RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

288 Users Online (127 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> Seriously Frustrated!!!

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Aug 18, 2009 at 2:22:05 PM | Seriously Frustrated!!!

#1

Crosscad


active

Joined: Tue, May 19, 2009
13 Posts
No Rating


I cannot for the life of me select my floor in any plan view!!!!!!!!!!!!  When I go to an elevation it is in the correct location and when I select it there it gives me the option to Edit the floor, which I want to do...I am trying to split the face of the floor to show to seperate finishes.  The base floor is simple concrete slad with part of the space having a polished concrete finish and the other half of the space having carpet tiles and I would love to show the two different finishes on my floor finish plan.  However, when I select to edit the floor and it takes me to the plan view it puts me in the floor sketch mode and does not allow me to edit it!  Help! Is this a catch 22????

This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 18, 2009 at 3:22:40 PM | Seriously Frustrated!!!

#2

wheelergc


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 9, 2007
62 Posts
No Rating


you need to use the split face tool. It is up by the measuring tape and paint bucket.  Once you have made the new regions you can use the paint bucket to apply a material to the floor. you could also do a new floor type of just the carpet tiles and offset it to line up where you need it.

-----------------------------------

I don't want to be interesting. I want to be good.

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Aug 18, 2009 at 3:26:09 PM | Seriously Frustrated!!!

#3

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 359 Votes


To select your floor for the split-face, you need to find the edge of the floor in a plan view.  Sometimes it helps to hide a perimeter wall so you can see the edge....

This user is offline

 

Tue, Aug 18, 2009 at 4:35:56 PM | Seriously Frustrated!!!

#4

GRINHEART


active
GRINHEART Avatar

Joined: Fri, Jun 12, 2009
157 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


"TAB" is your best friend to select the proper element.

-----------------------------------

 "If you tell the truth, you don't have to remember anything"

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Aug 18, 2009 at 5:43:37 PM | Seriously Frustrated!!!

#5

Crosscad


active

Joined: Tue, May 19, 2009
13 Posts
No Rating


TAB never works for me when trying to select a floor or ceiling...BUT hiding the exterior wall worked brillantly!!!!!!!  Why didn't I think of that?  Thank you sooooooo much!!

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Hi and frustrated in Wisconsin

Community >> Newbies

Thu, May 5, 2011 at 5:53:08 PM

2

Revit 2011 Exterior Lighting

Revit Structure >> Tips & Tricks

Tue, Nov 8, 2011 at 6:51:43 PM

0

Phase Graphic Overrides Not Working!! (very frustrated)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 7, 2009 at 2:41:12 PM

2

Dormer Problems....getting frustrated

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 14, 2008 at 9:51:10 PM

1

Roof hip with different height fascia

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Mon, Sep 9, 2013 at 7:25:27 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1512572

Objects:

21254

Forum Posts:

151239

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 20.8204

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights