RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

188 Users Online (80 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> When editing materials through properties, only two show up??

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Aug 24, 2009 at 4:31:23 PM | When editing materials through properties, only two show up??

#1

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Hello there,

 In Revit 2009 when say I was editing the materials in a ceiling and I click the '...' button to access the materials menu, it would show all materials and hightlight the current material that was currently in the ceiling.

 Now in 2010, when I go to the materials menu thorugh the same method through the ceiling properties, it only comes up with 2 materials and neither one is the current material for that property?  I have to go to the drop down select <ALL> and view all the materials, and search for the material I was using.  

 My coworker does not have this problem with his 2010 Revit.  I'm stumped as how to fix this?

 

Thanks,

Lorne


-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 24, 2009 at 4:51:54 PM | When editing materials through properties, only two show up??

#2

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


Different template file with different materials loaded?

-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Aug 24, 2009 at 4:59:53 PM | When editing materials through properties, only two show up??

#3

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


I wish it were that simple.  We have the same template we use throughout the office.

 

We have all the same materials in our projects.  It's just when I go into materials through properties, it starts with only two materials and doesn't list them all.

 

 


-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 24, 2009 at 5:46:35 PM | When editing materials through properties, only two show up??

#4

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


In Options, uunder rendering, are you pointing to the same place for Render Appearance Library Location?

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Aug 24, 2009 at 7:15:06 PM | When editing materials through properties, only two show up??

#5

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 34 Votes


Forget about the properties dialog box. Take a step back. If you go straight to Manage > Materials (R2010) do you see all the materials listed / loaded there?

-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Aug 24, 2009 at 7:16:54 PM | When editing materials through properties, only two show up??

#6

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


assetlibrary_base.fbx

 

Yea it's pointing to the file above (default by Revit).  I also have another renderappearance path that is our custom one...but when I open materials by not going through an objects properties, it shows all materials.  When I go through the objects properties, only two show, until I select <ALL> in the drop down menu in materials.

 

Make sense?


-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Tue, Nov 24, 2009 at 4:03:54 PM | When editing materials through properties, only two show up??

#7

jonathanholley


active

Joined: Fri, Aug 25, 2006
7 Posts
No Rating


We've just experienced this ourselves, and it was very frustrating until we sorted out the bug. The problem is that the Material Class selector seems to default to the (alphabetically) first Filter in the list. Usually, this is <All>, which since it shows all Materials is a guarantee that the material you want to select will in fact be in the list and selectable. I'm going to wager that someone on your project created a new material frin scratch and didn't assign it a Material Class under the filter criteria, which Revit interprets as a blank, which it sorts *before* <All>. If you really want an unassigned material, you have to manually type "Unassigned" -- the blank space will throw things out of wack! To fix, go through the fo through the two materials and assign them a Material Class in the Identity tab. Once you've changed them, behavior should return to normal.

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Nov 24, 2009 at 5:02:33 PM | When editing materials through properties, only two show up??

#8

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Johnathan YES!!!

That worked...It's always so simple that I overlook and don't even think about.

 

Now we show all.  It was a simple bug that wasn't terrible to deal with...but now we don't have to deal with it thanks to you.

 

Much obliged,

Lorne


-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 13, 2012 at 8:28:52 PM | When editing materials through properties, only two show up??

#9

cyurechuk


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 14, 2012
2 Posts
No Rating


Lorne17- You rocked my world.  Thank you so much!  <3


This user is offline

 

Tue, Mar 13, 2012 at 8:38:21 PM | When editing materials through properties, only two show up??

#10

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Don't thank me, thank Johnathan. Smile


-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 14, 2012 at 5:30:06 AM | Material Class Default Problem

#11

cyurechuk


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 14, 2012
2 Posts
No Rating


Oh yes, my bad- Thank you so much Jonathanholley.  I am so happy there is internet these days.  I cannot imagine the time it saves to be able to search for problems so quickly and find solutions- A-Mazing!


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Editing materials in revit MEP 2008

Community >> Newbies

Fri, Aug 17, 2007 at 8:31:21 AM

0

Materials Management HELP!!

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Jul 26, 2011 at 3:50:31 PM

9

Rendering materials within components

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 24, 2006 at 6:49:32 PM

5

Missing Materials

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Wed, Jun 19, 2013 at 7:22:26 PM

3

Converting DWG materials to Revit Materials

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 13, 2012 at 8:50:29 AM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1654294

Objects:

22110

Forum Posts:

151692

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.8674

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights