RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

254 Users Online (103 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> The Studio >> Exporting queries...

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Jan 9, 2009 at 11:00:55 AM | Exporting queries...

#1

Fryingpanwarrior


active
Fryingpanwarrior Avatar

Joined: Thu, Jan 8, 2009
11 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


First post, so here goes...

Thanks to all the previous newbies who've asked so many questions on these forums, I've learnt quite a lot in the last 2 months just by reading forums, without actually having to ask for help. The answers are all here (if you search well enough)... Nevertheless, a few questions worth asking:

Firstly; I've exported my Revit model to Sketchup, then to Kerkythea (as suggested by many users here). I need to know when is the best time to add cars, trees, people, etc. In Sketchup, I presume?

Secondly; Is it best to rather assign materials/textures in Sketchup, or rather leave it for Kerkythea?

Lastly; My Revit model is massive. I'm talking 250 apartments plus about 200 000 sq/m of office space plus 9 levels of parking (about 9000 bays). The file itself is fast approaching 60 Mb in Revit. And that's just the conceptual sketch model. I'm afraid that once I start adding more detail to the buildings, the file size would become too difficult to deal with when exporting. (Importing it into Kerkythea took just under 4 hours!) And yes, I have a good fast pc. Any tips on how to keep the file size to a bare minimum when exporting (? Besides hiding unecessary objects like internal staircase/balusters, etc. of course...

And a big thanks to all the Revit Pro's for their patience with us newbies! Whoop-Whoop!


-----------------------------------

Sex, Drugs, and Revit...

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 12, 2009 at 5:15:24 PM | Exporting queries...

#2

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


Welcome Durban - I was born there.

I am not sure why you would want to export the revit model to sketchup or other software.  Can you not do what you want to do in Revit?


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Jan 12, 2009 at 5:50:43 PM | Exporting queries...

#3

erland73


active
erland73 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Sep 7, 2007
738 Posts
4.5 Stars: 85 Votes


Hi Fringpanwarrior. If you want to add cars, people, etc. do it in sketchup, in fact many of the models that we use in Revit, are .dwg models imported from sketchup. Some of the materials used in sketchup are not recognized by Kerkythea, so be careful with that (why don´t you try with vray for sketchup?). Do you purge your files before exporting to .dwg???

-----------------------------------

 “Learning never exhausts the mind.” Leonardo Da Vinci 

 

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 14, 2009 at 11:19:25 AM | Exporting queries...

#4

Fryingpanwarrior


active
Fryingpanwarrior Avatar

Joined: Thu, Jan 8, 2009
11 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Hi all,

@ tim123, rendering in Revit isn't good at all. I've been tweaking light and manouvering shading etc for hours on end, and as great as Revit 2008 is, it's simply not great for rendering. For real-time photo-realistic rendering, I'm afraid other software has to be used. That's why I'm moving between Revit / Sketchup / Kerkythea.

@ erland73, thanks for the tips. Much appreciated.

 I'll be uploading my first images as soon as they're done!


-----------------------------------

Sex, Drugs, and Revit...

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Use of the wishlist forum

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Mon, Jun 25, 2007 at 10:41:02 PM

0

FAMILY PARAMETERS QUERIES

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Sun, Nov 1, 2009 at 7:40:25 AM

2

footing queries

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Mon, Nov 17, 2008 at 7:08:42 AM

2

footing queries

Community >> Newbies

Sun, Nov 9, 2008 at 6:51:00 AM

2

Dimensions and Exporting

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Nov 9, 2007 at 8:30:26 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1491636

Objects:

21156

Forum Posts:

151137

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.0786

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights