RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

215 Users Online (67 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> trying to show canopy above

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Jan 31, 2017 at 8:15:25 PM | trying to show canopy above

#1

brankulo


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 7, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


so i have canopy at 2nd floor level (image 1) that i need to show dashed in 1st level (IMAGE 2). while in 1st level view i select 2nd level asunderlay. thi thin is, canopy is not showing as underlay, so i can not use line work tool. as you can see on image 2, 2nd level overhangs on the side of canopy are showing as underlay and i was able to use line work tool to show them dashed. so how do i get the canopy to show? while playing with ranges, if i set 1st floor cut plane to 0, canopy will show. however if i use line work tool now to make dashed outline and then set my 1st level cut plane back to 4' i can no longer see dashed outline. any ideas?

thanks



Attached Images

152619_2.jpg

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 31, 2017 at 8:16:48 PM | trying to show canopy above

#2

brankulo


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 7, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


image 1 showing 2nf\d floor canopy



Attached Images

152620_1.jpg

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 31, 2017 at 8:26:26 PM | trying to show canopy above

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 361 Votes


VG Category?


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 31, 2017 at 8:33:41 PM | trying to show canopy above

#4

brankulo


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 7, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


i have it under roof, its on in both views


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 31, 2017 at 10:22:47 PM | trying to show canopy above

#5

DavidBruinsma


active

Joined: Sun, Jun 3, 2012
13 Posts
No Rating


a couple of quick things to check

- is the underlay Orientation set to "Plan" or Reflected Ceiling Plan"

- try changing the Graphic Display to "Wireframe"

If either of those options (or both together) help, then use the linework (LW) tool to select the object and pick with a dashed type line overide.

 

Good luck.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 31, 2017 at 10:33:05 PM | trying to show canopy above

#6

brankulo


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 7, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


i tried to set underlay to both ceiling and plan, canopy doesnt show in either one. it does not show in wireframe mode either.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 1, 2017 at 10:23:11 PM | trying to show canopy above

#7

brankulo


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 7, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


any other ideas?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 2, 2017 at 1:19:25 AM | trying to show canopy above

#8

DavidBruinsma


active

Joined: Sun, Jun 3, 2012
13 Posts
No Rating


I admit that i've had similar problems with awnings and roofs not appearing when using the overlay feature. Usually when the awnings are at a different height to a reference level.

I think i created a 'false level' where the awning was located, and then used that level as an overlay, and had to play with view depth settings and wire frame mode, basically tried many different things until i finally got to 'see it'.

THEN i used the linework (LW) tool to showed dashed lines.

 

good luck.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 2, 2017 at 10:51:40 AM | trying to show canopy above

#9

Elnazer2


active

Joined: Thu, Feb 18, 2016
0 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


make sure that there is nothing hiding the canopy when you underlay with that level , hide whatever is showing instead until you see the canopy , sometime it works , hope this helps

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 2, 2017 at 2:55:10 PM | trying to show canopy above

#10

brankulo


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 7, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


i just cant get this figured out. there is nothing above or below canopy that would be obsuring it. what puzzles me is that it becomes visible when 1st floor cut plane is set to 0


This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 2, 2017 at 4:20:51 PM | trying to show canopy above

#11

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 361 Votes


You are not telling us everything.  This comment "... if i use line work tool now to make dashed outline and then set my 1st level cut plane back to 4' i can no longer see dashed outline..." is not true of Revit unless you are doing something strange. 

 

I see that although you joined in 2015, you only have a few posts.   I suspect that you are really still a newbie.

 

Linework added to a normal view, like a floor plan, is typically done as an annotative line.   As such, it is always in the field of view... it is a paper space line.  But your comment indicates you are using a model line and your field of view changes when you change the cutplane. This is probably why you are having issues with your underlay but I can't test right now.  

 

Use 2D lines and look again at your view settings.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 2, 2017 at 4:40:57 PM | trying to show canopy above

#12

brankulo


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 7, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


WWHup, i believe i am using proper technique. please look at attached images. 1st one shows my cut plane set to 0. you can see overlayed canopy in the middle, i already used line work tool (circled in red) to show its outline dashed. all good so far, except i need sut plane at 4' or so. so 2nd image shows cut plane at 4', as you can see both overlayed canopy and my dashed outline is gone. lnot sure what am i doing wrong here, i have used this technique before, althought not on above canopy.

i guess my other question is why canopy overlay shows only while cut plane is st to 0? just trying to find some logic behind this. 



Attached Images

152672_1st_floor.jpg152672_1st_floor_2.jpg

This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 2, 2017 at 5:01:09 PM | trying to show canopy above

#13

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 361 Votes


Linework tool but using what line?   It can be a model line or an annotative (2D) line.   You want a 2D line.

 

YHou may have also messed with your work plane.  A normal plan view has it's work plane set to the level.   Any 3D lines added will be on that level.  BUT - you can alter the work plane.... A VERY BAD IDEA if you don't understand what you are doing.

Try this again and make sure you are picking a 2D line.   Dashed - Hidden - Overhead does not mean it is a 2D line - those are just linetypes and can be 3D or 2d.

 

BTW - you can always goto a 3D view and you will see your 3D lines there if you widow this area and look at what you have.



Edited on: Thu, Feb 2, 2017 at 11:02:39 AM

This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 2, 2017 at 5:14:02 PM | trying to show canopy above

#14

brankulo


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 7, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


used 2d line for outline. wouldnt work. what i finally did is i erased my canopy and re-drew. now it shows as underlay with my cut plane at 4' so i can tag it with linework tool. maybe i messed up something creating it the firs time.

 

thanks


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Need to show shadow of canopy on ground

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Dec 26, 2016 at 6:30:35 AM

3

Back Lighting a Glass Canopy?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 7, 2011 at 3:35:11 PM

3

StoreFront Canopy

Community >> Newbies

Mon, May 28, 2007 at 3:47:57 AM

1

half circle entrance canopy

Community >> Newbies

Wed, Nov 23, 2011 at 7:46:29 PM

6

correct way of making canopy

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Jun 10, 2008 at 3:21:34 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1529798

Objects:

21317

Forum Posts:

151311

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 5.5815

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights