RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

313 Users Online (164 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> AutoSave???

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Sep 9, 2009 at 2:29:51 AM | AutoSave???

#1

dnicholson


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 15, 2008
30 Posts
No Rating


Does anyone else have revit crashing often, sometimes two or three times a day, with no save as or recovery options the program just vanishes and i loose any unsaved work.I am really hoping i am missing a vital setting in revit. Because surely such an advance (and unstable) program should autosave, or at least create temp backups like AutoCAD does? i have my save reminder set to 15 mins, but this doesnt actually work, yesterday i lost an hours work..! and it was a window schedule i had to redo,,, :evil: How does everyone go about keeping their work safe,, or is nobody else crashing regurlarly?

Cheers!


This user is offline

 

Wed, Sep 9, 2009 at 11:56:39 AM | AutoSave???

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 351 Votes


I never have my system crash.... ah but I m using 2009.  You don't say what you are using... you are using ?

 

In addition, there is no way of knowing if your system meets the recommended minimums, does it?  Perhaps you should describe that.

 

 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 10, 2009 at 12:27:31 AM | AutoSave???

#3

dnicholson


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 15, 2008
30 Posts
No Rating


I am not going to go over all that again.  Ive come to terms with the fact that using revit 2010 i am going to get crashes... often.  

Its not a problem if work is saved often enough.

Just was hoping that someone out there had a way to improve this.  like an add on austosave or some setting that you could change so back ups are created.

I think its probably because on large projects saving can take a long time so it may slow things down if it autosaves.

surely such an 'advanced' program should be able to manage this better though.  even autocad works better as you can go to the temp file usually and grab a backup.  Microstation saves after every command!... no thats more like it.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 10, 2009 at 12:50:53 AM | AutoSave???

#4

qabulin


active
qabulin Avatar

Joined: Mon, Aug 25, 2008
74 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Okay,

 

Clearly your ticked about your problem and you would REALLY like to have an autosave at each command.

 

IN THE MEANTIME....

Look at your system and its requirements.  Or... maybe its time to run a cleaning program like CCleaner:

http://www.ccleaner.com/

 

There are a myriad of reasons why a program and an ISOLATED SYSTEM do not get along.

 

So I have PERSONALLY crashed my Revit (and some of you have seen the scary things I do with Revit Confused )

.... but all in all, Revit 2010 does not crash my system:

OS->     Vista Ultimate 64bitRam->  8Gb / 800Mhz Kingston RamMoBo-> ASUS M2N32-SLI Prem. Vista Ed.Proc->   AMD 3.0G X2 Video-> EVGA Geforce 8600 GT (DirectX 10)

 

Check this out before you get to the point you loathe working with the program. Sad


-----------------------------------

qab

^_^

 

Debian + VirtualBox + Revit

This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 10, 2009 at 1:03:13 AM | AutoSave???

#5

dnicholson


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 15, 2008
30 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the advice mate, however ive been through all this before.

updated graphics card and drivers.  Cleaned out the machine.

Im just on a fairly standard 32 bit machine with 2.5gb ram. and for now im stuck with it.

it seems the only people who brag on here about never crashing all have crazy amounts of ram and 64bit systems.

i cannot make that step at the moment.

all i am looking for is a way to ensure my work is saved more often.    And wondered if there was a magic way to do it automatically.

cheers.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 10, 2009 at 6:19:48 AM | AutoSave???

#6

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


My Revit 2010 occassionally crashes, but I found that it helps when I do the following.  Although I have more RAM thatn you (4gb), I am still working on a 32 bit system. 

I initiate work sharing even if I'm the only one working on a project and then save a local file onto my C drive.  Revit saves to the C drive iin about 5 - 10 seconds as opposed to over a minute when saving to the server.

I set save reminders to 30 mins and save to central as never - I do this manually when I stop for a while or when I close down, I get a reminder.

It would seem that Revit used to crash more before I did that, but I'm not sure. It now crashes about once a week or less.

 


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Sep 10, 2009 at 2:50:54 PM | AutoSave???

#7

jhayden


active
jhayden Avatar

Joined: Tue, Mar 17, 2009
32 Posts
No Rating


Before I upgraded my PC, Revit 2010 would crash constantly. After placing 4 or 5 columns it would go down. What I ended up doing was opening my task manager, go to the performance tab and keep that task manager window open at the side of my screen. When I started to reach my maximum memory, I would close revit and restart. This saved me from many crashes. Very primitive method though...

This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 11, 2009 at 12:12:21 AM | AutoSave???

#8

dnicholson


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 15, 2008
30 Posts
No Rating


both great useful tips thanks.  will give em a shot.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 21, 2017 at 7:32:35 PM | AutoSave???

#9

archigrafix


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 5, 2013
38 Posts
5 Stars: 4 Votes


We have released iSync for Revit that does autosave of changes when the session is idle. It also does auto-reload, auto-renlinquish and auto-exit. For more details and free trial please have a look on the product detail page indicated under:

https://www.archigrafix.com/isync_features


-----------------------------------

Marc Faber

BIM Solutions Developer

archigrafix.com | Oslo, Norway

Now available: Graphic Studio and Reports for Revit

trees | cars | people | graphics | software

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Apr 6, 2018 at 7:54:10 PM | AutoSave???

#10

archigrafix


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 5, 2013
38 Posts
5 Stars: 4 Votes


We have released iSync 1.5 today. This is a major release and a very stable plugin for auto relinquish/save/sync/exit for Revit.

The link to the download is here:

https://www.archigrafix.com/downloads


-----------------------------------

Marc Faber

BIM Solutions Developer

archigrafix.com | Oslo, Norway

Now available: Graphic Studio and Reports for Revit

trees | cars | people | graphics | software

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

"AutoSave" in Revit 2010? Please?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Sep 4, 2016 at 9:34:01 PM

5

Plot Order

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 3, 2012 at 3:40:18 PM

1

Render list of views

Workflow & Implementation >> API & Third Party Apps

Tue, May 20, 2014 at 6:09:06 AM

0

Things I think would improve revit

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Fri, Oct 29, 2010 at 1:32:05 PM

1

Curtain wall system,help me please!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, May 6, 2013 at 10:44:17 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1456933

Objects:

20594

Forum Posts:

150683

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.0268

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights