RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

221 Users Online (82 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> General Discussion >> Wishlist >> Stop the yearly interface updates

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Dec 31, 2010 at 5:49:50 AM | Stop the yearly interface updates

#1

Pele


active
Pele Avatar

Joined: Fri, Jun 20, 2008
160 Posts
No Rating


I find it hard to learn with all the interface changes. There are some great videos out there but even a year or two old & they become hard to follow as the tools change & it is hard to find here the instructor on the vid gets a command from.

Funny a lot of people using ADT were complaining about this a few years ago  & I even noticed Revit users gloating over their reasonably consistent/stable user interface, well its changing all over the place like ADT as far as I can see.


-----------------------------------

I will be scoring goals soon, I'm in the back line at the moment!

Cheers Dermot

www.dmbd.net

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Dec 31, 2010 at 10:24:29 AM | Stop the yearly interface updates

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 198 Votes


Are you talking about the "Ribbon"?

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 31, 2010 at 1:01:31 PM | Stop the yearly interface updates

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 361 Votes


I am very happy that AutoDESK is producing updates.

 

And if you are talking about the Ribbon, that change was 2010 and we are on 2011, whay are you not on 2011?


This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 31, 2010 at 3:39:56 PM | Stop the yearly interface updates

#4

alabaster2513


active
alabaster2513 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 16, 2007
1009 Posts
3.5 Stars: 25 Votes


I personally love the evolution of the Autodesk products. Although I do think that the training resources have been a bit polluted or diluted.... not exactly sure how to describe it. I just think the help file was hands down the best resource you could have and they really screwed it up with the newly designed help dialogue.

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Dec 31, 2010 at 9:33:11 PM | Stop the yearly interface updates

#5

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 14 Votes


I agree that help has been virtually destroyed... and I hated the ribbon at first.  In 2010 it was both a shock from the old interface, and it was poorly done.  in 2011 it's much improved.  Although the old 2009 and below interface was nice because it had every tool just one click away, it was also stiffling the advancement of features, since only so many tools can fit in that scheme.



Edited on: Fri, Dec 31, 2010 at 3:33:54 PM

This user is offline

 

Sat, Jan 1, 2011 at 3:35:06 PM | Stop the yearly interface updates

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 361 Votes


The Help has not really been destroyed.... JUST TAKE IT OFF-LINE!

Beacuse we have McAffee, we can not use the on-line help so all we do is set the pointer to look at our local HELP.  As posterd by Erland:>>>>>>>>>>

Switch between local and online help documentation for Revit 2011 products

 

Published date: 2010-Apr-14 ID: TS14994272

Applies to:Autodesk® Revit® Architecture 2011Autodesk® Revit® MEP 2011Autodesk® Revit® Structure 2011
Issue

You would like to know if you can set the default location for Revit® 2011 help documentation.

Solution

There are two options for specifying where Revit 2011 products will look for help documentation.  You can customize the location by adding the following information to the Revit.ini file.

The Revit.ini file is located in the following folder:

  • Autodesk Revit Architecture 2011C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Revit Architecture 2011\Program
  • Autodesk Revit Structure 2011C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Revit Structure 2011\Program
  • Autodesk Revit MEP 2011C:\Program Files\Autodesk\Revit MEP 2011\Program

Add the following 3 lines to the bottom of the Revit.ini file:

[Documentation]

UseHelpServer=1

HelpBrowser=0

  • To specify online help documentation use UseHelpServer=1
  • To specify local help documentation use UseHelpServer=0

Additionally you can further customize which web browser help documentation will launch with:

  • To specify the system default browser use HelpBrowser=0
  • To specify Microsoft Internet Explorer® use HelpBrowser=1

http://usa.autodesk.com/adsk/servlet/ps/dl/item?siteID=123112&id=14994272&linkID=9243099


This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 4, 2011 at 10:51:52 AM | Typhoon

#7

Pele


active
Pele Avatar

Joined: Fri, Jun 20, 2008
160 Posts
No Rating


Quoting Typhoon from 2010-12-31 04:24:29

"

Are you talking about the "Ribbon"?

 

"
No not really talking about the ribbon, infact I like the ribbon now having used it in ADT for a while. I was just complaining as I was using a video & was progressing nicely when the presenter started using a command that had me stumped where it came from?  Then I realised that the s/ware he was using was from an earlier version & I could not actually find how he got to where he was at in the video, so I gave up.
At the time (and still am) trying to find a learning resource to get a real good handle on the basis of family editing, i.e. how to make a simple door or window from scratch or is tha possible??

-----------------------------------

I will be scoring goals soon, I'm in the back line at the moment!

Cheers Dermot

www.dmbd.net

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jan 4, 2011 at 10:56:08 AM | WWHub

#8

Pele


active
Pele Avatar

Joined: Fri, Jun 20, 2008
160 Posts
No Rating


Quoting WWHub from 2010-12-31 07:01:31

"

I am very happy that AutoDESK is producing updates.

 

And if you are talking about the Ribbon, that change was 2010 and we are on 2011, whay are you not on 2011?

"
I have 2011 but have found that there is more learning resources out there at the moment than 2011 & I bought a book by Paul Aubin on 2010 cos he did not have  2011 one out. I have used 2011 (learning) & find it ok but  the lack of backward compatability sucks big time. there must be an awfull lot of companies out there not liking this.

-----------------------------------

I will be scoring goals soon, I'm in the back line at the moment!

Cheers Dermot

www.dmbd.net

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jan 11, 2011 at 2:50:50 PM | Stop the yearly interface updates

#9

snowyweston


active

Joined: Mon, Jan 12, 2009
61 Posts
No Rating


Don't train or learn to version? Sure learn each new releases' new features, but try not to  "think" 2008/2011, try instead to think about (and talk in the language of) the concepts of Revit/BIM - as they remain fairly true throughout the versions.

 

*he says still building his families in 2008 so all our jobs can use them!


This user is offline

 

Fri, May 13, 2011 at 1:38:20 PM | Stop the yearly interface updates

#10

mccoolj


active

Joined: Wed, Dec 29, 2010
58 Posts
No Rating


I have to agree with the aggravation at the interface changes. Maybe all you Revit veterans don't mind, but it is really frustrating to a beginner trying to muddle through Revit on their own when all the books/blogs/videos show different methods depending on the year. Take this site for instance. Do a search for a particular problem, and you might find someone that had the exact same problem you're having, but in 2007, and everything looks totally different now. Personally, I'd rather have the same interface with more developer time put into making the program work better than changing up menus. Things like being able to actually get some consistent snap points in a 3D view would be much more appreciated (by me anyway) than another new menu layout. But oh well, it's not just Revit. Microsoft apparently is on the same bandwagon, along with other software companies.

Jason


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Blue Screen of Death

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 17, 2008 at 8:14:04 AM

1

Jumpy Options bar with new 2010 Interface [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 12, 2010 at 7:27:35 PM

17

Anti-aliased Revit/WIndows interface?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, May 22, 2007 at 6:27:45 PM

12

How can I change the font of the entire interface?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 13, 2011 at 8:02:56 PM

3

Wall to be automatically stop below concrete beam

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 2, 2015 at 2:58:50 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1529784

Objects:

21317

Forum Posts:

151311

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1223

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights