RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

287 Users Online (138 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Wooden Beams, beams beams.

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Jul 15, 2009 at 2:32:18 PM | Wooden Beams, beams beams.

#1

minsky


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 17, 2008
19 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


revit 2009.

 

I've been messing around with beams, going from the revit structural members to making my own extrusions.  What's the best way to do WOODEN beams (as in Timber Framing?)  The revit structural members act wierd, and only show butt connections.  I've tried to edit their families, but I noticed that they are actually sweeps, and not extrusions???   I'm trying at the moment to make a simple half-lap connection, where the lap will STAY at the end of the beam, no matter what its length is, but I can't seem to do it.  Anyone can a help me??

 Thanks.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 15, 2009 at 5:08:49 PM | Wooden Beams, beams beams.

#2

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


You could create voids to cut out the lap.  Constrain these to the end of the beam and give it parameters if they need to be adjusted.

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jul 15, 2009 at 5:13:40 PM | Wooden Beams, beams beams.

#3

minsky


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 17, 2008
19 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


ok thanks.  I thought I might be doing something wrong.  I put voids on both ends of the beam, but they are acting wierdly.  Now I just need to figure out how to constrain them to the ends.  I'm using the same size beams so until I have a better grasp of what I'm doing, they won't have to change size, just stay at the ends.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 15, 2009 at 5:20:06 PM | Wooden Beams, beams beams.

#4

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


One way is to insert a reference plane a fixed distance from the end of the beam.  Dimension it and lock the dimension.  Use the align tool to align the voids with the reference plane and lock it when the padlock appears.

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Beams and column joins, can I turn them ofF?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jun 3, 2008 at 1:17:31 AM

2

Floor Joists

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 28, 2008 at 4:34:33 PM

1

Beams

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Nov 15, 2005 at 9:41:26 PM

2

Beams not showing up in revit Architecture 2015

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Sep 16, 2014 at 6:44:15 PM

7

Beams that are copied are invisible, while beams placed can be seen??

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Jan 20, 2007 at 3:53:43 PM

5

Site Stats

Members:

1529480

Objects:

21317

Forum Posts:

151309

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1339

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights