RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

111 Users Online (29 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Beam Callouts in an Elevation ???

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Jan 20, 2009 at 9:25:28 PM | Beam Callouts in an Elevation ???

#1

CKorleski


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 26, 2008
26 Posts
No Rating


Hello all, I have a quick question (I hope) about beam callouts in a n elevation view.  Typically when we label a beam in an elevation we only show the size of the beam and drop the weight off of the call out (ex. W8 instead of W8x15) Is there an easy way to have this happen or does anyone know how to do this, Thank you.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 21, 2009 at 1:17:34 AM | Beam Callouts in an Elevation ???

#2

emgeeo


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 12, 2008
322 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


I don't know of an easy way to do this.  There is a theoretical option, but I don't have the technical means to test and confirm it.  Maybe someone else can or will?

 

Your tag is reading information directly from your beam- typically type name.

 

Here's how I imagine it would work.  Text files for your framing families would need to be edited to include a new parameter, or at least fill in information for an existing parameter- such as 'Model.'  I would imagine this could be imported into excel, information could be added and duplicated quickly, and then exported to a text file.  In turn, you should be able to access and assign these parameters in the tag family so that it reads correctly.  Unfortunately, I am not that advanced.

 

Is anyone able to either;  a. confirm this as a possibility or b. show us how to do it?  I would be willing to give it a shot if someone else thinks it can be done.

 

The long way of doing this would be to manually add the information through the beam 'family types' and adjust the tag.

Either way, you'll need to create a new tag family for elevation views, and input information to be read.

 

Anyone?  Bump.



Edited on: Tue, Jan 20, 2009 at 7:18:54 PM

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 22, 2009 at 6:56:53 PM | Beam Callouts in an Elevation ???

#3

shaverjeff


active

Joined: Mon, Sep 25, 2006
34 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


emgeeo hit the nail on the head.

 This is the method we have been using for some time. 

The trick here is making sure you are creating a shared parameter that can be read by an alternate tag family or tag type. Editting the catalog file isnt too painless as you can import the .txt file into excel and copy/paste as needed along with a few find replace commands you should be ready in no time.

The second half of this is to create a secondary tag family (or type).  For this import your new shared parameter text value into your tag family.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 22, 2009 at 7:09:43 PM | Beam Callouts in an Elevation ???

#4

Keyholeren


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 3, 2007
12 Posts
No Rating


I opened the existing standard beam tag and saved it as "Structural Beam Elevation Tag.rfa" then I switched out the existing label with the "type mark" label.   I saved it and loaded it in the project.  Works like a champ for me in elevation without affecting plan view framing. 

 Good luck.


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 22, 2009 at 7:14:58 PM | Beam Callouts in an Elevation ???

#5

Keyholeren


active

Joined: Tue, Jul 3, 2007
12 Posts
No Rating


I forgot to mention that you will then need to edit the beams properties and put whatever in the "type mark" field.  In my case, I entered "W8".

 

 


This user is offline

 

Sat, Jan 24, 2009 at 11:37:22 PM | Beam Callouts in an Elevation ???

#6

CKorleski


active

Joined: Tue, Aug 26, 2008
26 Posts
No Rating


Thanks guys that work exactlly how I needed it to.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Structural beam won't show in elevation

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 12, 2005 at 10:22:08 PM

3

Non-Planar/Sloped Beam Systems with Elevation Points?

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Jun 14, 2007 at 5:11:36 AM

2

Quickly See Beam Top of Steel Elevation

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Oct 16, 2014 at 3:51:52 PM

2

Trouble with Valley Beam

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Dec 2, 2010 at 5:33:55 PM

5

"Dumb" Building Elevation Callouts

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 21, 2009 at 8:36:42 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1780171

Objects:

22479

Forum Posts:

151947

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2963

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights