RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

250 Users Online (142 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Rendering in Revit 2009

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>

Thu, Jul 3, 2008 at 6:33:38 AM | Rendering in Revit 2009

#1

cpbc


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 22, 2005
27 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


I wonder has anyone faced the same problem when they render the sky in Revit 2009? Since Revit 2009 does not allow you to place a background image, I am finding it diffcult to do a good sky for my rendering. Furthermore, my sky rendering stops at certain level (as attached). Wonder how to make the sky goes all the way down just as in Revit 2008?

 Rgds,

cpbc



Attached Images

39917_why_sky_stop.jpg

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 3, 2008 at 7:01:03 AM | Rendering in Revit 2009

#2

KennyGee


active
KennyGee Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 6, 2008
68 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


The sky in RA2009 is using Mental Ray to produce a physical sun and sky dependant on time, date and location.  As the color under the horizon is greyish you should be able to render out as a tiff,  then take your image into Photoshop where you'll notice an alpha channel so you can replace the sky with any texture. 

When I was using Maya whilst rendering with MR we had the same issues. The workaround we created was a background dome within the scene that didn’t block or cast any Global Illumination or Final Gather of the sun and Sky - purely for the look and shadows etc.

It would be nice if Revit allowed more advanced features. 


-----------------------------------

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jul 3, 2008 at 7:04:35 AM | Rendering in Revit 2009

#3

KennyGee


active
KennyGee Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 6, 2008
68 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


or you could bake your ground surface larger.  With modifying your camera angle you should be able to reduce this effect.

or

Photoshop your ground surface to meet the horizon.


-----------------------------------

This user is offline

View Website

Thu, Jul 3, 2008 at 7:42:55 AM | Rendering in Revit 2009

#4

cpbc


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 22, 2005
27 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Thanks KennyGee. It seems that I had to bring the image into Photoshop then.

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jul 3, 2008 at 10:06:19 AM | Rendering in Revit 2009

#5

KingRevit


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 15, 2007
321 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


turn off the sky and use a solid colour say white. then use a decal for you sky, just make a large wall and import a decal onto it.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 4, 2008 at 1:43:03 AM | Rendering in Revit 2009

#6

cpbc


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 22, 2005
27 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Thanks KingRevit for your suggestion. I will try it out.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 4, 2008 at 2:47:39 AM | Rendering in Revit 2009

#7

salarch2


active

Joined: Fri, Dec 2, 2005
21 Posts
2 Stars: 4 Votes


There is a pretty good solution on cadclips.com to use a different background image.  Check it out at:

http://cadclips.com/REVIT-2009-CADclips.htm 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Jul 4, 2008 at 4:48:01 AM | Rendering in Revit 2009

#8

KennyGee


active
KennyGee Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 6, 2008
68 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


The cadclips vid was okbut this is the long way around expecially if you want to adjust your render's. ie. contrast etc  I prefer to use Photoshop as I tend to fancy my images up alot more.  Each to there own........

-----------------------------------

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Jul 7, 2008 at 6:34:47 AM | Rendering in Revit 2009

#9

cpbc


active

Joined: Tue, Mar 22, 2005
27 Posts
3.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Hi salarch2. great tricks. tx a lot.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jul 7, 2008 at 9:33:32 AM | Rendering in Revit 2009

#10

KingRevit


active

Joined: Mon, Oct 15, 2007
321 Posts
4 Stars: 12 Votes


nice tip

 


This user is offline

 

Mon, Aug 25, 2008 at 2:57:13 AM | Rendering in Revit 2009

#11

JMcLelland


active

Joined: Thu, Feb 12, 2004
1 Posts
No Rating


Maybe I haven't dug far enough yet, but I'm surprised not to hear more frustration with rendering in '09.  I've been running Revit for a long time, and I've got years' worth of materials -- and wall, roof, and floor assemblies with those materials applied -- that are now useless.  I've loved every upgrade of Revit until now, but this one is feeling an awful lot like Vista.  Lots of bells and whistles, but so far a big net drag on my productivity.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 28, 2008 at 8:04:29 PM | Rendering in Revit 2009

#12

Prophecy99


active
Prophecy99 Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jul 1, 2008
72 Posts
No Rating


you can say that again ^^^ 09 is really bringing me and my productivity down.

-----------------------------------
Imagination reveals truths reality obscures.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Oct 28, 2008 at 8:23:49 PM | Rendering in Revit 2009

#13

tim123


active

Joined: Tue, Apr 12, 2005
1310 Posts
4.5 Stars: 18 Votes


The line represents the horizon - the sky doesn't come below this.  Export your image as a tiff and reinsert it in revit and put your background sky behind it in a drafting or sheet view. 

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Oct 29, 2008 at 5:13:06 AM | Rendering in Revit 2009

#14

will2play


active
will2play Avatar

Joined: Fri, Oct 10, 2008
18 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


Banging your head on your monitor, trying to create a Mitered-Corner Window?  In this week’s Rockstar Hour I'll show you how to create Mitered-Corner Windows.      The Rockstar Hour is a opportunity to attend a free hour of web-based Revit training.

Join the meeting here.

https://www1.gotomeeting.com/register/353233504

Rockstar Hour:

9:30 AM – 10:30 AM PST every Wednesday

See you there,

 

Know someone else who's been working on this problem?  Connect them with the Rockstar Hour.  

Will Harris

www.will2play.com

-----------------------------------

www.will2play.com

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Oct 29, 2008 at 10:49:41 PM | Rendering in Revit 2009

#15

newnik29


active

Joined: Tue, Jun 27, 2006
2 Posts
No Rating


Okay, folks - same topic but new question: I've peppered a siteplan in RAC 2009 with rpc trees. They're easy to use and render out quickly, too. My problem is this: If I tip my 3d image to view it from the top, rendering causes the trees to dissappear. They cast shadows but have no image - just the grass below them.

 How do I get trees to render in a 'top view' 3d view?


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 2 | 1 | 2 Next >>



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Going from Rendering in RA 2008 to Rendering in RA 2009

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, May 11, 2009 at 9:32:50 PM

6

Helping rendering in 2009

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sun, Apr 19, 2009 at 1:24:59 PM

1

Rendering function greyed out in Revit Arch 2009

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 16, 2009 at 10:53:18 AM

1

Rendering in 2009

Community >> Newbies

Wed, Jun 11, 2008 at 8:18:08 PM

1

Rendering And Light Settings Revit 2009 [ 1 2 ]

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Tue, Oct 20, 2009 at 8:06:23 AM

26

Site Stats

Members:

1460150

Objects:

20970

Forum Posts:

150929

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 3.3909

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights