RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

245 Users Online (135 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Maintaining interior dimensions when changing walls

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Mar 13, 2009 at 9:51:34 PM | Maintaining interior dimensions when changing walls

#1

Needwiz


active
Needwiz Avatar

Joined: Sat, Aug 25, 2007
50 Posts
No Rating


I have a room whith the following dimensions 12'x11' the exterior wall thickness is 5", ater I change the exterior wall to a with 7" thick wall my interior dimensions become smaller, see screen shots. How can I make the walls to streched to the outside instead of the inside?



Attached Images

55070_Swaping_Walls_1.JPG55070_Swaping_Walls_2.JPG

This user is offline

 

Fri, Mar 13, 2009 at 10:11:48 PM | Maintaining interior dimensions when changing walls

#2

wheelergc


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 9, 2007
62 Posts
No Rating


I think it depends on how the wall is drawn.  If you draw it by exterior face it uses that as the base, if you do it by interior it uses that as the base.  I think give it a try and see if that helps but if you pick the wall you should be able to change the dimension by typing it in.


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Mar 13, 2009 at 10:23:39 PM | Maintaining interior dimensions when changing walls

#3

Needwiz


active
Needwiz Avatar

Joined: Sat, Aug 25, 2007
50 Posts
No Rating


Thanks Wheelergc, oh man I have to this one by one because I have more rooms in the project. bommer.

I actually drew a square 10'x10' with loc line finish face exterior and still shrunk the room 9'8"x9'8". Thanks for the suggestions. Let me know if you can figure this out.



Edited on: Fri, Mar 13, 2009 at 5:33:22 PM

This user is offline

 

Sat, Mar 14, 2009 at 8:11:24 AM | Maintaining interior dimensions when changing walls

#4

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


You can change the location line of the wall type in the element properties to be interior and readjust their positions.  You don't have to redraw the walls.

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Mar 16, 2009 at 4:19:25 PM | Maintaining interior dimensions when changing walls

#5

Needwiz


active
Needwiz Avatar

Joined: Sat, Aug 25, 2007
50 Posts
No Rating


Thanks tim123,

That did it.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Changing Dimensions

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 7, 2011 at 3:02:52 PM

7

Aligned dimensions for centering curtain wall door

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Dec 23, 2011 at 12:26:40 PM

4

Adding Dimensions to new walls in the "New" phase

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Sat, Apr 6, 2013 at 1:09:19 PM

8

Changing dimensions

Community >> Newbies

Tue, Dec 22, 2015 at 11:05:09 AM

4

Changing wall thickness issue

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 12, 2006 at 4:07:14 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1418546

Objects:

20399

Forum Posts:

150463

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.6673

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights