RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

54 Users Online (53 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> revit 9 file saved as revit 8 file so it will work on a machine with revit 8.1

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, May 24, 2006 at 6:03:15 AM | revit 9 file saved as revit 8 file so it will work on a machine with revit 8.1

#1

Molonesh


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 10, 2003
28 Posts
No Rating


is that possible? Thanks

This user is offline

 

Wed, May 24, 2006 at 6:42:29 AM | RE: revit 9 file saved as revit 8 file so it will work on a machine with revit 8.1

#2

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


no, there is no backward compatabilty HTH

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Fri, May 26, 2006 at 10:51:49 AM | RE: revit 9 file saved as revit 8 file so it will work on a machine with revit 8

#3

james048a


active

Joined: Thu, Apr 6, 2006
17 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Wow no backward compatabilty, That is the most stupidist thing i ever heard. What good is the program if one person is in 9 and another is in a lower ver.? I cant make them buy an upgrade, guess ill be going back to ADT then, because not everyone has the same ver of revit i have and they need to work in the same file. They need to redo there program to accomidate backward compatabilty, like all the other programs in the world. Sorry just venting my anger on this issue

This user is offline

 

Fri, May 26, 2006 at 11:39:23 AM | RE:

#4

Scott Davis


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 30, 2003
64 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Every Revit license is on subscription, upgrades are already included. No need to get anyone to "buy" an upgrade. There is no reason why anyone using Revit is not using the latest version, or has the ability to use the latest version. You need to communicate with those you work with. If you decide to work in 8.1 on a project, then no one upgrades that project. If you decide to do a project in 9.0, then everyone upgrades. I would rather have the developers continue to move forward with Revit, not take the time to figure out how to make it go backward. Post edited on 2006-05-26 11:39:47 Post edited on 2006-05-26 11:40:07

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, May 26, 2006 at 3:48:42 PM | RE: revit 9 file saved as revit 8 file so it will work on a machine with revit 8

#5

paulh


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 13, 2005
51 Posts
No Rating


You can buy Revit without a subscription. This is just Autodesk forcing people into their subscription scheme.

This user is offline

 

Fri, May 26, 2006 at 6:30:01 PM | RE:

#6

Steve_Stafford


active

Joined: Fri, Dec 12, 2003
114 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Quoting paulh - 2006-05-26 15:48:42

"You can buy Revit without a subscription. This is just Autodesk forcing people into their subscription scheme."



Actually it isn't. Revit has never supported backward compatibility. In fact you don't have backward compatibility options that are all that practical with ADT now either. When you've got objects that didn't exist in earlier versions what shall they become in a Save Down operation?

Revit was always sold on subscription basis because of the need to be on the same release even before Autodesk bought it. In fact you could only buy Revit as a subscription/rental basis when it was RTC. The development of Revit has been so fast and furious that trying to map out a save down process would have been a unreasonable distraction.

The only folks that don't have a good recourse for this situation is students because the colleges and high schools buy educational licenses and those lag behind the commercial licensing for some reason. Otherwise a firm that doesn't do subscription for Revit is shooting themselves in the foot if they intend to collaborate with other firms using one of the three flavors of Revit now.

Post edited on 2006-05-26 18:30:37

This user is offline

View Website

Sun, May 28, 2006 at 1:06:24 AM | RE: revit 9 file saved as revit 8 file so it will work on a machine with revit 8.1

#7

vector23



vector23 Avatar

Joined: Sun, Apr 23, 2006
265 Posts
2 Stars: 16 Votes


just the sound of "backward compatibility" sounds backward and stupid..

This user is offline

 

Sun, May 28, 2006 at 4:11:45 AM | RE: revit 9 file saved as revit 8 file so it will work on a machine with revit 8.1

#8

gregmeurer


active

Joined: Fri, Sep 23, 2005
26 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


ALL programs have backward compatibility, the fact that REVIT doesn't is the worst idea ever!!!!!! Enough said. For those who think they should only be working forward are those same people that have no respect for the history. If I could speak more harshly about you guys I would but I respect this site to much. So ENOUGH with the fact that there isn't backward compatibility, it's LAME!!!!!!

This user is offline

View Website

Sun, May 28, 2006 at 5:36:19 AM | RE: revit 9 file saved as revit 8 file so it will work on a machine with revit 8.1

#9

coreed


site moderator|||
coreed Avatar

Joined: Fri, Feb 10, 2006
1874 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


in fact, i think autodesk is showing respect for history. that's why they now only support minimal versions of previous versions of autocad. that's why version 2004, 2005, and 2006 share the same files format. functionality in newer versions(2005) such as fields simply do no work in older versions (2004). supporting older versions in the end is costly and slows progress. For Revit to grow and devlop as a BIM it cannot afford that luxury. I don't think that Autodesk Revit should even support export to dwg. i think they should concentrate strcikly on Building Information Modeling and not 2d drafting. I AGRREE 100% WITH STEVE STAFFORD POST thats my 2 cents

-----------------------------------

best regards,

coreed,aia

bmpArchitects,Inc.

"Revit has to be implemented, Not installed." 

Long Live Revit

This user is offline

 

Sun, May 28, 2006 at 1:53:20 PM | RE: revit 9 file saved as revit 8 file so it will work on a machine with revit 8.1

#10

vector23



vector23 Avatar

Joined: Sun, Apr 23, 2006
265 Posts
2 Stars: 16 Votes


i agree with steve and coreed.. remember how windows development was so severly impaired trying to satisfy people screeming about how they just had to be able to run their old programs that they were too lame to upgrade? i say go forward with the development of bim and revit.. how could anyone not want that?

This user is offline

 

Wed, May 31, 2006 at 4:21:45 AM | RE: revit 9 file saved as revit 8 file so it will work on a machine with revit 8.1

#11

Bartman


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 15, 2005
1 Posts
No Rating


My problem w/ no backward saving capability is hardware. 7 or 8 may work fine on a machine and then you install 9 and everything is running unbearably slow and crashes a lot more. That is a reason some I know have avoided upgrades for some time. Bartman

This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 30, 2006 at 8:57:38 AM | revit 9 file saved as revit 8 file so it will work on a machine with revit 8.1

#12

Chymos


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 7, 2004
51 Posts
No Rating


While I agree 100%, that everyone should be working in the latest adn greatest versions of the software, there are cases where forward migration has diminishing returns, especially when there is a MAJOR upgrade (like from 8 series to the 9 series).  We had a number of projects that were nearing 90-100% completion when 9.0 released.  It did not make sense for us to upgrade these projects and go through the room creation exercises when the files were basically done.

Here's where the problem is though - FAMILIES.  What if a user in an 8.1 file needs a family that was created in 9.1?  Is there no way to save a FAMILY back to a previous version?


This user is offline

 

Sat, Sep 27, 2008 at 12:33:48 PM | revit 9 file saved as revit 8 file so it will work on a machine with revit 8.1

#13

Aksha


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 31, 2008
6 Posts
No Rating


Eventhough not a 100% solution, there is a workaround to make Revit 2009 files work in previous versions. Use File>Export>IFC feature. You loose some information but most of the saved data will be usable.

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Help, cant edit my file, seems to be locked by both users.

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Mon, Jun 23, 2014 at 12:14:40 PM

11

File Not Saved (on server)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 26, 2011 at 9:07:19 AM

10

Saved File Size

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 15, 2010 at 6:17:13 AM

3

A local file enslaved to another local file? Is that possible?

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Fri, Jan 8, 2010 at 5:06:15 PM

6

ARGHHHHH....lost file. Found journal txt file though

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Mon, May 5, 2008 at 7:07:46 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

2010317

Objects:

22931

Forum Posts:

152196

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 2.5786

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights