RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

179 Users Online (95 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Going from Rendering in RA 2008 to Rendering in RA 2009

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Oct 28, 2008 at 6:47:47 PM | Going from Rendering in RA 2008 to Rendering in RA 2009

#1

Prophecy99


active
Prophecy99 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jul 1, 2008
72 Posts
No Rating


Anyone else experience the drastic changes that have taken place from Rendering in RA 2008 to 2009?

-No scene settings enough said

-No background image capabilities (totally dumbfounded they got rid of that previous capability)

- Atleast 2/3rds of rendering options in the rendering dialog box have been removed

- Seasonal planting option removed and is now in tree families themselves.

- Most importantly if you have rendered a model in 2008 and convert it to 2009 you mind as well do it all over again.  Nothing is compatible (majoirty of materials, all plants, all people, all lights and light familes,)

-


-----------------------------------
Imagination reveals truths reality obscures.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 28, 2008 at 8:10:37 PM | Going from Rendering in RA 2008 to Rendering in RA 2009

#2

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


Persevere - you can create some fantastic renderings using the new engine, look at some of the recent posts to the gallery.  The scene settings aren't required for the realism.  You can insert the background into a drafting view or sheet view by exporting it as a tiff image and reinserting into revit.  Place your background behind the image - the sky in revit is an alpha channel so the background will show through.  The RPC content is more realistic than the previous trees and often come in autumn flavour.  The sun settings give realistic information about actual conditions.

Explore it a bit and you will be pleased with the results that can be achieved.


This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Jan 23, 2009 at 9:58:26 PM | Going from Rendering in RA 2008 to Rendering in RA 2009

#3

BLAKEHCC


active

Joined: Fri, Mar 23, 2007
11 Posts
No Rating


Yeah only revit 09 takes about 10 times longer to produce a decent looking image .... and having to take your image into photoshop to change your background image is just an extra hassle.  Im not happy at all with the rendering in revit 09 and i dont think im alone?


This user is offline

 

Thu, Mar 12, 2009 at 10:21:30 AM | Going from Rendering in RA 2008 to Rendering in RA 2009

#4

Altarchitect1


active

Joined: Thu, Mar 5, 2009
1 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


There is a simple answer to all this that you may not be aware of and that is that Revit is using a very basic version of

Mental Ray. You need to purchase 3ds Max if you want no hassles.


-----------------------------------
Elanto

This user is offline

 

Fri, Apr 17, 2009 at 7:12:40 PM | Going from Rendering in RA 2008 to Rendering in RA 2009

#5

BLAKEHCC


active

Joined: Fri, Mar 23, 2007
11 Posts
No Rating


I used the 3Ds Max trial version and exporting your model from Revit to max isnt as seamless as you make it sound.... you have to re assign all your materials and max has a different material library it seams.

 

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, May 11, 2009 at 8:51:55 PM | Going from Rendering in RA 2008 to Rendering in RA 2009

#6

blackhawk


active

Joined: Thu, Jun 15, 2006
27 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


I also tried the trial and 3DS max has too many bells and whistles for my liking. Now everytime I open the program I get a head ache from being overwhelmed! So I stopped using it and let the trail expire. It is a superior rendering program no doubt but IMO Revit can get you about 80% of the quality of Max; and I find that 80% to be acceptable. 3DS max is faster if you have multi-processor capabilities. I'm extremely satisfied with the Rendering of 2009. Just look at the gallery and how much the images have improved over the year as proof...Use tiffs inside of Revit for backgrounds and you'll solve that hassle.

This user is offline

 

Mon, May 11, 2009 at 9:32:50 PM | Going from Rendering in RA 2008 to Rendering in RA 2009

#7

Mr Spot


site moderator|||
Mr Spot Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jan 13, 2004
2889 Posts
4.5 Stars: 91 Votes


I posted a powerpoint on my blog sometime ago about going from Accurender to Mental Ray...  Check it out as it may assist.  FYI the download is about 30MB or so...


-----------------------------------

Regards,

Chris.

Co-Founder | BIM Consultant | Software Designer  CryingB. Arch)

Xrev Revit API Addins | Revit Rants

This user is offline

View Website

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Helping rendering in 2009

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Apr 19, 2009 at 1:24:59 PM

1

Rendering in Revit 2009 [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Dec 31, 2009 at 4:41:31 PM

19

Rendering function greyed out in Revit Arch 2009

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 16, 2009 at 10:53:18 AM

1

Looking for Rendering Suggestions on a Revit 2008 Accurender Rendering..........

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 4, 2009 at 10:41:36 PM

0

Rendering 2009

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 11, 2008 at 1:44:47 PM

5

Site Stats

Members:

1442783

Objects:

20761

Forum Posts:

150859

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4076

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights