RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

277 Users Online (163 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> room area calculations

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Nov 4, 2008 at 6:52:18 PM | room area calculations

#1

Warchitect


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 21, 2008
318 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


OK.

Im really stupid I think. For argumentssake lets take a 10' x 10' room

If I were to show a 10'x10' room (like in the pic) to my boss, I would be fired for being such an Idiot! its not 84 sf. its 100!!!

on top of that who needs dims to wall center lines? makes building a 10'x10' room difficult.

so to get a 10x10 you add dims to the room so you can edit them to get an exact 10x10 room.

but the AREA CALC IS way off. Useless to everyone! imho,  Realators and city agencies want to know to exterior walls (either becasue of FAR or rentable area.)

HOW DO YOU GET THE AREA CALC TO GO TO EXTERIOR OF WALL. honestly can't figure out why the way it is, is usefull to anyone. 

btw. the Area scheme window doesnt offer to exterior walls as a calc type.

 

Michael


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Nov 4, 2008 at 6:53:44 PM | room area calculations

#2

Warchitect


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 21, 2008
318 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


opps here is the pic

Attached Images

47488_screen_copy.jpg

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Nov 4, 2008 at 7:21:23 PM | room area calculations

#3

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


Room areas normally show the interior dimensions.  When you dimension the room you have different options at the top, such as to wall centrelines or faces.

The room area is the area within the walls so what is displaying is correct.

To return the gross areas you need to create an area plan and decide if you want gross, rentable or GIA.  You can also overide where the area lines are and add areas.  In this way you can display any areas that you require.


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Nov 4, 2008 at 7:22:07 PM | room area calculations

#4

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 351 Votes


From your post, it appears you have just started REVIT.  Br patient but you will grow to appreciate it over time.

You can dimension walls to face, to core, to centerline .... all up to you!

When you do your area schemes, you can create the boundry lines.  Place them to the outside of the wall.

Area schemes and room areas are two different horses.

Under the room and area tab is a settings tool - select that and change where you want room areas to be calculated to.

 If you want room areas to the outside of the walls (not typical) then turn the room bounding off for your walls and add your own room boundry lines.


This user is offline

 

Tue, Nov 4, 2008 at 7:24:46 PM | room area calculations

#5

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


BTW you can also change the way that room areas are calculated under Area and volume computations under settings.

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Nov 4, 2008 at 7:40:04 PM | room area calculations

#6

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 196 Votes


Yeah or you can change in the properties...

 



Attached Images

47499_area.png

-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Tue, Nov 4, 2008 at 7:46:04 PM | room area calculations

#7

Warchitect


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 21, 2008
318 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


Thanks all for the replies.

I know I can dimension wherever I want. thats why I drew them in the pic, but the Little blue dimesions that appear as you draw, seem to only do wall centerline....so trying to draw a 10x10 box gets you a "10+ half the wall thickness" box thats not 10 on either the inside or the outside but in between. (do you know what i mean?) ...

THanks for explaining the diference between area plan and room tag. I guess Im interested in overall areas, the kind cities need to know for lot coverage and floor area ratios. Room interior space is not usefull for that, as cities include the complete wall thickness in all area calcs. On top of that most realators use the extreme outside dimensions of a building because its more rentable area to charge for. the only place you use wall centerline or interior is if the space borders another seperate rentable space, then you split the wall thickness and give each half...again maximizing the dollar. so I dont know how thats "not typical" :-P

thanks for the replies again


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Nov 4, 2008 at 8:06:33 PM | room area calculations

#8

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


The dimensions flex from where the dimension was taken - if from the inside face of the walls they will flex from here.  You need to use an area plan and not room areas.  There is an option for Gross Building which I believe is what you are after.  Other options are for rentable and GIA.

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Nov 4, 2008 at 9:48:50 PM | room area calculations

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 351 Votes


If you click on the blue square dot of a temporary dimension, you can cycle it through the wall faces & centerline.

 

ALSO Note that I said Room Areas do not have to include the walls!  Check your settings.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Room area intelegance

General Discussion >> Wishlist

Tue, Jun 3, 2008 at 1:44:47 AM

5

Room Tag w/ Dimensions and other calculations

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Apr 29, 2010 at 6:15:40 PM

2

Room area calculation

Community >> Newbies

Sun, Nov 25, 2012 at 8:28:44 PM

1

Curved Curtain Walls, Patterns, and Area Calculations

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Feb 5, 2013 at 2:15:14 AM

1

Room Bounding - Room area changes, then changes back for no reason!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Apr 28, 2010 at 11:22:40 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1453903

Objects:

20610

Forum Posts:

150695

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.2847

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights