RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

232 Users Online (96 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Linked File, how can I dimension it?

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Sep 4, 2009 at 10:50:05 PM | Linked File, how can I dimension it?

#1

markuspirker


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 15, 2008
16 Posts
No Rating


I am working on a townhouse project and  created each unit as a linked revit file.

Now that I have put it all together

and toggled the visibility setting just the way I need it I can't get my dimensions to snap to the walls in linked files properly.

I only can snap to the core center line of the linked revit file,

but I need to be able to snap to core faces of walls in linked elements. How do I do that?


This user is offline

 

Sat, Sep 5, 2009 at 1:42:23 AM | Linked File, how can I dimension it?

#2

erland73


active
erland73 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 7, 2007
738 Posts
4.5 Stars: 85 Votes


On the Options Bar, for Prefer, select Faces of Core.

Attached Images

65781_2009-09-041931.png

-----------------------------------

 “Learning never exhausts the mind.” Leonardo Da Vinci 

 

This user is offline

 

Sat, Sep 5, 2009 at 5:15:35 AM | Linked File, how can I dimension it?

#3

markuspirker


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 15, 2008
16 Posts
No Rating


Nope, that does not work with linked files.  I tried again both in RVT2009 and RVT2010. Could it be that this is a bug?

This user is offline

 

Sat, Sep 5, 2009 at 8:05:44 AM | Linked File, how can I dimension it?

#4

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


When you select the wall, use the tab key to cycle through the faces until you get to the one that you want to dimension to.

This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Sep 5, 2009 at 5:25:56 PM | Linked File, how can I dimension it?

#5

markuspirker


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 15, 2008
16 Posts
No Rating


It's so obvious, isn't it? I should have figured it out myself Smile Thanks.

 


This user is offline

 

Sat, Sep 5, 2009 at 8:14:00 PM | Linked File, how can I dimension it?

#6

erland73


active
erland73 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 7, 2007
738 Posts
4.5 Stars: 85 Votes


"Nope, that does not work with linked files."

markuspirker: in the example I posted before, I used a linked Revit file and didn´t have any problems even without the need of selecting walls with the tab key....



Edited on: Sat, Sep 5, 2009 at 3:17:11 PM

Attached Images

65793_2009-09-051416.png

-----------------------------------

 “Learning never exhausts the mind.” Leonardo Da Vinci 

 

This user is offline

 

Sat, Sep 5, 2009 at 8:39:46 PM | Linked File, how can I dimension it?

#7

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


I could also select the faces with the linked file with faces checked.

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Dec 20, 2010 at 2:08:50 AM | Linked File, how can I dimension it?

#8

ScopeDrafting


active

Joined: Fri, May 9, 2008
13 Posts
No Rating


I Know this post is over a year old but I had the same proble. The solutions listsed above didn't work for me. I eventually found the sloution being the settings in the linked revit file. I changed the cut and view planes then could dimension no problem. 

Nathan

 


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Dimensioning across multible linked files

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 15, 2010 at 4:33:16 PM

5

Dimensioning with linked DWG files

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Nov 12, 2011 at 10:20:06 PM

0

Invalid Dimension to linked AutoCAD file.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 13, 2007 at 4:24:22 PM

2

Dimension issues when exporting to AutoCAD

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 19, 2007 at 10:51:13 PM

1

Linked Revit Topography file displayed in hidden lines in 3d view main bld file

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Jul 7, 2012 at 8:38:16 PM

9

Site Stats

Members:

1668641

Objects:

22121

Forum Posts:

151721

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.9839

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights