RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

177 Users Online (61 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Linking CAD - Text Sheets

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Tue, Sep 23, 2008 at 2:47:46 PM | Linking CAD - Text Sheets

#1

bradleymatthew


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 21, 2006
59 Posts
No Rating


I'm trying to link 3 sheets of General Notes (i.e. text) from CAD into Revit (cause I really don't feel like retyping them...), but the tabbing adjusts between the two programs and I can't really figure out the rhyme and reason.  Once linked into Revit a get a random text line that will break from the text box and continue on either over other text or completely off the sheet.  I've tried going into CAD and re-adjusting the text boxes and have had minimul success - I fix one and create another.

 I have noticed that the text that is bold or underline in CAD tend to cause this problem, but that's not true for all instances....suggestions? 


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Sep 23, 2008 at 8:25:38 PM | Linking CAD - Text Sheets

#2

mthurnauer


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 17, 2007
83 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Is the font in Autocad a true type font?  Do you have the font set to have a narrow width factor?  Just a guess, but when you import it into Revit, it may be replacing the font with a trutype font with a width of 1. 

This user is offline

 

Tue, Sep 30, 2008 at 8:07:12 PM | Linking CAD - Text Sheets

#3

bradleymatthew


active

Joined: Fri, Jul 21, 2006
59 Posts
No Rating


The CAD text is a true type font (Arial Narrow) - there have been no alterations to the width factor that i can find.  I don't know, however, if Revit is altering the width factor upon linking - is there a setting for that?  It still appears that Revit is not recognizing the size of the text boxes as they are set in CAD....

-----------------------------------
Bradley

This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Sep 30, 2008 at 11:22:15 PM | Linking CAD - Text Sheets

#4

TJKENNEDY


active

Joined: Fri, Jan 12, 2007
126 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


My experience has been that Revit really doesn't handle Mtext very well, especially text wrapping. What I ended up doing is just taking the time to make a new general notes sheet in Revit. It still has it's own issues, but they have been easier to deal with than the importing issues. I keep hoping that one day the good folk over at Autodesk will take some time to create a Revit text editor that is actually functional.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 1, 2008 at 12:17:03 PM | Linking CAD - Text Sheets

#5

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


It is fairly easy to copy the text to Revit by going into the AutoCAD text editor and copying the text to the clipboard.  Paste the text into the Revit text editor.

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Oct 1, 2008 at 1:35:47 PM | Linking CAD - Text Sheets

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 377 Votes


Note that tim123 says to copy from the autocad text editor.  In that way, you can get multi-line text in one copy & paste into a single revit text multi-line.  If you import the cad file, you get single line text.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Oct 1, 2008 at 9:05:26 PM | Linking CAD - Text Sheets

#7

Bm3875


active
Bm3875 Avatar

Joined: Fri, Nov 18, 2005
140 Posts
4 Stars: 7 Votes


The Revit Text Generator extension available at the Autodesk Subscription Center helps with this issue, somewhat. It still has issues with text formatting.

-----------------------------------

Brandon Pike | Owner/BIM Specialist

Photo

cad.web.print

website: http://www.thinkdesign-studios.com

blog: http://www.bimtionary.blogspot.com/

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Mar 18, 2009 at 10:22:57 PM | Linking CAD - Text Sheets

#8

davbrink


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 1, 2008
43 Posts
4 Stars: 1 Votes


I have copy clipped all of my text over from autocad with a TTF fond and width set to 1. I went and reformatted everything with the tabs in the revit text box. Everything looks great. Then i click in the box to edit something and all the formatting goes to !%$&.  All the tabs are now off and it looks like I will have to reformat everything again. Then I click on something else and it all goes back with no ryme or reason. Does anyone know what causes it to freak out or if it is freaked out how get it back?

This user is offline

 

Wed, Mar 18, 2009 at 10:42:15 PM | Linking CAD - Text Sheets

#9

davbrink


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 1, 2008
43 Posts
4 Stars: 1 Votes


I have added a image of the screwup that Revit gives me. Which is totally unacceptable.

Attached Images

55334_Text1.jpg

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Exporting Revit 2009 Sheets to CAD

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 18, 2008 at 8:53:01 PM

3

What is the best Method for moving CAD details into Revit Details?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 9, 2009 at 2:24:47 PM

1

Linking Revit Files for Sheet Coordination

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Fri, Jul 10, 2009 at 4:09:09 PM

4

Linked in CAD text

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Aug 16, 2019 at 1:25:10 PM

0

DWG sheets to RVT

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jun 10, 2019 at 3:57:52 AM

8

Site Stats

Members:

1794966

Objects:

22512

Forum Posts:

151981

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.4502

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights