RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

228 Users Online (110 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> new line type / existing dtl component

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Jan 12, 2009 at 3:02:49 PM | new line type / existing dtl component

#1

zabel


active

Joined: Wed, Jun 4, 2008
42 Posts
No Rating


My project leader asked me to put detail components on the existing and new portions of a wall section, but still show a difference between existing and new construction work.

 

I noticed that the detail components don't have a phase type, so I figured I would just copy and modify the families I have.

 

It looks like I don't have the right line-type available in the drop down menu.  How do I make or get the line types I want in there?

 

Thanks for the help!


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 12, 2009 at 5:27:06 PM | new line type / existing dtl component

#2

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


Do you mean line types for the detail components or linetypes for overiding the existing wall lines?  If the latter, go to linetypes under settings and create one that you want.  If you mean the former, you will need to edit and duplicate the detail component family and change the linetypes there.

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Jan 12, 2009 at 5:37:44 PM | new line type / existing dtl component

#3

zabel


active

Joined: Wed, Jun 4, 2008
42 Posts
No Rating


tim123-

 

Working on the former (detail component line types) but the latter helps too!  You got me half way there!

 

I figured out that in a detail component family, you cannot pick Line Styles from the Settings drop down.  You have to go with Object Styles and go from there.  The other important trick is to create a new line type to make gray, otherwise changing existing line type values won't work because the Project probably already has those types.  And line types of the same name in the project file will overwrite the types brought in from the new family.

 

Thanks!


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 12, 2009 at 5:50:19 PM | new line type / existing dtl component

#4

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


If you edit the detail component family you should be able to choose some linetypes from the drop down menu - although not the same as the ones in the project.  In the attached image I have changed the linetypes for the hatch outline to show heavy, medium and light lines.  These seem to load into the project with no problem and the different thicknesses are maintained. CryingI am using metric version, so yours may be different).

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Jan 12, 2009 at 6:02:52 PM | new line type / existing dtl component

#5

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


Sorry - the image didn't attach.

Attached Images

50884_Detail_component.jpg

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Jan 12, 2009 at 6:29:20 PM | new line type / existing dtl component

#6

brettgoodchild


active
brettgoodchild Avatar

Joined: Sat, Feb 4, 2006
425 Posts
4 Stars: 17 Votes


I think for this situation I might try using a filter.

I have a filter created for "future" phasing that I use a lot.

If I recall I have it set so I just type yes or future or something like that.

Then I just add the filter to the view and you can change it to look how ever you want.


-----------------------------------

"You cannot escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today. "
                             ~ Abraham Lincoln

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

appearance of line types of existing objects in a "new construction" views

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Feb 26, 2005 at 4:35:37 PM

4

Detail Component line weights

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 7, 2009 at 10:44:09 PM

7

Component Naming for New vs. Existing

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Fri, Jun 29, 2012 at 5:25:53 PM

3

future phase line type

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 25, 2014 at 8:20:58 PM

1

callouts and detail views

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jun 17, 2008 at 8:45:53 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1443241

Objects:

20770

Forum Posts:

150861

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.8836

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights