RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

271 Users Online (136 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Extruded roof - fascia - (Newbie question)

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Jul 4, 2017 at 8:23:53 PM | Extruded roof - fascia - (Newbie question)

#1

hoyt


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 4, 2017
0 Posts
No Rating


I have created an extruded roof in Revit 18.  CryingSee attached file.)  However, when I attempt to add a fascia, Revit does not allow me to select the edges of the roof.  

If fascias are not allowed on such roofs, how does one assign a finish material, such as stucco to the sides of the roof?  Similar question for assigning a mateirals to the top/bottom of the roof.

Thank you in advance.

Hoyt (a Revit newbie)


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 5, 2017 at 8:29:45 AM | Extruded roof - fascia - (Newbie question)

#2

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


It shouldn't be a problem to attach fascias to extruded roofs.  I don't see your attachment, so I'm not sure what you're trying to do, but I attach an image with two wxtruded roofs with fascias.



Attached Images

154946_Extruded_roofs.JPG

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jul 5, 2017 at 12:30:04 PM | Extruded roof - fascia - (Newbie question)

#3

hoyt


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 4, 2017
0 Posts
No Rating


Thank you very much for your response.  I am very glad to learn that fascias are available.  I have attached a file with the extruded roof.

 

 

Hoyt



Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 5, 2017 at 2:25:31 PM | Extruded roof - fascia - (Newbie question)

#4

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


Rather attach an image showing you problem.  What you have attached is an IFC file and we can't do much with that.  However, I can view your roof, and I dont think that you should have a problem attaching fascias.  In this case, I think that you should have used standard roofs for what you have shown, as these are much more controllable.


This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jul 5, 2017 at 2:38:33 PM | Extruded roof - fascia - (Newbie question)

#5

hoyt


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 4, 2017
0 Posts
No Rating


Tim,

 

I have attacehd a screenshot of the roof.  The exact issue that I am having is that when I attempt to select a plane of the roof, by selecting the upper edge of a roof plane, to add a fascia, the entire roof is selected.  

 

The screenshot was taken just after I selected an upper edge.  As can be seen in the screenshot, the entire roof is selected.  Thus, no fascias are added.

 

Hoyt



Attached Images

154951_Roof.png

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 5, 2017 at 2:42:14 PM | Extruded roof - fascia - (Newbie question)

#6

hoyt


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 4, 2017
0 Posts
No Rating


Tim,

 

A link to the Revit file follows:  https://www.yousendit.com/download/dDZHNWNzR3N3TGhFQmNUQw

 

The file is 3MB in size, which is too large to upload to the forum.

 

Hoyt

 

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 5, 2017 at 2:47:26 PM | Extruded roof - fascia - (Newbie question)

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 364 Votes


When your file is too big, you can always copy your elements to a new file and upload that.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 5, 2017 at 5:17:50 PM | Extruded roof - fascia - (Newbie question)

#8

pijpiwo


active
pijpiwo Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 3, 2010
0 Posts
5 Stars: 23 Votes


Technically, your roof is not a roof. It’s just an in-place extrusion under the roof category - fascia tool will not work here. Use actual roof tool and create your roof by extrusion or by footprint with a negative slope.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 5, 2017 at 9:27:26 PM | Extruded roof - fascia - (Newbie question)

#9

hoyt


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 4, 2017
0 Posts
No Rating


Thank you very much.  I will rebuild the roof using the roof tool.

 

Hoyt


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 5, 2017 at 10:23:12 PM | Extruded roof - fascia - (Newbie question)

#10

pijpiwo


active
pijpiwo Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 3, 2010
0 Posts
5 Stars: 23 Votes


Hoyt, I just noticed something about your roof. Do you want the edges of your roof to be perpendicular to the roof plane (as you have it), or cut plumb?



Edited on: Wed, Jul 5, 2017 at 5:23:33 PM

Attached Images

154959_roof.JPG

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 5, 2017 at 10:39:44 PM | Extruded roof - fascia - (Newbie question)

#11

hoyt


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 4, 2017
0 Posts
No Rating


I want the roof edges to be perpindicular to the roof plane (not plumb).  That is why I did not use the standard method of constructing the roof.

 

Hoyt


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 6, 2017 at 12:09:17 AM | Extruded roof - fascia - (Newbie question)

#12

pijpiwo


active
pijpiwo Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 3, 2010
0 Posts
5 Stars: 23 Votes


Two options:

 

1. Use what you have - in-place extrusion. Copy to clipboard -> paste to the same place (two roofs in the same place) -> edit one extrusion and make it larger (or smaller) by the thickness of the fascia and adjust the height of it as well -> finish extrusion (green check mark) -> use join or cut geometry tool to remove the inside volume of the ‘fascia’ roof.

 

2. use roof tool -> cut the edges with in-place void so they are perpendicular to the roof plane -> use fascia tool.

 

I’d use option 2.

 

EDIT: File attached



Edited on: Wed, Jul 5, 2017 at 7:22:47 PM

Attached Files

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 6, 2017 at 12:25:52 AM | Extruded roof - fascia - (Newbie question)

#13

pijpiwo


active
pijpiwo Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 3, 2010
0 Posts
5 Stars: 23 Votes


File attached - I had to reduce its size.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 6, 2017 at 1:12:43 AM | Extruded roof - fascia - (Newbie question)

#14

hoyt


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 4, 2017
0 Posts
No Rating


Thank you very much.  

 

Hoyt


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Fascia Board Too Long

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Nov 20, 2012 at 4:19:31 PM

2

How to miter a fascia on a sloped roof?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 24, 2012 at 12:48:23 PM

1

Roof fascia curves in plan and elevation

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Dec 13, 2009 at 7:40:44 PM

9

Extruded roof - surface pattern displaying incorrect

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 8, 2010 at 3:00:11 PM

6

HOW DO I ADD NEW FASCIA?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 13, 2007 at 8:58:46 PM

5

Site Stats

Members:

1610512

Objects:

21982

Forum Posts:

151576

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 3.6449

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights