RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

151 Users Online (63 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Changing display of walls below current level.

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Jun 17, 2014 at 3:38:39 PM | Changing display of walls below current level.

#1

vanderloo


active

Joined: Sun, Dec 21, 2008
84 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


What is the easiest way to change the display of walls below the current view to show as hidden lines? I have a grade level at 0 elevation where I'll have 6" concrete stemwalls for a residential project. And I want to display the 12" x 12" footings below as hidden lines as they would normally be in a foundation plan. In other words, I want my foundation plan to illustrate as in the attachment. Thank You



Attached Images

132147_footing.PNG

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jun 17, 2014 at 4:02:31 PM | Changing display of walls below current level.

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


VG settings.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 17, 2014 at 4:17:04 PM | Changing display of walls below current level.

#3

vanderloo


active

Joined: Sun, Dec 21, 2008
84 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Thank You. I got it.

For anyone else searching- select the walls below, r-click and override graphics in view, change projection lines to hidden.


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jun 17, 2014 at 5:22:43 PM | Changing display of walls below current level.

#4

blue442


active
blue442 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Aug 25, 2009
0 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


well... that's one way to do it.   but WWHub's way is much better - and easier.

if you add more walls, you'll need to apply new overrides.

If you decide you want to change the projected line pattern to something else, you'll need to select all the walls again and apply new overrides.

 

 

 

WWhub's mentioned way would just be a onetime setting, and your done - all future objects will adhere.  And only need to change it in one place should you change line pattern's in the future.



Attached Images

132156_vg_settings.jpg

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jun 17, 2014 at 5:35:56 PM | Changing display of walls below current level.

#5

vanderloo


active

Joined: Sun, Dec 21, 2008
84 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Thanks Blue442 but that's the way I originally wanted to do it but it changes ALL the walls in the view.

I don't want my 6" concrete stemwalls to be dashed. Only the footings below. See attachment.



Attached Images

132160_footing.PNG

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jun 17, 2014 at 5:42:40 PM | Changing display of walls below current level.

#6

blue442


active
blue442 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Aug 25, 2009
0 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


I see.  You're nut cutting through the walls.  You're above them.  Yes, I believe the override would be the choice in this situation.


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jun 17, 2014 at 6:35:30 PM | Changing display of walls below current level.

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


You call them stem walls but they appear to be footings so that's why I recommended FG.  You appeared to have confused Blue442 because he indicated walls.  Footings are in a seperate category from walls so you should do it there for the reasons blue gave.  Much better off than individual over-rides.

 

Another method if you want selective foundation (stem) walls is to use a filter with that particular wall type.



Edited on: Tue, Jun 17, 2014 at 1:46:08 PM

Attached Images

132162_Capture.JPG

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jun 17, 2014 at 8:14:16 PM | Changing display of walls below current level.

#8

vanderloo


active

Joined: Sun, Dec 21, 2008
84 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Thanks WWHub. You're correct, (assuming that the footings, below the 6" stemwalls were drawn as structural foundation), but I made the mistake of

drawing them as 12" generic walls on the lower, (footing), level. Then I drrew the concrete stemwalls at grade level. So they are both walls the way

I have them drawn. Gonna fix that right now.



Attached Images

132166_footing3.PNG

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jun 18, 2014 at 12:36:35 PM | Changing display of walls below current level.

#9

blue442


active
blue442 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Aug 25, 2009
0 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Ah! I see...

 

We generally use regular walls for foundation walls since it is usually an occupied space...

 

Thanks WWhub


This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Cannot see walls above current level

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Jul 4, 2017 at 2:04:20 PM

5

Problem with level display

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 6, 2010 at 5:58:24 PM

4

Display pipes - solid on current level, dashed if above

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 6, 2017 at 7:46:26 AM

2

Walls do not show up in plan view

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 10, 2009 at 6:49:55 PM

3

Current Level

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Jan 13, 2007 at 12:03:00 AM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1797630

Objects:

22518

Forum Posts:

151982

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.9181

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights