RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

286 Users Online (119 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> insert a cad file in section or elevation..

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Feb 9, 2010 at 8:25:39 AM | insert a cad file in section or elevation..

#1

durgeshbrijwasi


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 9, 2008
27 Posts
No Rating


i am trying to link a cad file ... but by default it is going in the plan view...how do i insert it in a elevation or an section..???

This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 9, 2010 at 9:55:39 AM | insert a cad file in section or elevation..

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


Go to a elevation or section view, then insert the cad file.

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 9, 2010 at 10:43:23 AM | insert a cad file in section or elevation..

#3

durgeshbrijwasi


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 9, 2008
27 Posts
No Rating


its still not happening.....

This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 9, 2010 at 12:39:06 PM | insert a cad file in section or elevation..

#4

gprakash


active

Joined: Fri, Apr 24, 2009
49 Posts
No Rating


While importing CAD drawings, did you check the option 'Current view only' ?

This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 9, 2010 at 12:50:54 PM | insert a cad file in section or elevation..

#5

durgeshbrijwasi


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 9, 2008
27 Posts
No Rating


YES I DID....

This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 9, 2010 at 1:17:52 PM | insert a cad file in section or elevation..

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


What you have been told is the correct process.  You must be doing something different. 

This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 9, 2010 at 1:22:57 PM | insert a cad file in section or elevation..

#7

durgeshbrijwasi


active

Joined: Wed, Jul 9, 2008
27 Posts
No Rating


ok then.. i ll keep trying...thanks 

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 11, 2010 at 9:49:31 PM | insert a cad file in section or elevation..

#8

allisonkapler


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 10, 2010
38 Posts
No Rating


Im having the same problem, did you figure it out? I also for some reason cant see my building in two of the elevation views and when I create a new elevation all the curtain wall is missing, any suggestions?

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 11, 2010 at 10:18:23 PM | insert a cad file in section or elevation..

#9

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 16 Votes


If you go to visibility and graphics-->imported categories, is the box "show imported categories in the view" unchecked??

This user is offline

 

Wed, Aug 11, 2010 at 11:58:23 PM | insert a cad file in section or elevation..

#10

nastyclown


active
nastyclown Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jul 14, 2009
273 Posts
4.5 Stars: 9 Votes


Drag and drop it to an elevation... never phails

This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 16, 2013 at 7:33:59 PM | insert a cad file in section or elevation..

#11

FWelliot


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 28, 2012
12 Posts
No Rating


I had a similar issue.  When I imported the DWG into the elevatoin it oriented to view and was nt visible.  I went to the level it was placed at and saw that it was placed behind my elevatoin.  I simply moved it in plan to be infront of my elevation tag and it showed up. Need to put it on a workset to be sure that it won;t be in any unwanted views.  Hope this helps.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 16, 2013 at 7:41:20 PM | insert a cad file in section or elevation..

#12

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 371 Votes


You have to be careful here.  What you have described is a "model" dwg insertion and you will even see this in 3D.  That is why it was workplane dependent.  If you uncheck the "visible in all views" box during import, then it becomes a 2D import.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 16, 2013 at 7:48:03 PM | insert a cad file in section or elevation..

#13

FWelliot


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 28, 2012
12 Posts
No Rating


Right you are.  I tried again with the current view only box checked and it did pop in properly without need for adjustment.  Thanks


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

RA 2008:: Detail components out of place on 2d element insert from file

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 22, 2010 at 9:30:17 PM

2

Scaling section and elevation markers

Community >> Newbies

Thu, Jul 26, 2012 at 12:13:35 PM

1

Linked File Section Question

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Mon, May 5, 2014 at 3:24:09 PM

6

Importing a METRIC CAD survey file generates topo lines at wrong elevation

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Thu, Aug 12, 2010 at 2:40:21 PM

2

2021 proper/typical method to insert civil CAD to generate revit topo then place

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 10, 2021 at 3:36:47 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1667750

Objects:

22120

Forum Posts:

151721

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.2997

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights