best way to hide the horizon line, with trees change the grade at that point? What is a good setting for raytrace i juast have been using the default settings Thanks

This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 28, 2006 at 4:49:57 AM | RE: Photo quality renderings

#6

Jaybo


active

Joined: Mon, Apr 10, 2006
59 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


yeh i was wondering if exporting a revit file to dwg and then taking it to viz is possible without having all polylines. If anyone has had experience in using studio max or viz render with revit could you plz message me or post some tips. Due to the fact that they change to poly lines there are so many faces in the model rather than whole slabs or walls ect. Is there a way to stop the model from changing to all polylines

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 11, 2006 at 6:08:52 PM | RE: Photo quality renderings

#7

framerman


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 29, 2004
543 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


I'm not quite sure what happened there with your plines. I use file>export>dwg. I'm in a 3d view when doing this. From this point I open up Max>File>File Link Manager>Import File and it opens up beautifully. No plines, all modeling. I use a very basic max file with lighting already in place and import my dwg file into that. This way I have my shadows and views already set up for the next one. Personally, I think accurender is horrible. I don't hold out much hope for it. I wish Autodesk would include Viz with Revit like they do with ADT. I'm sure that's some type of internal business conflict though.

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Oct 27, 2006 at 5:15:13 PM | RE: Photo quality renderings

#8

cmacko


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 6, 2006
1 Posts
No Rating


Accurender on its own can actually turn out some pretty impressive stuff, especially for interiors, and it's a lot faster than viz. The problem here is the version of accurender they included is really stripped down and makes it difficult to do all the little "tweaks" that are needed to get to that level.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 21, 2006 at 10:27:32 PM | Photo quality renderings

#9

srr3344


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 31, 2006
1 Posts
No Rating


I have found that one can achieve a high since of photo realism if they spend the time to find the best maps.  I get almost all mine online.  I believe Revit has the lighting capabilities to be good enough, as well as the ability to create great shadows.  If you combine the lighting and shadows with the proper maps, then you will see a huge improvement in your renderings.


This user is offline

 

Sat, Mar 21, 2009 at 3:09:43 AM | Photo quality renderings

#10

fixybopixy


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 9, 2009
39 Posts
No Rating


can someone just clarify something for me about revit rendering? by the way, i have attached the worlds crappiest renderings to this message so u can see where i am at, because i want to make them look a lot better but dont know how...

 my question is...when u render in revit (just using the rendering tab) you dont get an option of what type of rendering engine u want, right? when i do it, i dont see an option for rendering engines, so i assume it is using some sort of default rendering engine. i see ppl posting info on accurender, mental ray, etc. what kind of rendering engine do i have and what kind do i  want?



Attached Images

55494_perpsectivetop_right2.1MB.jpg55494_perspective_detail_120090320.jpg

This user is offline

 

Sat, Mar 21, 2009 at 11:18:51 AM | Photo quality renderings

#11

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 195 Votes


Revit 2008 use the Accurender engine and Revit 2009 use "Mental Ray" engine, you can't choose "of what type of rendering engine u want"

 What you can do if you aren't satisfy with your renders in Revit is "insert" your model in Max and use the "V-Ray" to create your renders....

 

 



Edited on: Sat, Mar 21, 2009 at 6:23:46 AM

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Fri, Nov 8, 2013 at 4:54:39 PM | Photo quality renderings

#12

Charlie70


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 13, 2012
2 Posts
No Rating


I am new to 3D MAX, what exactly do you mean when you say use V-Ray? 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 3, 2013 at 4:37:47 PM | Charlie70

#13

joenunez


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 16, 2012
9 Posts
No Rating


Quoting Charlie70 from 2013-11-08 10:54:39

"

I am new to 3D MAX, what exactly do you mean when you say use V-Ray? 

"

Charlie

V-Ray is another rendering engine apart from the two Typhoon listed. In 3D Studio Max V-Ray gets installed as a "plugin-like" feature. Once installed you have 3D Studio's native rendering engine AND V-Ray. You basically get rendering engine options (e.g. mental ray, v-ray, etc) at that point to satisfy certain rendering needs. Google V-Ray for Max and you'll find loads of information.


-----------------------------------

joenunez

Revit Architecture 2017 \ 

20170225_1515(x64)

Windows 7 Enterprise SP1 \ Xeon \ 20 GB RAM

This user is offline

 

Thu, Dec 19, 2013 at 4:02:54 PM | Photo quality renderings

#14

RfOeCnKdOeNr


active

Joined: Mon, Feb 4, 2008
43 Posts
4.5 Stars: 4 Votes


Charlie, I just released a video series focusing on nothing but presentation techniques for revit.  Within that video series I have an hour long segment about using Revit to 3DS Max and rendering with V-Ray.

VRay is definitely an excellent render engine with some insanely realistic results.  That being said, you CAN get Revit renderings to look very similar to VRay renderings.  I show some of tose techniques as well.  There are some examples on the site listed below.

 

If you are interested in it, check it out here:

 

http://www.BIMAfterDark.com/

 

- Jeff  aka "The Revit Kid"

www.TheRevitKid.com

 



Edited on: Thu, Dec 19, 2013 at 10:04:56 AM

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Dec 19, 2013 at 4:52:41 PM | Photo quality renderings

#15

zakazai


active

Joined: Thu, Feb 23, 2012
0 Posts
No Rating


i have attended many trainings in revit, but still i have a doubt regarding floor finishing with tiles.

i would like to know, how i can put ceramic tiles in various sizes in a room, may be 2-3 different sizes of tiles comes together. or i may need to cut some patterns on the floor that is filled with marbles, like water jet cut designs.

i know how to add material but i am confused to make it tiles and other designs.


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Best approach to Photo Realistic Renderings? [ 1 2 ]

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Dec 13, 2012 at 9:40:13 PM

15

Rendering Quality

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Tue, Feb 26, 2013 at 4:20:31 PM

11

How to get natural photo rendering quality

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Jan 7, 2013 at 9:58:35 AM

2

Renderings

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 23, 2015 at 2:21:12 PM

3

higher-quality renderings

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 14, 2006 at 3:21:50 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1415985

Objects:

20397

Forum Posts:

150457

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1439

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights