RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

179 Users Online (67 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Structure >> Tips & Tricks >> Sloping Slabs

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Fri, Dec 21, 2007 at 5:03:23 PM | Sloping Slabs

#1

luisrpv


active

Joined: Thu, Aug 3, 2006
18 Posts
No Rating


I am trying to figure out how I can and slope points to a slab that has a curve. It works fine when its a simple shape but once I introduce a curve then I no longer have the option to set points. Any suggestions?

This user is offline

 

Wed, Jan 16, 2008 at 7:42:15 PM | Sloping Slabs

#2

hhwse


active

Joined: Wed, May 23, 2007
83 Posts
No Rating


I ran into the same thing on a recent project.  You need to make a segmented line to represent the curve.  I placed the segmented line inside the wall and joined geometry.  It’s not perfect but it works.

This user is offline

 

Tue, Dec 23, 2008 at 11:51:39 PM | luisrpv

#3

unforgivable


active

Joined: Mon, Dec 22, 2008
4 Posts
No Rating


Quoting luisrpv from 2007-12-21 11:03:23

"I am trying to figure out how I can and slope points to a slab that has a curve. It works fine when its a simple shape but once I introduce a curve then I no longer have the option to set points. Any suggestions?"

Why don't you try using mass! It's great way to make somthing if you can't thing any other way,

-----------------------------------
http://tutorials-revit.blogspot.com/

This user is offline

View Website

Wed, Dec 24, 2008 at 1:37:45 AM | Sloping Slabs

#4

brettgoodchild


active
brettgoodchild Avatar

Joined: Sat, Feb 4, 2006
425 Posts
4 Stars: 17 Votes


I'm guessing that you are trying to modify sub elements on a curved slab to set elevation points.

As you found it doesn't work. You can't use the sub elements option on a curved slab.

What I do is the slab so it has no curves, angles don't matter, just no curves.

Then I modify the points I need and create a GENERIC MODEL > VOID to cut out the geometry that needs to be curved.

HTH

 p.s. you have to use a generic model as you can't have a void mass.

-Brett


-----------------------------------

"You cannot escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today. "
                             ~ Abraham Lincoln

This user is offline

 

Mon, Jan 5, 2009 at 10:41:00 AM | Sloping Slabs

#5

chuaheyia


active
chuaheyia Avatar

Joined: Wed, Aug 2, 2006
9 Posts
5 Stars: 1 Votes


yep, creat a customized slab with massing.

This user is offline

 

Sun, Jan 18, 2009 at 6:01:27 AM | Sloping Slabs

#6

mgr2820


active

Joined: Sat, Sep 1, 2007
45 Posts
2 Stars: 2 Votes


You dont need to create a void family to reprofile your slab. Use Model>Opening>Opening by Face. This works for roofs and area drains as well.

 

 


This user is offline

 

Sun, Jan 18, 2009 at 8:46:13 PM | Sloping Slabs

#7

brettgoodchild


active
brettgoodchild Avatar

Joined: Sat, Feb 4, 2006
425 Posts
4 Stars: 17 Votes


This works fine uless the roof has multiple faces. I really don't want to manage multiple openings if I don't have to.

-----------------------------------

"You cannot escape the responsibility of tomorrow by evading it today. "
                             ~ Abraham Lincoln

This user is offline

 

Thu, Jan 22, 2009 at 11:45:01 AM | Sloping Slabs

#8

Adnanito


active

Joined: Thu, Oct 30, 2008
18 Posts
3 Stars: 2 Votes


Previously this modifier couldn't be applied to any floor or roof that has a nonstraight segment. But in the new version of revit "Revit 2009" you can apply the modifier to curved floor/roof.However, you can work around that (If  you r using Revit 2008 or older version) by using a vertical opening (Like the Figure provided). You need to start with a simplified straight segment floor/roof shape that contains no arcs. You add the arc as a subtraction in the form of an opening. By using the Opening tool in the Modeling tab and choosing the Vertical option, you can then sketch the arcs you need.

Attached Images

51589_making_curved_sloped_slabs.jpg

-----------------------------------
Moh_Adnan_Alj

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Thickened Slab Edge on Sloping Slabs

Revit Structure >> Technical Support

Thu, Apr 16, 2009 at 8:39:08 PM

0

Sloped Slabs

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Sat, May 26, 2007 at 6:41:18 AM

11

recesses in slabs

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Thu, Sep 29, 2005 at 8:33:42 AM

1

Floor slabs showing dashed instead of Solid

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Jun 5, 2013 at 10:53:00 PM

12

Urgent Help ! Sloping Floors

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, May 4, 2011 at 9:04:04 AM

7

Site Stats

Members:

1620793

Objects:

21973

Forum Posts:

151618

Job Listings:

3

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.7133

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights