RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

177 Users Online (78 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Slab cutting out columns! Any way to stop this?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Apr 13, 2011 at 1:51:53 PM | Slab cutting out columns! Any way to stop this?

#1

structuresguy


active

Joined: Tue, May 6, 2008
102 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Hi.  I have a case where I have a site slab in my model, that cuts through many exterior columns.  I don't want to show the site slab normally, so when it is turned off, all my columns have a section cut out of them.  I don't want to spend the time to draw openings around each column in the slab, as there are lots of them.

Is there an easy way to tell Revit that the column has preference, not the slab?  if anything, the slab should be cut out at each column.  The fact that it is reversed is typical of the problem when you have people who don't know what how things work in the structural world creating software.

I have attached an image of the problem.

Thanks.



Attached Images

90777_columns.jpg

This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 15, 2011 at 1:20:07 PM | Slab cutting out columns! Any way to stop this?

#2

jnovella1520


active

Joined: Thu, Feb 4, 2010
23 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Hello,

You could create a new design option, and place the slab on option 2 Cryingnot the primary option).  


This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 15, 2011 at 1:31:01 PM | Slab cutting out columns! Any way to stop this?

#3

jnovella1520


active

Joined: Thu, Feb 4, 2010
23 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Sorry not sure what the little image was thats inserted after the option 2.  Anywase, another method is to create the site slab in a different Revit file and link it into main project model (not ideal, but works too)


This user is offline

 

Fri, May 6, 2011 at 3:53:30 PM | Slab cutting out columns! Any way to stop this?

#4

structuresguy


active

Joined: Tue, May 6, 2008
102 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


thanks for the ideas.  I think I will try using a separate model for all site objects, and just link them in. 


This user is offline

 

Fri, May 6, 2011 at 4:53:27 PM | Slab cutting out columns! Any way to stop this?

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


Edit your slab, then when it asks if you want to cut out intersecting walls answer no.

 

Other option is to edit your slab and sketch holes in it where your columns are.  That would be the right thing to do.


This user is offline

 

Fri, May 6, 2011 at 5:13:19 PM | WWHub

#6

structuresguy


active

Joined: Tue, May 6, 2008
102 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Quoting WWHub from 2011-05-06 11:53:27

"

Edit your slab, then when it asks if you want to cut out intersecting walls answer no.

 

Other option is to edit your slab and sketch holes in it where your columns are.  That would be the right thing to do.

"

Well, it never asks me to not cut out intersecting walls.  And actually, the slab is not cutting out walls, only columns.  Why the programmers would give priority to a slab over a column is beyond me.

 


This user is offline

 

Fri, May 6, 2011 at 6:04:57 PM | Slab cutting out columns! Any way to stop this?

#7

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


Perhaps the uncut geometry tool?

 

Are you sure it's a site slab, and not a structural foundation slab?  I believe that might act a little differently with structural columns,which brings me to, are those structural or architectural columns?


This user is offline

 

Wed, May 25, 2011 at 10:37:12 AM | Slab cutting out columns! Any way to stop this?

#8

gprakash


active

Joined: Fri, Apr 24, 2009
49 Posts
No Rating


structuresguy,

 

How about 'UNJOIN GEOMETRY' and just one click on the slab? Just checked with this and was successful in showing all structural columns without cut out while the intersecting slab is hidden.

 

 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 11, 2014 at 9:58:17 PM | Slab cutting out columns! Any way to stop this?

#9

SchmiedCHI


active

Joined: Fri, Feb 27, 2004
0 Posts
No Rating


gprakash gave the answer that helped us out in a 'cut column' situation (using UNJOIN)  Thanks!

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Concrete Slab Edge Angles

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 7, 2011 at 6:35:24 PM

13

Cutting a Column for Different Phases?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jul 3, 2013 at 2:05:30 AM

2

Thickened Slab Not Cutting Floor Line Out

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 28, 2011 at 1:54:13 PM

2

hidden columns

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 26, 2010 at 3:53:36 PM

6

Trouble Cutting Columns

Community >> Newbies

Mon, Feb 24, 2014 at 2:34:07 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1820622

Objects:

22574

Forum Posts:

152006

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2006

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights