RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

230 Users Online (105 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Topography - Cut and Fill for Graded Region

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Mar 24, 2010 at 11:31:53 AM | Topography - Cut and Fill for Graded Region

#1

gprakash


active

Joined: Fri, Apr 24, 2009
49 Posts
No Rating


On my first Toposurface project. Using help, I have created Toposurface, created Graded Region by selecting the existing Toposurface and placed a Building Pad. I have also created the schedule for the Cut and Fill volume.

It is mentioned in the Help "If you add a building pad to a graded surface, you will see cut and fill reported separately for the pad and the toposurface in a topography schedule. This is because the pad divides the graded surface into 2 surfaces: one is the surface under the pad (the graded surface), and one is the surface that is not under the pad (the pad surface).You should name both the graded surface and the pad surface to distinguish them in your schedule".

Now I have 2 questions.

 

(1) With ref. to the attached views and schedule, could anyone please explain why the graded surface should show the Fill volume eventhough my Building Pad is well below the lowest elevation of Graded Region? (OR) Why the Cut and Fill volume for Graded Region should appear on the schedule?

(2) To arrive the exact Cut & Fill volume for a building on a site, do I need to add the volumes of Graded region and Building Pad from the Topography schedule? (as it is clearly visible on the schedule that the respective surface areas are to be added to equal with the Toposurface area.) 

 

Thanks.

 



Attached Images

74266_3D_View.JPG74266_Section.JPG74266_Schedule.JPG

This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 2, 2011 at 12:14:45 AM | Topography - Cut and Fill for Graded Region

#2

A5Len


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 9, 2006
35 Posts
No Rating


Does anyone have an answer for this? I am having a similar issue where revit reports both cut and fill results for a pad that only cuts the surface. It also shows less than 1m3 cut for a pad 10m x 10m that is 1200mm below ground level.

While playing around one result showed the same cut / fill results for the same pad at 1000mm below ground and 500mm below ground

 Thanks


This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 2, 2011 at 5:23:23 PM | Topography - Cut and Fill for Graded Region

#3

mbsteve


active
mbsteve Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 22, 2006
759 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


when you created your graded region, the program recalculated the surface and compared to the existing toposurface to obtain a slight variance, if you manipulate the graded region further you will see a difference in the volumes reported. secondaryly the volume reported for the pad seems correct as it is approximately 2.6m cut. this looks fairly consistent to me. perhaps you can expand on your question.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 3, 2011 at 6:49:41 AM | Topography - Cut and Fill for Graded Region

#4

gprakash


active

Joined: Fri, Apr 24, 2009
49 Posts
No Rating


A5Len,

Just thought to share - if you are not aware!  

Cut volume includes thickness of Building pad. If you are creating a schedule for the sake of arriving the volume of cut, better keep the thickness of Building Pad to allowable minimum. OR place the Pad such that the bottom is on the original cutting plane.

 

BTW, I am still not clarified about the points (1) and (2) on my post above except the fact that there is a difference in volume.

Edited on: Thu, Feb 3, 2011 at 12:50:16 AM

Edited on: Thu, Feb 3, 2011 at 12:50:38 AM

This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 3, 2011 at 4:53:10 PM | Topography - Cut and Fill for Graded Region

#5

mbsteve


active
mbsteve Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 22, 2006
759 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


I am assuming that you didn't modify, the split topo surface. The only way I know that the volumes would have been modified is that once cut the program recreates a new boundary of points which coincide with the adjacent points. In doing so the program then recreates the internal surface of the split. The recreated surface is just slightly different than the original, thus the very slight difference in volumes.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 4, 2011 at 5:16:47 AM | Topography - Cut and Fill for Graded Region

#6

A5Len


active

Joined: Fri, Jun 9, 2006
35 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the reply's.

 Here is what I have gathered from your reply's and from playing around a bit.

1. Once you add a pad to a topography revit atomatically adjusts the site to suit, even though it would probably not happen in real life, and thus reports a cut and fill result for the "new topography"

2. The cut and fill results apllicable to the pad are shown under the new part of the topography that is "created" by pad ie the area affected by the pad. This is the bit that confused me because with my site at the moment the pad shows no cut or fill. I have decided this is a one off glitch as revit reports cut and fill fine when we create a new topography and add a pad to it.

Cheers


This user is offline

 

Fri, Feb 4, 2011 at 5:31:15 PM | Topography - Cut and Fill for Graded Region

#7

mbsteve


active
mbsteve Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 22, 2006
759 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


according to your table you created a graded region prior to creating a pad. this is when the small adjustment took place, not when the pad was created. If you create a pad on the existing topo, without a graded region there will not be the adjustment.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Graded Region from split surfaces

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Feb 1, 2013 at 2:36:27 PM

1

Request for help in cut and fill tool

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 26, 2012 at 5:12:17 PM

9

Cut and fill reporting

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 11, 2012 at 4:53:42 PM

3

Cut into Topography

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 19, 2007 at 2:55:23 PM

1

CUT AND FILL - PADS WHICH DO NOT SHOW C&F VOLUME ON A SCHEDULE

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Feb 13, 2018 at 10:37:06 AM

8

Site Stats

Members:

1553665

Objects:

21384

Forum Posts:

151416

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4222

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights