RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

263 Users Online (135 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Lighting fixture not showing ANY light

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Wed, Apr 8, 2009 at 10:12:25 PM | Lighting fixture not showing ANY light

#1

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Hello there,

 

Could someone take a look and see why this light fixture isn't working properly?  When I render there is only a hotspot light coming from the fixture.  No matter how long I set the line of light to be??

 The attached images shows (in very low quality) a bunch of these 4' light fixtures next to each other...and all hotspots Sad

Any ideas/suggestions would be very helpful.

Thanks,

Lorne

 



Attached Images

56676_Light_Hotspot.jpg

Attached Files

-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 9, 2009 at 7:31:15 AM | Lighting fixture not showing ANY light

#2

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


You can set the length that the light emits from - see image.

Attached Images

56693_Light_length.jpg

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Apr 9, 2009 at 2:22:41 PM | Lighting fixture not showing ANY light

#3

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


See attached.

The first is my properties screen shot.  The second is the light fixture rendered.  And the light fixture family is attached above.  The fixture is 4'-0" long and still shows up as a hotspot?

 

Thanks,

Lorne

 

 



Attached Images

56712_Hot_Spots.jpg56712_Screen_shot.JPG

-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Thu, Apr 9, 2009 at 2:50:59 PM | Lighting fixture not showing ANY light

#4

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


I'm not sure - are you sure it's the same light?  The top light in the image is your light with the 'emit from line length' set to 1200mm and the lower is 300mm.

Attached Images

56714_Long_lights.jpg

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Apr 9, 2009 at 3:50:37 PM | Lighting fixture not showing ANY light

#5

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Here's my rendering, family used.

 

Also, take a look at the Revit file, that is attached to compare the properties with your file.

 

Thanks for the help,

Lorne



Edited on: Thu, Apr 9, 2009 at 12:23:33 PM

-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 10, 2009 at 3:43:35 PM | Lighting fixture not showing ANY light

#6

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


I hate to bump this, but I am REALLY trying to get this rednering done and still cant' get rid of these hotspots!

 

Thanks,

Lorne


-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 10, 2009 at 5:09:52 PM | Lighting fixture not showing ANY light

#7

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 346 Votes


You have a 4' fixture but only a 2' light source.

In addition, your light source seems to be in the wrong place

Edited on: Fri, Apr 10, 2009 at 12:14:06 PM

Edited on: Fri, Apr 10, 2009 at 12:15:38 PM

Attached Images

56841_AAA-01_2009-04-10_13.06.jpg

This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 10, 2009 at 5:16:25 PM | Lighting fixture not showing ANY light

#8

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 346 Votes


Light source

Attached Images

56844_AAA-02_2009-04-10_13.12.jpg

This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 10, 2009 at 5:30:55 PM | WWHub

#9

lorne17


active
lorne17 Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 29, 2007
417 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Quoting WWHub from 2009-04-10 12:09:52"

You have a 4' fixture but only a 2' light source.

In addition, your light source seems to be in the wrong place

Edited on: Fri, Apr 10, 2009 at 12:14:06 PMEdited on: Fri, Apr 10, 2009 at 12:15:38 PM"

 

WWHub,

 

Thanks for responding.  The Family 'Emit from line length' is 2'-0" in the family.  I still havne't changed that in the actual family.  But the top light 'Emit from line length' is set to 4'-0" in the rendering project (see picture I posted above).

 

As far as the light source axis in the family.  It may say the axis is in one place but the light source it self is located correctly.  I can change that axis, I was unaware that was mis-located.

 


-----------------------------------

AutoDesk Revit Certified Professional

Denver, CO

Revit Architecture

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

lighting fixture basic?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Oct 16, 2011 at 1:00:31 PM

9

lighting fixture family

Community >> The Studio

Tue, Jan 11, 2005 at 9:44:52 PM

1

Lighting Fixture

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 8, 2008 at 1:33:08 PM

0

Linear lighting fixture

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 2, 2009 at 7:32:08 AM

3

Creating custom lighting fixtures (What creates the light?)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Nov 4, 2007 at 7:51:57 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1418546

Objects:

20399

Forum Posts:

150463

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3506

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights