RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

194 Users Online (51 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Technical Support >> Moving/relocating connected systems

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Feb 24, 2009 at 9:21:33 PM | Moving/relocating connected systems

#1

corymac82


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 27, 2006
23 Posts
No Rating


When i want to select connected mech. equip, pipes, ducts, etc. and move everything together a few feet in one direction, Revit will not agree to the move.  There are a couple of reasons, one being that face based or hosted objects can only move around on the associated plane.  If the direction I want to move is counter to the plane, unconstraining the object does not solve the problem. 

Question: Is there a better way to relocate connected systems without: (1)disconnecting everything, (2) moving small portions at a time in order to find the culprit, then having to re-model that component after everythign else is moved,(3) suffering the loss of components that can't be moved, (4) unhosting components, moving hosts, then re-hosting, etc?

It is frustrating to be 95% complete on a project, only to get a minor change from the architect that causes me an hour or more of work, when it should only take a couple minutes.

 


This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 24, 2009 at 11:43:30 PM | Moving/relocating connected systems

#2

qthdad


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 10, 2007
64 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


If you are talking about moving a wall hosted object in a direction perpendicular to the wall, I don't see how you can, since this would disrupt the integrity of the model. You would need to rehost those individually.

If the Architect has moved the wall by replacing the wall with a new wall, and now you have to move and rehost your objects, then you need to have a serious talk with the architect about NOT deleting host objects unless it is being deleted without replacement. If he simply moves the wall, the hosted objects such as wall outlets should move automatically.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 25, 2009 at 12:05:41 AM | Moving/relocating connected systems

#3

corymac82


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 27, 2006
23 Posts
No Rating


The situation is a bit different than what you're describing, although we have certainly experienced the frustration of the Arch deleting our hosts and re-creating them.  They know better than to do that now...

It's like this: The arch moves a wall or a room.  By consequece, we have to move mech equip, pipes, ducts, etc. to miss the wall.  Since everything is connected, some things hosted and constrained to specific dimensions, and all is modeled in three dimensions... some objects can only move in certain directions.  How do we accomplish this without undoing and redoing hours of work?


This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 25, 2009 at 12:13:33 AM | Moving/relocating connected systems

#4

qthdad


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 10, 2007
64 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


Unfortunately, we haven't found a way to do it "quickly". Certainly not as easy as the Architects can move a wall. But coordination-wise, I think it is still faster than doing it in 2D, where you have to update floor plans, elevations, enlarged plans, sections, etc.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 25, 2009 at 2:36:39 PM | Moving/relocating connected systems

#5

corymac82


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 27, 2006
23 Posts
No Rating


True that.  Thanks.

If anyone figures out a "best practices" for this kind of situation, please share.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Feb 26, 2009 at 4:16:45 AM | Moving/relocating connected systems

#6

qthdad


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 10, 2007
64 Posts
5 Stars: 2 Votes


We actually was experimenting with the possibly of adding a design option to our building today. As part of the experiment, we deleted a wall and shifted another wall in to take its place. In essence, we shortened the building. After saving the architectural changes, we proceeded to the MEP model which linked in the architectural model and tried to make adjustments there. Initially, it appeared that because we had MEP objects hosted to the walls with varying face direction, it was impossible to move everything at once. That is, until we clicked the Disjoin checkbox and presto, all the MEP objects were free to move about and if moved into a position on a new wall, automatically rehosted to that new wall.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Dealing with plumbing systems

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 31, 2012 at 10:27:33 PM

2

Pipe systems getting cross connected

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Dec 21, 2020 at 1:39:25 PM

0

HVAC Systems

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 16, 2009 at 12:03:08 PM

3

Copy Plans

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, May 11, 2015 at 3:30:02 PM

0

Mono systems raceway

Community >> Newbies

Mon, Aug 22, 2011 at 7:14:24 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1668168

Objects:

22121

Forum Posts:

151721

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.1018

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights