RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

232 Users Online (92 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Revit 2010 Dwg. Import problem

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Jun 1, 2009 at 7:00:40 AM | Revit 2010 Dwg. Import problem

#1

Fluffyfatcat


active

Joined: Thu, Mar 16, 2006
50 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


I wonder if someone have similar problem importing Cad drawing.

I have Land Survey in Cad with 3d points, it fails to import to Revit 2010-have a message that REVIT can't import, because it will create Revit model that is larger than 2 miles accross...etc etc.

I have tied to import few different projects surveys and none of my sites are larger than 2 miles. I have no problem with importing them in Revit 2009-the message is  that some numerical data is trancated and it imports without a problem.

I tried to delete all my layers in cad xcept levels and import-no luck, I moved UCS as a surveyer's dwg was to MGA grid  0,0,0 -no luck, I can't think of anything else. Is there a bug?

Thanks


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Jun 1, 2009 at 10:14:27 AM | Revit 2010 Dwg. Import problem

#2

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


There have been a few threads on this subject.  Try the following:

Reduce the physical size of the CAD drawing to that required for the site - zoom into the drawing to ensure that there are no objects far from the origin.

Move the UCS to the centre of the drawing.  It would appear that you only need this for the toposurface, so you won't need to co-ordinate it with the cad drawing.


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jun 2, 2009 at 4:37:48 AM | Revit 2010 Dwg. Import problem

#3

Fluffyfatcat


active

Joined: Thu, Mar 16, 2006
50 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


thanks Tim

Tried all suggested above earlier same result, unfortunately I can't move UCS to the center as i use few cad drawings attached with origin point usually datum or corner of the site. So at the moment i am importing my Cad drawings into 2009 to build topo...not good enough....also find the transition to a new interface painful (just a whimper..)


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jun 2, 2009 at 11:01:48 PM | Revit 2010 Dwg. Import problem

#4

mbsteve


active
mbsteve Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 22, 2006
759 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


Is the surveyor's drawing really in inches which Revit sees as feet.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jun 3, 2009 at 11:36:54 PM | Revit 2010 Dwg. Import problem

#5

Fluffyfatcat


active

Joined: Thu, Mar 16, 2006
50 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Surveyors drawing comes in meters, I scaled it up x1000 to convert it in mm. and set units to millimeters

so it was imported in mm. (I tried both automatic unit detection and mm. setting in Revit). Actually I managed to import one Survey when I deleted Cad layer with Cad 3D triangulations, it did not help other Surveys though. I tried to W-block Cad Survey, trying to get rid of junk it may have, but no success.


This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jun 4, 2009 at 3:19:47 PM | Revit 2010 Dwg. Import problem

#6

mbsteve


active
mbsteve Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 22, 2006
759 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


when I import the entire drawing, but when a use make topo surface I only want the contour line usually major and minor.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jun 4, 2009 at 3:24:35 PM | Revit 2010 Dwg. Import problem

#7

mbsteve


active
mbsteve Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 22, 2006
759 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


the major and minor contour lines should be selectable boxes during the create toposurface from Imported 3D data, when the dialog box opens I select only the major and minor contour lines.

Hope this helps,

Steve


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 2, 2010 at 5:53:21 AM | Revit 2010 Dwg. Import problem

#8

mudan


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 14, 2009
18 Posts
No Rating


i have a problem that when i import the dwg. its sit on top of my building even though i select the ground level threrefore when i create my topsurface by using import file its all 9m plum above. anyone can help me please.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Sep 2, 2010 at 6:16:20 AM | mudan

#9

Fluffyfatcat


active

Joined: Thu, Mar 16, 2006
50 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Quoting mudan from 2010-09-02 00:53:21

"

i have a problem that when i import the dwg. its sit on top of my building even though i select the ground level threrefore when i create my topsurface by using import file its all 9m plum above. anyone can help me please.

"
When you import your Acad drg make sure that you have plan open at Datum (site level) @ 0.00 level, so if your Cad contours elevated, say 9m. above datum it'll place your topo at the right level or you can move your topo down (if it's already imported and modeled) to the right level relative to your floor level (you do it in elevation view) I hope I understood your Question correctly cheers

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Sep 2, 2010 at 6:52:03 AM | Revit 2010 Dwg. Import problem

#10

mudan


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 14, 2009
18 Posts
No Rating


thanks alot! didnt think i will get a reply that quick. i will have a try cheers

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Import DWG problem with size

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Dec 7, 2010 at 1:33:32 AM

2

Can't import dwg or dxf to RS2008

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, May 31, 2007 at 3:36:07 AM

1

Import 3D .dwg model in Revit Architecture 2012

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Oct 9, 2012 at 11:39:39 PM

5

.dwg import problem

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Sep 6, 2011 at 12:48:54 PM

4

import dwg to revit but cant underlay

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Apr 26, 2009 at 10:24:18 AM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1652026

Objects:

22102

Forum Posts:

151693

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 10.2062

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights