RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

166 Users Online (71 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Problem with adjusting parameters with an array

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Aug 14, 2008 at 6:31:53 AM | Problem with adjusting parameters with an array

#1

am2008


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 14, 2008
1 Posts
No Rating


I am trying to create a horizontal battern family that I can specify the length, height and width of the batterns (and even no. of batterns). I am trying not to use nested families to keep the family one file. The problem is that I cannot get the length parameter to work with an array group. I have created left and right references planes and locked the sides of the batterns (solid extrusions created in the left plane)to them. However, once I go to try and change the length, it says that "Constraints not satisfied". Has anyone had a similar problem?

This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 14, 2008 at 9:13:37 AM | Problem with adjusting parameters with an array

#2

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 200 Votes


Yeah, the creation of families are very "Trickies", you must have some parameters / dimensions on that and when you try to change the lenght Revit "see" there are something wrong with that parameters and with obj. locked with ref. planes, only open that family i can tell you more...

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 14, 2008 at 4:30:52 PM | Problem with adjusting parameters with an array

#3

dano3d


active

Joined: Thu, Jan 12, 2006
56 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Try the attached example for constraining the length for an arrayed object.

What works best for me is to make the object as a "nested family".

Good luck! 

Dano 



This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Aug 14, 2008 at 5:08:19 PM | Problem with adjusting parameters with an array

#4

dgcad


active
dgcad Avatar

Joined: Fri, Mar 18, 2005
1231 Posts
3.5 Stars: 35 Votes


You should definately use a nested family for the array. It will all be saved in one file and takes up much less memory when you start to use them in a project. In simple terms you have to make the array 'number of objects' a parameter that is a function of the length parameter.
This is tricky and it took me for ever to figure this one out.
After you make a tempory array of what you want.
Make a new parameter named 'Number of Items' then for the value of that parameter use the formula field to be Length / X or 5 (or your batten length parameter or something else).
Now, this is the tricky part that took me forever.
Go back and click on one of the array objects, THEN select the thin line that has the temporary number of items. Now look up at the top of the screen. You can make this a 'parameter'. Select the Label pulldown and pick your 'number of Items' parameter (that has the formula).
Now the Array number of items is a parameter that is talking to the Length parameter. See attached family that does exactly this.
See attached spanish tile family.
Daryl Gregoire
REVIT Training Videos x 100's


Edited on: Thu, Aug 14, 2008 at 12:09:17 PM

-----------------------------------

.

FULL 'DOWNLOAD ACCESS' to all 850+ CADclips videos for only $150

 

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Aug 14, 2008 at 5:38:02 PM | Problem with adjusting parameters with an array

#5

Belinski


active

Joined: Thu, Sep 27, 2007
81 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


Ya, like dgcad said, the only way to have maximum control of the parameters of the 'batterns'  is to use a nested family.  It wont work efficiently any other way.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Aug 14, 2008 at 6:23:47 PM | Problem with adjusting parameters with an array

#6

lunchtrayrider


active

Joined: Mon, Jun 25, 2007
592 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


Im also going to say use a nested family.

-----------------------------------
I like scooters. and motorcycles.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Array in Revit families in shocking!!!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jan 23, 2012 at 3:53:08 PM

4

Array removing existing parameters

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Feb 22, 2009 at 1:46:43 PM

6

Associated Parameters in Array Family

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 27, 2017 at 2:44:36 PM

4

Parametric Array Constraints

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Tue, Jul 2, 2019 at 12:00:45 PM

2

Unsatisfied Constraints when Adjusting Equidistant Length Using Parameters

Community >> Newbies

Mon, Feb 9, 2015 at 6:01:32 PM

2

Site Stats

Members:

1793571

Objects:

22507

Forum Posts:

151979

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 0.9088

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights