RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

211 Users Online (95 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Parametric Radial Array

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sat, Jan 30, 2010 at 7:01:43 PM | Parametric Radial Array

#1

emgeeo


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 12, 2008
322 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


I'm using Revit Structure 2009/2010.

I am attempting to create a parametric radial array- but I've had no success.  It seems that Revit does not allow you to control these radial arrays parametrically- which in my mind is absurd.

 

Am I overlooking something obviuos?  Does someone know how to achieve this?  Does someone have a family I can look at?

 


This user is offline

 

Sat, Jan 30, 2010 at 10:25:26 PM | Parametric Radial Array

#2

emgeeo


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 12, 2008
322 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


bump

This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 1, 2010 at 1:55:47 AM | Parametric Radial Array

#3

emgeeo


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 12, 2008
322 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


can anyone tell me if this is possible?

 

autodesk; i don't care about ribbons- let me control a radial array with parameters.  please!


This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 1, 2010 at 5:24:35 PM | Parametric Radial Array

#4

pdoug


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 24, 2008
87 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Can you apply the same principles to a radial array as shown for the linear array explained here...

 

http://forums.augi.com/showthread.php?t=59316

 

I haven't tried this as I haven't yet had to model anything radial yet.  I too am using RST2009/2010.  What are you trying to model?

 

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 1, 2010 at 8:45:22 PM | Parametric Radial Array

#5

emgeeo


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 12, 2008
322 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


It looks like the thread associated with the link you've posted pertains specifically to linear arrays- I am trying to create a radial array.

 

There are a few things that Revit does not allow me to do:

1.  Constrain the radial array in any manner.  I am able to snap dimensions to the array itself, and control the array angles with the dimensions.  However, if I apply a parameter to the angular dimension the constraints break.  It seems I cannot constrain the radial array by any means whatsover!  (Thanks for the ribbons autodesk- now about radial arrays...)  I have tried every means imaginable.  I've even created a line-based array hoping I could draw arcs.  No such luck- Revit does not allow arc-based line-hosted families.

2.  I cannot dimension an arc length.

 

This is very frustrating.  I don't understand why radial arrays cannot have parameters applied to them.  Autodesk...WTF?!?!?  Can't you add some sort of functionality to the radial array?  Is it that hard?  Couldn't you give it the same functionality as a revolve?  Start Angle, End Angle.  Done.  I don't like your ribbons.  Please give me content.

 

What I am building?

I'm building a radial piece of geometry with vertical supports.  Perhaps it will have five vertical members, perhaps it will have eight.  Perhaps it will have a start rotation of 15° and an end rotation of 220°.  Perhaps I don't have the ability to control radial arrays and I'll just have to do this in-project.

 

Fix the curse radial array autodesk!



Edited on: Mon, Feb 1, 2010 at 2:47:12 PM

This user is offline

 

Mon, Feb 1, 2010 at 9:48:10 PM | Parametric Radial Array

#6

pdoug


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 24, 2008
87 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


I understand you're frustrated...just trying to understand better what you're trying to do with the family you are trying to create.  I was successful at creating a family type parameter which modified the count of a radial array...but I get the feeling you're trying to do much more than that.

 

If you have time and would like to post some screens shots of what you're trying to do, I am just not seeing it from what you describe.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 14, 2011 at 7:39:23 AM | Parametric Radial Array

#7

dbartlett


active

Joined: Thu, Dec 4, 2008
2 Posts
No Rating


Can anyone point to a resolution/tutorial for this thread? I have the exact same requirement. Vertical supports on a radius array, with a variable start/end angle. Thanks Dale


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Radial array in Families

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, May 28, 2013 at 8:04:01 AM

7

Radial Array in a Family

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 12, 2005 at 1:56:12 AM

2

Change start and end heights of elements in radial array

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 20, 2016 at 12:06:49 PM

10

Radial Array in Elevation View

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, May 30, 2010 at 2:20:46 AM

0

Radial array in families

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Nov 25, 2004 at 10:30:59 AM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1756358

Objects:

22370

Forum Posts:

151876

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1126

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights