RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

169 Users Online (52 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Technical Support >> Line Type Weight Will Not Change, Overrides Set Will Not Show

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Wed, Jul 9, 2008 at 5:58:05 PM | Line Type Weight Will Not Change, Overrides Set Will Not Show

#1

poblivion


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 3, 2007
28 Posts
No Rating


I have a CAD underlay in which I overrode several line type weights so they whould show up better.  Earlier today I realized I could not change a drafting line from one line type to another.  Then I realized that when I could do so, despite changing the weights of the line types, the weight of the line will not change, at any scale.  Then I realized that all the overriden lines in the CAD underlay are not showing up, despite the overrides still being set.  As of now a WIDE line is showing up as a THIN line, at any scale.  Does anyone know what the problem may be?

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 9, 2008 at 7:40:57 PM | Line Type Weight Will Not Change, Overrides Set Will Not Show

#2

rkitect


active
rkitect Avatar

Joined: Thu, Dec 16, 2004
792 Posts
4 Stars: 29 Votes


Make sure "Thin Lines" is turned off.  View > Thin Lines or type "TL"


-----------------------------------

-//------------------------

Carl - rkitecsure[at]gmail.com

Need help? I'm probably in my chat room!

You fell victim to one of the classic blunders. The most famous is never get involved in a land war in asia, but only slightly less well known is this! Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line!

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jul 9, 2008 at 8:00:06 PM | Line Type Weight Will Not Change, Overrides Set Will Not Show

#3

poblivion


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 3, 2007
28 Posts
No Rating


Well, I tried rolling back to yesterday and the last save from yesterday didn't have things they way they should have been, so I rolled back to midday yesterday and it was the same thing.  So, I got a message that I could no longer save to central, so I closed everything, rebooted, opened the central file so I could save a new local file and everything, except for the work I did earlier today, was the way it was supposed to be.  I have no idea what the problem was and I don't have time to worry about it but if anyone might know I'd appreciate your advice. 

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 9, 2008 at 8:48:42 PM | Line Type Weight Will Not Change, Overrides Set Will Not Show

#4

rkitect


active
rkitect Avatar

Joined: Thu, Dec 16, 2004
792 Posts
4 Stars: 29 Votes


It was brought to my attention that you were referring to CAD overlays and nor Revit linework, and while i understood that part I had never verified that the Thin Lines tool affected CAD drawings as well.  As an experiment, I imported a simple DWG with only a single layer, overrode the line weight in the View Graphics dialogue for that layer of the cad drawing to a very thick line type, which immediately showed up in the view.  Using the Thin Lines tool (not the line works tool) does affect line weight of imported/linked cad drawings as well.

 

HTH,


-----------------------------------

-//------------------------

Carl - rkitecsure[at]gmail.com

Need help? I'm probably in my chat room!

You fell victim to one of the classic blunders. The most famous is never get involved in a land war in asia, but only slightly less well known is this! Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line!

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Jul 9, 2008 at 10:13:17 PM | Line Type Weight Will Not Change, Overrides Set Will Not Show

#5

poblivion


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 3, 2007
28 Posts
No Rating


hi,

 

 

I have no idea what the "thin lines" tool is.  Is it just the option for a thin line?  Actually, not only were the overriden lines in the CAD underlay not showing up, but like I said, if I put in a "wide" detail line, it would appear as a "thin" line.  I go look for thin line tool now.  thank yo. 


This user is offline

 

Wed, Jul 9, 2008 at 10:47:25 PM | Line Type Weight Will Not Change, Overrides Set Will Not Show

#6

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


What rktect is referring to is your way of contolling how lines are displayed - NOT printed.  The thin lines button is the 3rd icon to the right of the eye.  When you click that, you toggle between all lines shown thin on the screen and all lines shown in relative thickness. 

 

BUT THIS HAS NO EFFECT ON PRINTING! 


This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 10, 2008 at 12:56:59 PM | rkitect

#7

rkitect


active
rkitect Avatar

Joined: Thu, Dec 16, 2004
792 Posts
4 Stars: 29 Votes


Quoting rkitect from 2008-07-09 14:40:57

"

Make sure "Thin Lines" is turned off.  View > Thin Lines or type "TL"

"
Was my first response to your post.  You should also look it up in help if you have further questions as to what a tool does.

-----------------------------------

-//------------------------

Carl - rkitecsure[at]gmail.com

Need help? I'm probably in my chat room!

You fell victim to one of the classic blunders. The most famous is never get involved in a land war in asia, but only slightly less well known is this! Never go in against a Sicilian when death is on the line!

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jul 10, 2008 at 1:38:40 PM | Line Type Weight Will Not Change, Overrides Set Will Not Show

#8

poblivion


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 3, 2007
28 Posts
No Rating


I did indeed look it up, but revit help is useless 99.99999999999% of the time.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 10, 2008 at 1:43:05 PM | Line Type Weight Will Not Change, Overrides Set Will Not Show

#9

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 370 Votes


REVIT's help is really pretty good - far better than ACAD's.    Don't use more than one word and think about what you are searching for - sometimes there is a better word to search with.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 11, 2008 at 10:55:41 PM | Line Type Weight Will Not Change, Overrides Set Will Not Show

#10

emgeeo


active

Joined: Wed, Mar 12, 2008
322 Posts
3.5 Stars: 7 Votes


So, did the 'Thin Lines' tool help at all?

Also, I use this tool often- usually for visibility reasons.  If I have a lot of geometry occuring in an area it's useful to turn off line thicknesses to see exactly what's happening.


This user is offline

 

Sat, Jul 12, 2008 at 1:13:46 AM | Line Type Weight Will Not Change, Overrides Set Will Not Show

#11

poblivion


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 3, 2007
28 Posts
No Rating


Oh yea.  Once I figured it out I've been using it since.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 17, 2008 at 6:11:21 PM | Line Type Weight Will Not Change, Overrides Set Will Not Show

#12

Warchitect


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 21, 2008
318 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


But How does one change the line weights of cut geometry like walls in the floor plan.Mine are really thick and clunky looking.  Ivve tried to use the object styles dialog box, but adjustments to the line weight yeilds no change. THe thin lines is off btw. Ive even tried messing with the line weights dialog. nothing. no change to the display.

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Oct 17, 2008 at 6:25:43 PM | Line Type Weight Will Not Change, Overrides Set Will Not Show

#13

poblivion


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 3, 2007
28 Posts
No Rating


go to settings - object styles - walls:

 

 

you can set line weights in projection or cut.   Jack it up, way up, to 10 or so at first to see if they are indeed changing.  Depending on what scale your drawing is in, small changes might not be visible.  In other words, once in a site plan that was 1:40, I had to juice up the lines to 7 and above to make them clearly bold and discern between them.


This user is offline

 

Fri, Oct 17, 2008 at 10:29:56 PM | Line Type Weight Will Not Change, Overrides Set Will Not Show

#14

Warchitect


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 21, 2008
318 Posts
4 Stars: 5 Votes


Didnt work, :-(

I can change from 1-16 thicknesses, and nothing changes. nothing. 

I have taken two screen shots and you can see my display. and yes I said OK when I took the shot so the settings are in effect. take a look, please this is driving me nuts :-P

 

the image left side is 16 weight, image right side is 1 weight!

 

Michael



Attached Images

46487_screen.jpg

This user is offline

View Website

Sat, Oct 15, 2016 at 8:27:08 AM | Line Type Weight Will Not Change, Overrides Set Will Not Show

#15

pmartini2012


active

Joined: Sat, Feb 2, 2013
0 Posts
No Rating


So was this ever resolved?  I appear to be having a similar issue in which the Line Styles dialogue box is showing different line weight, there are no VG issues, TL is not activated, and I'm still not seeing differences in my lineweights in my drafting views.


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Floor Pattern Line Weight

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jan 17, 2007 at 8:47:21 PM

9

Change Leader line weight

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Apr 29, 2008 at 6:30:00 PM

1

Dimension Line Weight

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Oct 7, 2016 at 6:32:52 PM

3

Impossible to change ceiling pattern line weight

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 22, 2013 at 5:03:23 PM

3

Change color of hatch?

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, May 24, 2005 at 11:10:43 PM

3

Site Stats

Members:

1650549

Objects:

22097

Forum Posts:

151691

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.6243

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights