RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

197 Users Online (87 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Community >> Newbies >> Revit is starting to hang up

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Jan 14, 2008 at 9:42:24 PM | Revit is starting to hang up

#1

disjwb


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 26, 2006
17 Posts
No Rating


I 've been using revit off and on for about a year and have recently been working on a one story, 20,000 s.f. office building.  I have been noticing that revit has been hanging up more and occasionally shutting down.  I'm not sure if it is something I may be doing or if it is a computer related issue.  I'm using a dell precision 390 with 2.13ghz e6400 processor, 2 gb of ram and a nVidia Quadro FX 3450.  The file I'm working on now is at 50 mg and has about 20 drawing sheets in it.  I have no idea if this is a normal size file for this type of a building. The concern I have is that we are about to start a big school job of 209,000 s.f. And don't what to experience the same issues on a larger scale.   Does any one have any ideas on how I can improve my performance or how to prevent this from happening to our next job?   

JB


This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 14, 2008 at 10:11:24 PM | Revit is starting to hang up

#2

NKramer


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 10, 2007
285 Posts
4 Stars: 9 Votes


A few possible solutions would be to audit the file, recreate your central file, and check your revit wanrnings. It could also be your network card if you are working on a server. Somehow some of the cards at our office got set to half so they were really chugging along when trying to save to central, etc.

 

I am curently working on a  30,000 ft² 2 story classroom lab building. The file fluxtuates between 70 and 80 megs. I dont think that I would want to work on anything bigger in a single file if I could. For a 209,000 ft² I would split the campus up into wings or buildings to try to split up the file size.

 

As a side note 2gb of ram is basically the min recomended by AutoDesk now. You could try upgradig but I doubt that you would see much of a performance boost. My best bet would be your revit warnings or a good old fashion audit.

 

HTH

 

Nick 


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jan 15, 2008 at 2:06:07 PM | Revit is starting to hang up

#3

disjwb


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 26, 2006
17 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the reply.  I ran the Audit and purged out some unused families and notice that the file size is no down to about 38 mg.  I am still having problems when trying to work in the file though.  I opened my task manager and the cpu usage when trying to perform task in revit jumps up to 100% and stays there for a while.  The memory usage stays fairly consistent at 750 - 800 mg.  Does this mean that the processor or video card is having a hard time keeping up? 

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 15, 2008 at 3:12:11 PM | Revit is starting to hang up

#4

NKramer


active

Joined: Wed, Oct 10, 2007
285 Posts
4 Stars: 9 Votes


Could be. I'm not up on my processors. I am running on a Core 2 6400 @ 2.13GHz. What does your processor usage look like when you arent runnng revit? It could be another program... You can also try turning off any anti virus, spyware or firewall programs you have. Sometimes they interfere with Revit.

 

Nick 


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Jan 15, 2008 at 4:22:43 PM | Revit is starting to hang up

#5

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 380 Votes


As NKramer suggested, you should also review your warnings.  Look under Tools/Review Warnings.  If you have too many errors ... warnings you have ignored, REVIT will have problems like you have encountered.  Check out the easy fixes first and fix them.  Remember, you can use show and also find by element id number.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Jan 15, 2008 at 5:33:47 PM | Revit is starting to hang up

#6

disjwb


active

Joined: Tue, Sep 26, 2006
17 Posts
No Rating


Thanks for the help. I'll start going through to see if I can resolve some of those errors.  I did notice that the errors were up to around sixty.  I never knew about the error log. I hope now that were mindful of it we won't let those errors build up like that on our next job.  Thanks again.

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 16, 2008 at 5:08:04 PM | Revit is starting to hang up

#7

kesflower


active

Joined: Thu, Jul 21, 2005
169 Posts
3.5 Stars: 11 Votes


Great tip about the errors.  I'd used that a few times to clean up files, but I had no idea how much it impacted my regen time.  Thanks WWHub!

-----------------------------------

Ruth Rau

Main Street Architecture, P.C.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

New poster- Raised panel

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jul 10, 2017 at 11:09:58 PM

0

Need help on starting

Community >> Newbies

Wed, Apr 7, 2010 at 3:18:16 PM

3

Thinking about starting a revit course

Community >> Newbies

Wed, Feb 15, 2017 at 9:18:19 PM

1

how to make a good glass railing

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Fri, Jan 6, 2012 at 9:00:17 PM

1

Rendering

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Jul 2, 2007 at 3:52:54 PM

1

Site Stats

Members:

1839669

Objects:

22618

Forum Posts:

152038

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.6474

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights