RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

262 Users Online (106 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Stumped on stairs

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Sat, Nov 15, 2008 at 3:38:23 PM | Stumped on stairs

#1

timOthyj


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 30, 2003
102 Posts
4.5 Stars: 14 Votes


Hi for the life of me I cannot create these baulsters can anyone help..

I have loaded a image of what Iam trying to create .

1:I have to use railings for the stringers because they were I beams

2:The baulsters have cable wires between, how do you create that

3:ANd how do I get these to work on the existing stairs that have the baulsters hidden so they dont show up on the stringers..

I cannot get this to work.

 Also I included the stairs that have the I beam stringers on them.

Thanks!!


This user is offline

 

Sun, Nov 16, 2008 at 9:09:10 AM | Stumped on stairs

#2

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


No image attached, I would have created the stringer using the same method as you.  You can use the rails to create the cables, use a circular profile with the appropriate diameter.    Can you clarify your third question - if there are no balusters then switch them off.

This user is offline

View Website

Sun, Nov 16, 2008 at 11:01:10 AM | Stumped on stairs

#3

timOthyj


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 30, 2003
102 Posts
4.5 Stars: 14 Votes


Well for some weird reason my rvt file isnt being uploaded???

but here is what Im trying to create..

So how would I position the cables in the method to create them and how would I connect the baulsters to the custom stringers that I created.

 



Attached Images

48183_steelwire.jpg

This user is offline

 

Sun, Nov 16, 2008 at 11:01:55 AM | Stumped on stairs

#4

timOthyj


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 30, 2003
102 Posts
4.5 Stars: 14 Votes


Okay why isnt my rvt file uploading?? of the project..

Oh yea I had to turn off the bausters on the stringers because they were showing up.


This user is offline

 

Sun, Nov 16, 2008 at 7:03:32 PM | Stumped on stairs

#5

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


I created a standard stair and set the stringers and risers to off.  In the rail elements I went into Balusters and set the distance between them to about two meters and applied a round profile (you can create your own baluster family to have the shape that you want, with the holes and the angled base).  Under rails, I applied a round handrail and applied additional rails for the cables and stringer.

Attached Images

48191_Railing.jpg

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Nov 17, 2008 at 6:50:28 AM | Stumped on stairs

#6

timOthyj


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 30, 2003
102 Posts
4.5 Stars: 14 Votes


Okay thats wonderful and its about 97% what I need..

Except this:

The stringers are false railings i used them to create a "Custom C-Channel " beam for the railings

When I use the rails for the custom stringers i have to turn off the baulsters show they dont pop up on the stringers below the stairs.

So would I create a different profile for the baulsters and load it to the existing custom stairs?

 

 

And why isnt my attached rvt file coming thru with replies??

 



Attached Images

48205_STRINGERPROBLEM_2.jpg48205_STRINGERPROBLEM_3.jpg

This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 17, 2008 at 6:54:48 AM | Stumped on stairs

#7

timOthyj


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 30, 2003
102 Posts
4.5 Stars: 14 Votes


One more time attempt to load the rvt file so you can see what I mean

ha no wonder the file is 2.05 mb big

So i will zip it and send it 



This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 17, 2008 at 9:43:17 AM | Stumped on stairs

#8

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


You balusters are set so that they use the profile as the top under the balusters dialogue box.  Set them to attach to the relevant rail, such as the hand rail, or give them a top height offset above the profile.

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Nov 17, 2008 at 11:19:00 AM | Stumped on stairs

#9

timOthyj


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 30, 2003
102 Posts
4.5 Stars: 14 Votes


I greatly appreciate all the help..

Here is a rough draft of what I came up with

I added custom nosing also to the stairs so they dont look so plain.

 Again thanks!!!

 



Attached Images

48217_stairs.jpg

This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 17, 2008 at 11:28:51 AM | Stumped on stairs

#10

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


Cool - getting there.  You can also create balusters that will align with the stringers and with a flat connection on top to join to the handrail.

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Nov 17, 2008 at 6:40:41 PM | Stumped on stairs

#11

timOthyj


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 30, 2003
102 Posts
4.5 Stars: 14 Votes


I want the baulsters to overlap the stringers but to create a flat top ...I do what?

The image below is going to be the final product, I will add bolts to the baulsters and change them some.

 



Attached Images

48255_homeimage6.jpg

This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 17, 2008 at 7:40:19 PM | Stumped on stairs

#12

timOthyj


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 30, 2003
102 Posts
4.5 Stars: 14 Votes


Okay another set of issues..geeze teh baulsters over shoot the end of the stringers and they now dont fully flush with the bottom of the handrail

This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 17, 2008 at 10:50:17 PM | Stumped on stairs

#13

timOthyj


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 30, 2003
102 Posts
4.5 Stars: 14 Votes


FINALLY!

Here they are..I will do the other side soon

Thanks everyone for there help.

 



Attached Images

48287_WEST.jpg48287_ANOTHERVIEW.jpg48287_RENDERINGDRAFT.jpg48287_FINAL.jpg

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

modeling sweep/blend/void? - STUMPED

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, Apr 28, 2012 at 4:56:49 PM

5

Revit stairs.. connecting supports.

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jul 6, 2012 at 1:20:23 PM

2

Non-continuous handrails at stairs

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Jan 25, 2018 at 5:34:45 PM

2

Revit Architecture 2008 Multi Level Stairs - Complex Building

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Dec 4, 2011 at 10:39:37 AM

2

Wrapping stairs

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Aug 12, 2010 at 10:27:02 PM

9

Site Stats

Members:

1690998

Objects:

22216

Forum Posts:

151746

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.0657

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights