RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

357 Users Online (187 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Linking cad details.

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Jul 24, 2009 at 3:12:42 PM | Linking cad details.

#1

Tony123


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 16, 2009
5 Posts
No Rating


I have a lot of pre-drawn autocad typical/standard details and linked them to my revit project.  I think I have the lineweight issue figured out, but now my problem are with my text, arrow heads, polylines and hatches. With text they don't have the correct line weight, they plot very light almost faded. My arrow heads and polylines have no thickness, my hatches, some plot some don't.

I am only one of two in my office trying to implement revit, if I can get this to work it would be greatly appreciated.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 24, 2009 at 5:21:41 PM | Linking cad details.

#2

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 364 Votes


I think most of the users are trying very hard to limit the linking of CAD files to only what is necessary.  AND detailing is so much easier in REVIT than in CAD that we are moving our details to REVIT details as fast as we can. 

 

For CAD files you want to import into a drafting detail to clean up, you should do some prep work in CAD.  But even before that, start a new project to use for your CAD cleaup that has your text and dimension styles as well as linetypes.  The following assumes you have only three line styles in your CAD file... Light - Medium - Heavy so adjust this process as appropriate.

In CAD

  1. Flaten 3D
  2. Explode all blocks and xref's
  3. Delete all hatches, polylines dimensions and leaders.
  4. WBlock to a new file only what you want.

In Revit

  1. Create a drafting detail of correct scale
  2. Import your CAD detail from the new file
  3. Explode the CAD file (THIS IS A VERY BAD THING TO DO IN YOUR PROJECT FILE - THAT IS WHY WE DO IT IN A TEMPORARY FILE)
  4. Now - CAD lines are now new Revit linestyles named according to their layers.
  5. GOTO VG and turn off everything then turn back on the main line category and thin lines.
  6. Nothing should be visible.
  7. Goto Settings/Line styles - expand the lines category and repeat the following:
  8. Start with your heavist line style in CAD.  Find that linestyle (assuming A-DTL-Heavy) and delete that sub-category.
  9. All those lines will now be Thin Lines and will be visible
  10. Select them all from your detail window and change them to your Revit Heavy Lines and they will disappear.
  11. Repeat 8 - 10 above until you have converted all and your finished with thin lines.
  12. Convert all your text and clean that up.
  13. Add leaders to text notes
  14. Add dimensions
  15. Add filled regions.
  16. Click on File/Save to Library/Save Views and Pick your Details that you have cleaned up to save into your library.
  17. You can also transfer these views directly into your project.
Good Luck

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 24, 2009 at 5:37:33 PM | Linking cad details.

#3

Tony123


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 16, 2009
5 Posts
No Rating


THANKS!!! I WILL GIVE IT A SHOT.

I WAS HOPING TO KEEP THE CAD FILES LINKED, THAT WAY SOME OF THE CAD USERS IN OUR OFFICE CAN HELP WITH MY PROJECT. EDITING THE CAD FILES AND RELOADING IN REVIT WOULD HAVE BEEN SWEET FOR THIS.

THANKS AGAIN.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Oct 12, 2009 at 11:54:52 PM | Linking cad details.

#4

emgeeo


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 12, 2008
322 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


That does not seem like an efficient system at all.  I've read through this twice, and have to ask- why explode the drawings in Revit?  Why not just import the CAD files and use the pick-line command?  That's what we've been doing and it seems quick enough.

We import the CAD file from origin to origin, overide the graphics to be a solid dark blue at half-tone, and use pick lines for lines and hatch patters.  Copy text on-screen, and delete the CAD file from the project when done.  This is of course in a standard detail revit file we've created...If we're lucky, and the CAD drawing is clean, we can tab through and select multiple lines at once.

How is this system efficient?  Are you importing 20-30 details at a time, and using the select all instances command?

We're always looking for more efficient ways to convert our std details, so if I'm missing something, please let me know.  We're four years in and still aren't finished.

Regards.



Edited on: Mon, Oct 12, 2009 at 6:56:15 PM

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

What is the best Method for moving CAD details into Revit Details?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 9, 2009 at 2:24:47 PM

1

Old Cad Typical Details

Community >> Newbies

Mon, May 6, 2013 at 8:27:41 PM

2

looking for advice/comments on linking cad files

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Apr 23, 2012 at 4:57:48 PM

1

DWG linking into revit

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Mon, Jun 9, 2014 at 12:11:38 PM

5

Linked Cad File does not show Cad Xref's

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Sep 10, 2010 at 3:13:50 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1605154

Objects:

21955

Forum Posts:

151569

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4010

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights