RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

212 Users Online (111 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Problems with OpenGL

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Jul 7, 2005 at 12:03:16 AM | Problems with OpenGL

#1

SCOTTY V


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 13, 2004
26 Posts
No Rating


I was just wanting to know if anybody else is experiencing problems with activating OpenGL on their systems. All my hardware is up to date, yet the model stil runs slow, when I go to sketch a floor the pink skectch lines only apear when I move around the model, and they only flicker on and off while I move. Has anybody else had this problem?? I am using GeForce 6600 and have used also a Raedon 9600 Series. Thanks

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jul 7, 2005 at 6:59:38 AM | RE: Problems with OpenGL

#2

eldados


site moderator|||
eldados Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 14, 2005
777 Posts
4.5 Stars: 8 Votes


try to tick "use overlay planes..." you will have to restart Revit for it to take effect... I still think OpenGL support is crap in Revit!

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jul 7, 2005 at 9:56:04 AM | RE: Problems with OpenGL

#3

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 92 Votes


its more a matter of finding the right drivers for your video card that behave with revit. I've used a Radeon 9800XT, x850XT and Nvidia FX5600GT Ultra and all have worked fine. I guess its a matter of trial and error but the latest drivers is always a good start.

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jul 7, 2005 at 7:26:56 PM | RE: Problems with OpenGL

#4

pepsiqueen


active
pepsiqueen Avatar

Joined: Thu, Feb 17, 2005
136 Posts
No Rating


when i have open GL hardware acceleration check on, revit constantly crashes. with it off, it takes a long time to manipulate shadows . 3d views, and renderings.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 8, 2005 at 12:32:11 PM | RE: Problems with OpenGL

#5

Boarch


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 24, 2004
17 Posts
No Rating


Hi. Have just bought to new PCís (Dell Precision 370. 3.4GHz, 2 GB RAM, Win XP Professional), one with an expensive Nvidia Quadro FX 1400, 128MB RAM card and one with ATI FireGL V3100, 128MB. Activating OpenGL in Revit 8 gives me absolute nothing in speed gain. I se no different in 3D speed what so ever, and the pc with the Nvidia card isnít any faster so it was just waste of money. I have played with all the different OpenGL settings in Revit and in the graphics card driver with no luck. I use the latest graphics drivers in both cards. We also have ArchiCAD 8.1 in the office (but we are converting to Revit now :-) ) and if you activate or deactivate OpenGL here, it is like day and night! So this believes me to think that this OpenGL thing in Revit is just a silly joke and that ArchiCAD, when it comes to 3D speed, is 100 times better than Revit! :-(

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jul 8, 2005 at 1:46:21 PM | RE: Problems with OpenGL

#6

SCOTTY V


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 13, 2004
26 Posts
No Rating


I updated the drivers and ticked both of the boxes in the graphics tab in settings now it seems to run better. Basically the test being how much of the model disappears when I spin it around. With the old card: floors would be about the only thing that would be visible New card with open GL activated: I only lose a balustrade or two The disappearing sketch line trick is now a thing of the past.

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jul 8, 2005 at 6:19:20 PM | RE: Problems with OpenGL

#7

Xane


active

Joined: Tue, Feb 15, 2005
90 Posts
No Rating


I had same situation, when I bought 6600GT with driver 66.xx revit crashed but now (few mounts after ...) with 77.xx everything is fine but I don't use it just in case ...

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 11, 2005 at 12:01:45 PM | RE: Problems with OpenGL

#8

eldados


site moderator|||
eldados Avatar

Joined: Mon, Mar 14, 2005
777 Posts
4.5 Stars: 8 Votes


Boarch, I fully agree with you, even though a few weeks ago we had a seminar here in Brisbane with some high up people from Revit, after it was finished I asked one of the guys about opengl and was told it is fully supported! it might be that Revit can't take advantage of opengl, I got a $1000 card in my machine that does nothing! just a waste...

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Revit and OpenGL

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Mar 5, 2005 at 5:06:57 PM

2

OPENGL and ERRORS in VISTA

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 25, 2007 at 10:46:18 PM

4

OpenGL

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Fri, Jun 27, 2008 at 8:18:57 PM

2

Vista OpenGL crashing

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Mar 20, 2007 at 8:57:34 PM

1

Open GL & Graphics Card

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 10, 2006 at 12:17:44 AM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1758815

Objects:

22373

Forum Posts:

151875

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2333

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights