RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

154 Users Online (48 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Change objects' properties

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Feb 16, 2010 at 6:53:20 PM | Change objects' properties

#1

Sieger


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 16, 2010
6 Posts
No Rating


Hallo,

I recently started working with Revit Architecture 2010 (after being 6 years an ArchiCAD user). I still cannot understand whether  Revit objects are parametric or not. Can I change doors' or windows' pamameters? And how?

Can I pick up parameters from an object (door, window, wall et c) and appropriate them to a multitude of other objects of the same type (for instance - pick up a round window as model and make all my windowa round)?

Thank you,

S. 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 16, 2010 at 7:31:27 PM | Change objects' properties

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 376 Votes


You need to spend some time learning about families and types.  If a family was built with instance or type parameters then it is parametric ... for what ever those parameters control.  It could be size, visibility, materials ... many things.

 

Most doors are built with the size being type parameters.  Usually, the family has several types built in so to change size, just click on the door and select another type.  Otherwise, you will edit the type, creating & naming this new type and editing the type parameters that control its size.

 

Read your help on families / types and parameters - these spend some time with tutorials.  You will find that Revit is really easy.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 16, 2010 at 8:29:54 PM | Change objects' properties

#3

Sieger


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 16, 2010
6 Posts
No Rating


"Most doors are built with the size being type parameters.  Usually, the family has several types built in so to change size, just click on the door and select another type.  Otherwise, you will edit the type, creating & naming this new type and editing the type parameters that control its size".

Thank you for your reply. That means I cannot change them by pulling on control points or something like that :-( Sad. Nor can I expand an object's properties to a group of objects directly.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 16, 2010 at 9:01:34 PM | Change objects' properties

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 376 Votes


There are two different parameter types.... Types and instance. 

 

Type parameters are fixed ...obviously - by "Type"... This is very usefull.  Lets say you have 20 doors in your project that are all 6'8" and now you want them to be 7'-0".  Just select all of that type and change them.

 

Instance parameters are... one instance.  These will have the grips you were looking for.  Not good to have instance parameters for things like door sizes ... but maybe the hardware or finish of the door might be an instance parameter.



Edited on: Tue, Feb 16, 2010 at 3:02:53 PM

This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 16, 2010 at 9:12:46 PM | Change objects' properties

#5

hisdirt


active

Joined: Sun, Nov 6, 2005
123 Posts
5 Stars: 5 Votes


Hi there Sieger, welcome to Revit! 

 

Regarding control points, these can easily be set up when editing the family. Generally though, these are only used when the parameter is an on-the-fly variable. Were you to have controls like this on your door dimensions you'd get some very angry builders wondering why some architect monkey had not used standard sizes!

 

Regarding making batch changes, you can set up schedules that list the doors in your project by level, by type, by size, or by any other category you want to sort them by. Then you can make massive batch changes in a few clicks!

 

Once you've got the hang of manipulating schedules for batch changes, you find that having a button for doing this would be a step backwards.

 

Hope you enjoy Revit, keep asking questions! 

 

 


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Feb 16, 2010 at 9:16:00 PM | Change objects' properties

#6

Sieger


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 16, 2010
6 Posts
No Rating


Thanx. You are very helpful. It's really all different from what I am accustomed at.

Will keep on trying. :-)


This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 16, 2010 at 9:43:46 PM | Change objects' properties

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 376 Votes


Watch out.... it will grow on you!

 

Clear your head of any other program you were doing and look for the Revit way.  It really is a simple mindset.  In the chatroom, we call it a headslap   ... darn <headslap>  that was too easy.

 

Glad you are on-board.


This user is offline

 

Sat, Feb 27, 2010 at 12:03:31 AM | Change objects' properties

#8

Sieger


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 16, 2010
6 Posts
No Rating


I am still lost. Made interior walls 123 mm width, just because I didn't find out how to make the walls with the width I need. I need it to be 118 mm (13 mm gypsum walls with acoustic filling). Now I cannot change I single wall I make into a desired width! Help please!

This user is offline

 

Sat, Feb 27, 2010 at 12:54:10 PM | Change objects' properties

#9

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


Pick in the Wall, go to the Propertires (in 2010 you can select Type Properties directly) then go to Structure "Edit" and you can add more layers, change the Function of the layer and give them the thickness you want, just like in the images, don't forget FIRST DUPLICATE the WALL and give another name.....

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Sun, Feb 28, 2010 at 1:13:54 AM | Change objects' properties

#10

Sieger


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 16, 2010
6 Posts
No Rating


Thank you! I made it!

Now I created a new family (duplicated 123 mm and edited it into 117) and tried to select all walls I want to change, except exterior ones. Filter offers me to exclude elevations and other types of objects, but cannot differenciate within walls (has no option to select walls with the specified width). Can it be done in anyway?

Thank you so much! I really appreciate your help!

S. 


This user is offline

 

Sun, Feb 28, 2010 at 8:05:01 AM | Change objects' properties

#11

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


If you right click on the wall there is an option to 'select all instances'.  This will only select objects that are the same.

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Mar 1, 2010 at 2:51:44 AM | Change objects' properties

#12

Sieger


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 16, 2010
6 Posts
No Rating


Great!

It's not so bad as I first thought!

Thanks!

S. 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Change multiple sheets' properties at once [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Nov 1, 2014 at 1:50:25 PM

17

Can't see analytical properties

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, May 5, 2014 at 4:53:04 PM

4

Can't change contour display properties in 2010

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Mon, Sep 14, 2009 at 1:47:03 PM

1

Display properties of glass in existing windows?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 27, 2006 at 3:16:59 PM

1

No ''materials'' properties on my object

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jun 18, 2010 at 4:57:28 PM

9

Site Stats

Members:

1760904

Objects:

22376

Forum Posts:

151881

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.8774

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights