RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

402 Users Online (196 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Water Trick

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Tue, Feb 17, 2009 at 8:36:40 PM | Water Trick

#1

jdivina


active

Joined: Fri, Sep 12, 2008
59 Posts
No Rating


Hi

right now im using the ceiling tool as my water. giving it water properties.  but it is only as thick as the ceiling.  I was wondering if there was another way i can put water in my pool so it will have a mass that goes to the bottom of the pool even tho there are different levels in the pool.  Which also i don't really want to use the massing tool becausei would have to do a bunch of masses (well i think unless anybody knows any other way to do those)

 

well if u got ideas please let me know

 

thanks


-----------------------------------
JD

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Feb 17, 2009 at 8:49:05 PM | Water Trick

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 198 Votes


Well if you don't want to use the massing use the "Floor" and give the thickness you want with the right texture and parameters (reflection, transparency, color....) it will be great...

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Tue, Feb 17, 2009 at 8:57:15 PM | Water Trick

#3

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


I'm not sure why you would want to do this.  I create a thin floor type with water properties which gives the impression of water all the way to the bottom in 3d views.  If it is for a section then a filled region may be easier than modeling it.

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Feb 17, 2009 at 8:58:29 PM | Water Trick

#4

jdivina


active

Joined: Fri, Sep 12, 2008
59 Posts
No Rating


oh because i need like a rendered section. don't really want to cut through the pool and it looks like its missing the water underneath.

 

thats all


-----------------------------------
JD

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Feb 17, 2009 at 8:59:49 PM | Water Trick

#5

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


See image.

Attached Images

53321_View_of_pool1.jpg

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Feb 17, 2009 at 9:01:02 PM | Water Trick

#6

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


If its for a rendered section then you will need to model it.

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Feb 17, 2009 at 9:03:53 PM | Water Trick

#7

jdivina


active

Joined: Fri, Sep 12, 2008
59 Posts
No Rating


nice render

u made the water look really good

 

 


-----------------------------------
JD

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Feb 18, 2009 at 2:03:59 AM | Water Trick

#8

erland73


active
erland73 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 7, 2007
738 Posts
4.5 Stars: 85 Votes


Hi jdivina, I agree with Typhoon and tim123 about using a floor as your water surface so you'll be able to change its thickness whenever you want for your section....I did it that way in my model (see image), and worked perfectly....

Attached Images

53342_Vista_1.jpg

-----------------------------------

 “Learning never exhausts the mind.” Leonardo Da Vinci 

 

This user is offline

 

Wed, Feb 18, 2009 at 5:04:21 PM | Water Trick

#9

jdivina


active

Joined: Fri, Sep 12, 2008
59 Posts
No Rating


Ok thanks guys

i will use the floor tool for sure


-----------------------------------
JD

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Apr 6, 2011 at 8:26:53 PM | Water Trick

#10

manofskill


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 12, 2010
7 Posts
No Rating


I like this trick!

Anybody know how to make the water transparent so I can see through it when I render?  In the example picture, I would like to be able to see the bottom part of the column that extends into the water and not just it's reflection on the surface.

 



Attached Images

90546_german_pavillion_01.jpg

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 6, 2011 at 8:53:36 PM | Water Trick

#11

manofskill


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 12, 2010
7 Posts
No Rating


Actually, I've been looking at my renders and now I am wondering if it is actually doing what I want it to do.  It is very hard to see and be able to tell.

Here is another render, is the water transparent?



Attached Images

90547_german_pavillion_02.jpg

This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 6, 2011 at 10:47:45 PM | Water Trick

#12

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 14 Votes


well... if you use the massing tools to build the pool itself, you could then copy the mass' family, open it up, switch all the geometry to void forms, and use those voids to cut a mass you make as the water.  superimpose the two families, and now they're seamless as pool, and pool water.


This user is offline

 

Wed, Apr 6, 2011 at 11:11:43 PM | Water Trick

#13

itsmyalterego


active
itsmyalterego Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 29, 2009
829 Posts
4 Stars: 14 Votes


proof of concept for the above idea.  Oooo, the deep blue. 



Attached Images

90553_pool.jpg

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 23, 2012 at 10:56:30 PM | Water Trick

#14

RainaMc


active
RainaMc Avatar

Joined: Mon, Sep 8, 2008
126 Posts
No Rating


Tim123 or erland73,

 

I am working in 2011 and rendering water.  However my swimming pool water looks no where near as good as what you have posted.  I keep changing settings but looks pretty bad no matter what.  See attached.  What settings do you use to make it look so good?

 

Thanks in advance

 



Attached Images

102058_DUNCAN_POOL_1-23-12.jpg

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 23, 2012 at 11:29:02 PM | Water Trick

#15

4thAngel


active
4thAngel Avatar

Joined: Fri, May 8, 2009
13 Posts
No Rating


Some nice H2O up in here.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

modeling body of water (2017)

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Mar 3, 2017 at 4:19:37 PM

1

Pool Water Green in Rendering

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Feb 16, 2012 at 7:17:13 PM

6

Water / Site - Water material problems

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Mar 31, 2014 at 3:37:00 PM

2

Domestic Hot water - No flow

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Fri, Dec 11, 2009 at 9:50:05 PM

1

Squatting Water Closet

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 7, 2011 at 5:31:34 PM

5

Site Stats

Members:

1511580

Objects:

21248

Forum Posts:

151238

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 3.7094

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights