RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

204 Users Online (84 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Concrete control joints

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Dec 14, 2009 at 6:55:44 PM | Concrete control joints

#1

pionkows


active

Joined: Wed, May 27, 2009
18 Posts
4.5 Stars: 2 Votes


I am working on an exterior residential rendering and the parking area (concrete) is just too flat looking.  In actual construction it will have 10'x10' control joints and be broomed in opposite directions in each square.  For my parking area, I have a split surface with concrete material.  Is there any way to model the joints with the surface? or do I have to do all seperate floor slabs?  Any direction would be appreciated.  Thanks.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 14, 2009 at 7:03:51 PM | Concrete control joints

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


You don't say what this surface is.  Is this a flat slab or a topography sufrace.  If it is a slab, you could do a simple in-place void family that has your joints in both directions.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 14, 2009 at 7:09:01 PM | Concrete control joints

#3

TKennedy


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 7, 2009
654 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


Do you really want to model the joints? You could apply a surface patern to it using a model hatch pattern with a 10'x10' crosshatch.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 14, 2009 at 9:05:17 PM | Concrete control joints

#4

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


You can easily create a bump map for it by just drawing some lines in a Revit drafting view and doing a screenshot.  Crop it in Paint and apply it as a bump map to your concrete

Attached Images

70140_Brushed_concrete.jpg

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Dec 14, 2009 at 9:21:25 PM | Concrete control joints

#5

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


You could achieve a more subtle effect by decreasing the line spacing and making the grey lines lighter.  The attached image shows the result of using the image that I posted above (with the joint spacing at 3m, approx 10 feet).

Edited on: Mon, Dec 14, 2009 at 3:23:04 PM

Attached Images

70141_Brushed_concrete1.jpg

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Dec 14, 2009 at 9:31:11 PM | Concrete control joints

#6

pionkows


active

Joined: Wed, May 27, 2009
18 Posts
4.5 Stars: 2 Votes


That looks amazing.  Did you apply the image file to the "weathering" under custom from the out of the box cast-in-place concrete or did you do something else?  Thanks

This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 14, 2009 at 9:36:29 PM | Concrete control joints

#7

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


Under Finish, choose custom and insert the image.  Adjust the size and bump amount to suit.  I used 1 for the bump value.

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Dec 14, 2009 at 10:16:04 PM | Concrete control joints

#8

GRINHEART


active
GRINHEART Avatar

Joined: Fri, Jun 12, 2009
157 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


For rendering purpose... the easiest way to do it is by using the "Wall Reveal" under Host Sweep. Just create your void profile and place it 10 x 10 spacing on  your wall.


-----------------------------------

 "If you tell the truth, you don't have to remember anything"

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Dec 14, 2009 at 10:20:29 PM | Concrete control joints

#9

GRINHEART


active
GRINHEART Avatar

Joined: Fri, Jun 12, 2009
157 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


nvm... I thought it's for the wall. In that case use in-place family as WWhub mentioned.

-----------------------------------

 "If you tell the truth, you don't have to remember anything"

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Dec 14, 2009 at 10:35:06 PM | Concrete control joints

#10

pionkows


active

Joined: Wed, May 27, 2009
18 Posts
4.5 Stars: 2 Votes


Sorry,  I didn't specify, but this is for a topography surface since the slab will follow the grade level and not be an even slope in one direction.  Tim's suggestion seems to be working great.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 31, 2016 at 3:56:54 PM | WWHub

#11

sreed2


active

Joined: Sun, Dec 11, 2011
0 Posts
No Rating


Quoting WWHub from 2009-12-14 13:03:51

"You don't say what this surface is.  Is this a flat slab or a topography sufrace.  If it is a slab, you could do a simple in-place void family that has your joints in both directions."

You can't host a void family in nothing... to do that, make sure both the slab and the void are in the family together. I learned this the hard way after modeling a huge expanse of joints and then not being able to save the linework b/c it wasn't hosted in anything...argh. 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 31, 2016 at 6:52:27 PM | Concrete control joints

#12

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 378 Votes


Sorry - not true.  You can have hosted void families that will cut their host and they do not need to be in the family.  We use face based void families to cut holes or depressions in walls, floors, counter tops ... whatever is in the model that can be cut.  (You can't cut a piece of furniture that is really an imported 3d skip model. And there may be other elements you can't cut.)


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Control Joints in a concrete slab

Revit Structure >> Tips & Tricks

Mon, Jan 18, 2010 at 8:21:39 PM

2

Control Joints

Community >> The Studio

Mon, May 29, 2006 at 11:10:23 PM

3

Line weight control

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Nov 21, 2017 at 8:14:39 AM

5

Line Based Family For Control Joints

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 29, 2015 at 5:27:27 PM

3

Wall and floor joints

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 30, 2008 at 4:42:08 PM

13

Site Stats

Members:

1822956

Objects:

22579

Forum Posts:

152006

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2303

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights