RevitCity.com Logo

Home  |  Forums  |  Downloads  |  Gallery  |  News & Articles  |  Resources  |  Jobs  |  FAQ  |  SearchSearch  |  Join  |  LoginLogin

Welcome !

150 Users Online (47 Members): Show Users Online - Most ever was 626 - Mon, Jan 12, 2015 at 2:00:17 PM

 

Forums

Forums >> Revit Systems >> Technical Support >> Duplex outlet dimensions

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |

Mon, Nov 26, 2007 at 5:58:53 PM | Duplex outlet dimensions

#1

Sheba


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 26, 2007
3 Posts
No Rating


I'm trying to dimension a duplex wall outlet in plan view, but Revit won't allow it.  Dimensioning in elevation won't work as the outlets are hidden in casework.  Does anyone have any suggestions on how I can dimension wall outlets in plan view?

 Thanks in advance.


This user is offline

View Website

Mon, Nov 26, 2007 at 8:50:56 PM | Duplex outlet dimensions

#2

aandr001


active

Joined: Tue, Dec 19, 2006
57 Posts
4.5 Stars: 6 Votes


You could use a spot elevation (available on your drafting tab) and select the outlet that way.

This user is offline

 

Mon, Nov 26, 2007 at 9:27:39 PM | Duplex outlet dimensions

#3

Sheba


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 26, 2007
3 Posts
No Rating


That seems to only dimension the height of the outlet.  I need to locate it in the room as opposed to the height on the wall.  I'm new to Revit and could easily be missing something with the spot elevation tool?


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Nov 27, 2007 at 4:50:50 PM | Duplex outlet dimensions

#4

aandr001


active

Joined: Tue, Dec 19, 2006
57 Posts
4.5 Stars: 6 Votes


Is the wall outlet an annotation or an actual object?  If it is an object that you can see in the plan, but the dimension won't select it,  it may be that the family does not have a strong reference. (By the way, the spot elevation is only a height.  You are not doing anything wrong with it).

 I have done a couple of things to deal with these types of objects:

     1) draw a small almost invisible line where the object is and dimension to the line or

     2) go into the family and change the area of the object that you want to dimension to into a "strong reference" by   selecting it, click on properties and use the pull down menu in there to select what kind of reference it is.

Clear as mud, right?


This user is offline

 

Tue, Nov 27, 2007 at 6:25:10 PM | Duplex outlet dimensions

Thread Post Kudo! #5

Sheba


active

Joined: Mon, Nov 26, 2007
3 Posts
No Rating


Thanks!  It's a wall-hosted object that's visible in plan, elevation & 3D views.  However, I don't see where to change it to a strong reference in the properties dialogue box.  I'll try the tiny line technique and constrain it to the outlet.  Hopefully that will work!


This user is offline

View Website

Tue, Nov 27, 2007 at 7:44:52 PM | Duplex outlet dimensions

#6

aandr001


active

Joined: Tue, Dec 19, 2006
57 Posts
4.5 Stars: 6 Votes


I went ahead and placed the "outlet-duplex: single" object into a floor plan I have.  This, I believe is a stantard object in the revit library and I suspect it is the same one you are using.  At any rate, all you have to do is select it after you've placed it, and some temporary dimensions show up.  If you click on the little dimension icon that shows up right next to the actual dimension measurment, it becomes an actuall dimension on your drawing which you can than stretch to whatever place you want to dimension from.

Good luck!


This user is offline

 

Search this ThreadSearch this Thread | Page 1 of 1 |



Similar Threads

Thread/Thread Starter

Forum

Last Post

Replies

Outlet families

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jul 17, 2007 at 4:49:40 PM

0

add height label to outlet symbol (2019)

Revit Building >> Tips & Tricks

Mon, Feb 22, 2021 at 5:46:51 PM

3

Label in Outlet-GFI Family Revit 2009

Revit Building >> Technical Support

Tue, Jan 27, 2009 at 7:38:11 PM

0

horizontally mounted duplex receptacles

Revit Systems >> Technical Support

Mon, Feb 22, 2010 at 2:02:04 PM

4

Revit Project Duplex

General Discussion >> Revit Project Management

Sun, Feb 22, 2009 at 6:28:28 PM

4

Site Stats

Members:

1819637

Objects:

22573

Forum Posts:

152003

Job Listings:

4

Sponsored Ads

Home | Forums | Downloads | Gallery | News & Articles | Resources | Jobs | Search | Advertise | About RevitCity.com | Link To Us | Site Map | Member List | Firm List | Contact Us

Copyright 2003-2010 Pierced Media LC, a design company. All Rights Reserved.

Page generation time: 1.4913

Login

User Name:

Password:

Remember Me  

Forgot Password?

Search Forums

Advanced Search

Search Forums

Advanced Search


Clear Highlights


Clear Highlights