RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

167 Users Online (67 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Tips & Tricks >> PASTING IN THE SAME PLACE w/Ctrl+C_Ctrl+V

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Jan 27, 2009 at 9:27:58 PM | PASTING IN THE SAME PLACE w/Ctrl+C_Ctrl+V

#1

RevitComponents


active
RevitComponents Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jun 23, 2008
42 Posts
4 Stars: 22 Votes


Draw >>

When I desire to copy something in the same place_ I do...

**Make sure that I am copying the selection in the same view that I want to paste

  1. Select object(s)
  2. <Ctrl+C>
  3. <Ctrl+V>
  4. <0> (zero)
  5. <enter/return>

 VIOLA Smile

 How about you?

Edited on: Tue, Jan 27, 2009 at 3:30:45 PM

Edited on: Tue, Jan 27, 2009 at 3:31:33 PM

-----------------------------------

P A R A M E T R I C components

http://www.parametriccomponents.com [open source Revit Content]

http://www.revitcomponents.blogspot.com [blogging for Revit Components]

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jan 28, 2009 at 1:07:28 AM | PASTING IN THE SAME PLACE w/Ctrl+C_Ctrl+V

#2

Sven


active

Joined: Mon, May 28, 2007
40 Posts
4.5 Stars: 2 Votes


Great tip! These sweert shortcuts are like looking in the back of the fridge to find some beer you forgot you bought - score!

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jan 29, 2009 at 2:32:23 AM | PASTING IN THE SAME PLACE w/Ctrl+C_Ctrl+V

#3

emgeeo


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 12, 2008
322 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


I was having a bad day until...

 

thanks!


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jan 30, 2009 at 3:07:51 PM | PASTING IN THE SAME PLACE w/Ctrl+C_Ctrl+V

#4

JRMello


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 12, 2008
98 Posts
No Rating


Okay, cool. But my issue is why didn't they make this work when pasting to another view? What do you guys use it for if you're pasting the same thing in the same spot in the same view? Hm.

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jan 30, 2009 at 4:29:15 PM | PASTING IN THE SAME PLACE w/Ctrl+C_Ctrl+V

#5

RevitComponents


active
RevitComponents Avatar

Joined: Mon, Jun 23, 2008
42 Posts
4 Stars: 22 Votes


Yes__A 'paste in the same place' is desired to do various tasks:

LINEWORK_

  1. Extrusion_for drawing identical linework on different reference planes/lines.
  2. Blend_my fav, match the base linework with the top; viceversa... mathing one blend form with the another.
  3. Sweep_same paths... same profiles, different reference planes.

OBJECTS_

  1. Sometimes you want to copy something and attach it to another Reference Plane, and in order to do so you either remove the "Contstrants" or "Disjoin" >>but if you 'copy in same place' by using the "Zero" technique you can then alter the referencing plane without having to remove certain parametric properties i.e. having to re-draw the object to behave accordingly.
  2. To Reference other objects in space.
  3. Smile

-----------------------------------

P A R A M E T R I C components

http://www.parametriccomponents.com [open source Revit Content]

http://www.revitcomponents.blogspot.com [blogging for Revit Components]

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jan 30, 2009 at 6:37:29 PM | PASTING IN THE SAME PLACE w/Ctrl+C_Ctrl+V

#6

JRMello


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 12, 2008
98 Posts
No Rating


Ok, I feel a bit enlightened. Good examples. I'm going to make "work plane, work plane, work plane" my mantra.

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jan 7, 2010 at 5:02:05 PM | PASTING IN THE SAME PLACE w/Ctrl+C_Ctrl+V

#7

pdoug


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 24, 2008
87 Posts
1 Stars: 1 Votes


Is there a quick way to paste in the same place from one view to another?  This tip only works in the same view - as noted.  Thanks-

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 7, 2010 at 6:13:46 PM | PASTING IN THE SAME PLACE w/Ctrl+C_Ctrl+V

#8

TKennedy


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 7, 2009
654 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


Yes you can paste to the same place in a different view. <Ctrl+C> to copy to the clipboard, then open the view you want to paste into and use the Paste Aligned|Current View tool (I set the shortcut to be PS). In 2010 it's on the Modify tab, Clipboard panel. I forget where it is in '09.

The Paste Aligned|Select Views/Levels tool is also very handy when you need the same thing in a number of different views.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 7, 2010 at 6:42:47 PM | PASTING IN THE SAME PLACE w/Ctrl+C_Ctrl+V

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 346 Votes


I would like to add that you can use the ctrl c / ctrl v in places where the right click copy/paste is not available.    For instance values in family parameters - formulas ...pasting text in the middle or anywhere in a text note.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 23, 2015 at 5:01:04 PM | PASTING IN THE SAME PLACE w/Ctrl+C_Ctrl+V

#10

markheaviland


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 16, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


Thank you for this information.  I just added my keyboard shortcut (view panel / user interface / keyboard shortcuts) for "paste aligned to current veiw" as ctrl + shift + alt + V.  So awesome!


This user is offline

 

Sat, Feb 13, 2016 at 6:25:57 AM | PASTING IN THE SAME PLACE w/Ctrl+C_Ctrl+V

#11

simon1688


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 7, 2015
0 Posts
No Rating


Here is a work around group the items you want to copy and paste go to the view you want to paste in, the preview will come up move your cursor over the preview and now you can snap to exact same preview spot.

 



Edited on: Sat, Mar 5, 2016 at 3:39:02 AM

-----------------------------------

Revit 2014 user

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 28, 2016 at 4:32:04 PM | PASTING IN THE SAME PLACE w/Ctrl+C_Ctrl+V

#12

roms504


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 26, 2011
0 Posts
No Rating


Thanks Guys,

I dont know why I never thought about adding my own shorcuts before hand. The Paste in Current view shortcut is a big help. Though the one suggested seems a bit long. Whenever a shorcut has more than three keys its probably easier for me to just click Smile.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

using contol or option keys when setting hot keys?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, May 18, 2009 at 9:47:26 AM

1

Copy and Paste

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Dec 13, 2010 at 2:06:14 PM

1

Copy and paste issues

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 5, 2008 at 12:31:17 PM

1

Revit crashes whenever I hit CTRL + Tilde key

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Dec 8, 2010 at 1:19:36 AM

1

Importing General Notes

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 5, 2010 at 6:26:49 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1418420

Objects:

20398

Forum Posts:

150462

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.3370

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights