RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

255 Users Online (112 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Building >> Technical Support >> Problem with Room Boundaring

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Thu, Dec 6, 2007 at 8:45:27 PM | Problem with Room Boundaring

#1

Icarus


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 30, 2007
11 Posts
No Rating


Hello, I am having difficulties in one of my models. A specific area in my model does not seem to have valid room boundaries. I notice this, when I attempt to add a Room component. The area has a floor, and is surrounded by walls. Also, I verified that all surrounding walls have the "Room Bounding" property enabled. What else should I check? Or, how can I see which area is the problematic one? I tried adding room separation to cut the area in half, in order to try and find the problematic half, but it does not help - both halves are still unbound. Any help is appreciated. Thanks in advance.

This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 7, 2007 at 7:23:40 AM | Problem with Room Boundaring

#2

IDN101


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 31, 2006
127 Posts
2.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Will almost certainly be to do with Levels.

Check the Associated Level of the View in which you are trying to add the Room elements.

 Compare this Level to the associated Level for the wall that are bounding the area you wish to define as a room.

If neccessary create a NEW View based on the Level your walls were drawn from. This will probably sort things out.

Let us know how you get on.

Regards,

Ian


-----------------------------------

www.RevitZone.com

News / Articles / Tutorials / Forums / Beginners Guide to Revit

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Dec 7, 2007 at 7:45:01 AM | Problem with Room Boundaring

#3

Icarus


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 30, 2007
11 Posts
No Rating


Thanks,

 

In fact I am not sure what it was all about.

This is an area with different wall types and heights - the walls were probebly not properly joined

I demolished all the walls, and rebuilt them - then it worked. 

 

Thanks again. 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 7, 2007 at 3:35:16 PM | Problem with Room Boundaring

#4

IDN101


active

Joined: Tue, Oct 31, 2006
127 Posts
2.5 Stars: 3 Votes


Glad you sorted it. I still suspect it was Level related. By demolishing and re-defining your walls, your view (in which you then placed your room elements) was correct for the levels of the walls that defined the spaces.

Regards,

Ian


-----------------------------------

www.RevitZone.com

News / Articles / Tutorials / Forums / Beginners Guide to Revit

This user is offline

View Website

Fri, Dec 7, 2007 at 4:49:58 PM | Problem with Room Boundaring

#5

ideaguy


active
ideaguy Avatar

Joined: Tue, Jun 12, 2007
11 Posts
No Rating


Rather than blow away all you walls and start over you can use "room seperation lines".

Handy item if you have a room with three walls such as a multi purpose room divided by a folding walls or a laying out shell and core tenant store fronts in a shopping mall there themall wall will be TI.

It's under Drafting in the top tool bar in Revit version 2008


This user is offline

 

Fri, Dec 7, 2007 at 4:54:51 PM | Problem with Room Boundaring

#6

Icarus


active

Joined: Fri, Nov 30, 2007
11 Posts
No Rating


Thanks,

 

I am familiar with the Room Separation line - very handy.

But, in this case it could not help - when you try to put it over an element that is already room bounding (e.g. walls), you get an overlap error.

 

Appreciate the suggestion but in fact it was all my mess - the walls that were supposed to be bounding, were all very messy - these are just my first steps in Revit, so I cut myself some slack :o) 


This user is offline

 

Fri, Sep 12, 2008 at 10:55:15 PM | Problem with Room Boundaring

#7

cobblea


active

Joined: Wed, Feb 6, 2008
36 Posts
No Rating


I just had a similar problem with a room at the mechanical penthouse level of a project I am working on.  There is a concrete floor object, and a small rectangular electrical room on top. when I tried to place a room object inside the walls, I would get a warning room not enclosed.  After making sure that my walls were designated as "room bounding" I also checked the levels of the room object and the walls.  everything was set to level 4, but still no enclosed wall. (at this point I restarted my entire computer, but nothing changed)

 I eventually discovered that the floor object (which has multiple large shaft openings in it) was able to host the room object-- it was as if my room tag (and room) were trying to show me the area of each individual shaft opening as I was about to place the room.  I finally figured something must be wrong with this floor object and went into its properties.  I saw that it was set to be "room bounding" as well.  When I un-checked that box,  the room object was again able to correctly label my electrical room.  It was like the room object couldn't see the walls because it was busy looking at the floor object first... 

I still don't understand exactly why this worked, but I hope that it can help someone out in a similar situation.

--------------------

Revised 10 minutes later:

 After I saved to central, the error returned- this time the checkbox on the floor object was set to be Not Room Bounding.  Frustrated, I decided to delete thetrouble making floor and redraw it.   (I actually just copy-pasted the sketch boundary).  The new floor object hasn't yet caused any trouble.



Edited on: Fri, Sep 12, 2008 at 6:03:57 PM

This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Mar 23, 2009 at 2:11:35 AM | Problem with Room Boundaring

#8

fixybopixy


active

Joined: Mon, Mar 9, 2009
39 Posts
No Rating


i am having a similar problem. my problem is i want everytihng inside one room to read as one room. for example, in the restroom there are toilet stalls, and i want the stalls to read as part of room but revit sees the toilet stalls as separate rooms because they r separated by doors and toilet stall walls. and for the life of me, i cant get the room separation lines to "cheat" revit.

 do u know how i can get revit to read the whole restroom as 1 room?

image attached, u can see how the womens restroom is not including the toilet stalls in the area sf.



Attached Images

55571_restrooms_not_reading_as_one.jpg

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 23, 2009 at 10:23:34 AM | Problem with Room Boundaring

#9

Typhoon


site moderator|||
Typhoon Avatar

Joined: Tue, May 22, 2007
5921 Posts
4 Stars: 196 Votes


Did you use the "Room Separation" line??? delete the old lines and create the new ones around....

 


-----------------------------------

I Hope and I Wish to LEARN  more, and more, and more.... REVIT

This user is offline

 

Mon, Mar 23, 2009 at 12:55:40 PM | Problem with Room Boundaring

#10

WWHub


site moderator|||

Joined: Tue, May 16, 2006
13079 Posts
3.5 Stars: 349 Votes


Your toilet stalls are probably walls - right?  Click on the wall properties and turn off room bounding.

This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Room Problem

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 24, 2012 at 3:09:06 AM

6

room areas, room separations

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jun 3, 2008 at 1:19:42 AM

5

BIG curtain wall room bounding problem!!

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Mon, Dec 14, 2009 at 3:31:31 PM

3

Help. Room Tag Problem

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Nov 28, 2007 at 2:09:48 PM

2

Room Tag Problem

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Wed, Sep 12, 2007 at 3:01:36 PM

0

Site Stats

Members:

1469800

Objects:

20534

Forum Posts:

150614

Job Listings:

6

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 14.7420

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights