RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

213 Users Online (98 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Concrete Slab Edge Angles

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Apr 28, 2009 at 1:37:33 PM | Concrete Slab Edge Angles

#1

TeamNga


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 24, 2009
46 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Hello everybody.

Does anybody know how I could add pour stop angles to my concrete slabs? I would like for my pour stop angle to be part of the slab, to be able to see it, tag it, and dimension how far off it is from the grid line when cutting a section. I was able to create steel deck and add it to my slab but not my angles. I created a slab edge profile but I get the "One element is completely inside another" warning. My angle is there but I can't see it or join it to the slab. Does anybody know a solution to my problem?

Thank you.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Apr 28, 2009 at 1:46:11 PM | Concrete Slab Edge Angles

#2

travistlo


active

Joined: Tue, Nov 20, 2007
64 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Create your angle like you did. You might still get the error that one object is completly inside of another. Once created move your angle outside of the slab. You will get a warning that asks you to unjoin geometry. Then move your angle back to position. This will give you an overlap of hatching, but atleast you can see your angle.

-----------------------------------
Chatting it up on gmail - travistlo.j@gmail.com

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Apr 29, 2009 at 8:51:30 PM | Concrete Slab Edge Angles

#3

TeamNga


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 24, 2009
46 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


 

Thanks but I am not looking to unjoin my angle from the slab. That would be last resort for me. I would like to have my angle be part of the slab just like the steel deck does. Is it possible to do that? If so, how?

Thanks.


This user is offline

 

Tue, May 5, 2009 at 3:35:00 AM | Concrete Slab Edge Angles

#4

emgeeo


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 12, 2008
322 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Use a sweep.  You can do an in-place sketch, or you can create profiles based on what you need.  But, a sweep will work perfectly- just about.  Do you know how to do this?


This user is offline

 

Fri, May 8, 2009 at 2:07:25 PM | Concrete Slab Edge Angles

#5

TeamNga


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 24, 2009
46 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


When you say a profile based on what I need, do you mean creating a new profile using the Profile-Hosted template? I've never used that but I will give it a try.

Thanks.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 5, 2011 at 2:32:04 PM | Concrete Slab Edge Angles

#6

seniorcad143


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 2, 2009
140 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


emgeeo - how do you do this in-place sweep for the slab edge?


-----------------------------------

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 5, 2011 at 3:17:49 PM | Concrete Slab Edge Angles

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 368 Votes


Just follow the method described in the HELP:> Creating a Sweep


This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 5, 2011 at 3:26:31 PM | Concrete Slab Edge Angles

#8

seniorcad143


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 2, 2009
140 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


wwhub - is this the easiest and best way in putting in edge angles?

 

I just posted another question similar to this one.


-----------------------------------

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 5, 2011 at 3:29:23 PM | Concrete Slab Edge Angles

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 368 Votes


Maybe not.... If the slab is flat, I would use a face based family.  That would be much easier.  Create it so that it is adjustable in length.


This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 5, 2011 at 4:22:30 PM | Concrete Slab Edge Angles

#10

seniorcad143


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 2, 2009
140 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


I will have to look up face based family and how to do it for my second floor, it is flat. -  so on my sloping roof I will need to create a sweep, even though revit had a angle in their library?

 

I am new to revit and I am still trying to figure out what to model, how to model it or what not to model and just place in section and then how to do that.


-----------------------------------

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 5, 2011 at 4:35:13 PM | Concrete Slab Edge Angles

#11

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 368 Votes


Actually - the faced based should work for the slope too. 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Dec 5, 2011 at 4:49:32 PM | Concrete Slab Edge Angles

#12

seniorcad143


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 2, 2009
140 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


ok - let me try this and I will let you know how it goes.


-----------------------------------

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 7, 2011 at 4:29:22 PM | Concrete Slab Edge Angles

#13

seniorcad143


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 2, 2009
140 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


ok - so I tried this face base family - actually it is the slab edge modified.

1.  How can I have two cut patterns in one detail?  One for the concrete and one for the bent plate.

2.  I do not know how to pick it once I load it into my project - it is not showing up under the slab edge type in the properties box.  (image 2)

 

A image of the family is attached.  (image 1)



Attached Images

100453_slab_edge.jpg100453_slab_edge_-2.jpg

-----------------------------------

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

This user is offline

 

Wed, Dec 7, 2011 at 6:35:24 PM | Concrete Slab Edge Angles

#14

seniorcad143


active

Joined: Fri, Oct 2, 2009
140 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Please look at the above questions and then look at this one.

 

I tried the in place component (for my edge angle) with a thickened slab egde already placed.  (image below)

Questions:  I would like to change the OTB edge slab profile (I don't want the 45 degree slant) but I load it but it doesn't want to show up in the type editor.

I don't want the deck to show up going thru the thickend part.  Is there any way to sop it short?



Attached Images

100464_slab_edge_-3.jpg

-----------------------------------

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

Yeesh - Where is My Cad

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Slab Edge with multiple layers

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Feb 8, 2011 at 1:54:37 PM

7

"Could not create Slab Edge"

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Tue, Feb 17, 2009 at 7:40:42 PM

2

RC upstand on the edge of an RC slab

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Jul 14, 2011 at 4:04:56 PM

1

Revit 2010 Slab Edge Trouble

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 15, 2010 at 2:54:39 PM

7

slab thickening below hardcore

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 12, 2011 at 11:26:21 AM

6

Site Stats

Members:

1623963

Objects:

22014

Forum Posts:

151625

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 10.7153

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights